We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon to be (Sad) History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rossi's Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Rossi's Bar & Grill
501 Morris Ave, Trenton, NJ 08611
609.394.9089
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Trenton, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soon to be (Sad) History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Rossi's is an iconic corner bar restaurant soon to be history. It is moving out of Trenton, too soon. Burgers might be it's claim to fame, and well deserved, but their steaks and chops (pork, veal, and lamb) are as good as any! Things like fried zucchini and potato slices are good, too. And their fried sweet potatoes are perfection!

Other claims to fame are bar ambience and filiation with the Yankees: the corner is named Joe DiMaggio Corner. Lots of topical photos adorn the walls. Also, Al Clark, baseball umpire of note, is a friend of the family and an occasional patron.

If you haven't been there try to get there before they move (at the end of May 2014?).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“last burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

wentthere for lunch with friends and we had our last burger in the "burg" .....it was good but we noticed lately the size has decreased considerably. Checkd it off to the place closing. Plus a little skinpy with the fries but you Rossi' never did yuo a lot of steak fries. Hopefully things will get better inthe new place in Hamilton.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Moving to Hamilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

They had a nice bar, great burgers!. Taking over a bigger place in Hamilton, with another local restaurant as a partner. We'll see what happens.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A sad decline”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Been going to Rossi's for about 35 years. Have always loved the Rossi's experience! Love the bar, love the bartenders and waitstaff, the neighborhood, the food. We know the waitstaff so it's like going home.

It's sad seeing a place decline. The crowds are gone, the flooring actually sags in the small back room, and the food has been seriously inconsistent the last few visits. Last night the apps were great: fried zucchini and fried mozzarella were crisp and nicely chewy, just like always. The mushroom and long hot peppers, a favorite side of mine, where lying in a tasteless watery broth. It was lousy. The burger, ordered medium rare, was dry and tasteless. The fried onions were undercooked. Come on, how hard is it to fry up some onions?

I hear they are moving. I hope the kitchen help gets their act together. I'm really hoping!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I only discovered this place w TripAdvisor. I have been working at the nearby hospital for a year n never heard of this place. So my pal n I tried it out esp w the comments on how huge n how good the burgers are. The many advice was absolutely correct. Burger is huge n unseasoned. I cannot say the best one I ever had. Make sure you bring your appetite n take your cholesterol meds cause this burger can send you to our ER. Great service, good people, cozy n old style place feels so natural. Will be coming back to try other stuff in the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossi's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rossi's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.