We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Eastern European food in a charming spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Danube Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Danube Restaurant
538 Adeline St, Trenton, NJ 08611-2614
609-393-6133
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 247 restaurants in Trenton
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Continental
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Authentic Eastern European food in a charming spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stopped in for dinner recently after hearing about the Blue Danube for quite some time. It was a Tuesday and we ate at the bar, but it is a small restaurant with a small bar, so if you want to come here reservations are definitely recommended. The service is more European style than American, so they are not in a big hurry the way you would experience dinner at a chain restaurant. If you want to be in and out quickly, there are plenty of sports bars and poor quality chains nearby. If you want authentic homemade German and Eastern European food, then try the Blue Danube. Even their bread is homemade. The prices were also extremely reasonable. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    13
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hidden treasure of Trenton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Blue Danube is a favorite place of mine. Polish, Hungarian, German, Romanian....it has something for everyone and the food is fabulous. It is family owned and operated and you can tell by the love put into the food. The restaurant is very small and has "old school" decor but it has a warm charm. It is very reasonably priced. The neighborhood is not the best these days so be sure to know your way. It's a unique place is very worth the trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Bad Food, Bad Service, and Bad Location Equals Not Going Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

After our Valentines Day meal at the Blue Danube and having read the previous glowing reviews of the restaurant, my wife and I left thinking, "Are there two Blue Danubes in Trenton???" Because the one we just visited was just a plain horrible dining experience.

Where to begin? Well I suppose it would be when we entered the place. There were three ladies sitting at the bar having a lively conversation. We stood for about 5 minutes at the entrance to the dining room when one of the ladies turned and said "Be with ya in a minute hun.....". And then went right back to her conversation with the other ladies. Yeah, that was the wait staff there.

And that pretty much represents the standard of service for the evening.

When we were finally seated it took 20 minutes before the same waitress returned to take our order............... and still no drinks. Food service was extremely slow. And the food that came out was really not good.

I lived in Budapest, Hungary for two years and traveled throughout Eastern Europe. Pierogies here were ok. Stuffed cabbage decent. My beef goulash was just horrible and tasteless. I seriously think the gravy was made with one of those store packets. My wife really wanted some of their seafood........ but supposedly the seafood delivery didnt arrive that day........ none available.

By the time we were finally finished with the meal nearly two hours later we were just relieved to get out of there. Oh, but only after another extended wait for the bill.

In summary, food was bland, flavorless, and not tasty. Service was virtually non-existent and grumpy.

This is not the hidden gem of Trenton as previously described. We're not returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Food is Terrific but Service Can Be Slow - But That Is Fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

What a great find here in central NJ. The food is outstanding home style cooking at a great price. Service can sometimes be a bit slow and uninspired but that is fine since the food is so good and it ensures that you are not pushed through your meal. Blue Danube is really worth visiting!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb Eastern European Food in Trenton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Blue Danube offers a wonderful variety of Eastern European cuisine: Hungarian, Polish, Slovak, German, in a cozy setting, complete with full bar. Whether your taste runs to schnitzel, or chicken paprikash, or stuffed cabbage, kielbasi, or goulash, you'll find something delicious on this menu. They offer regional "nights" (Hungarian Night, Polish Night, etc.), but in my experience, they'll prepare any dish you ask for, any time. Of course their pierogis are wonderful, but then again, if you like this cuisine (and I love it!) you'll like everything that comes out of the kitchen. Top your dinner off with a glass of "Bull's Blood" wine, and you've got a taste treat that can't be duplicated within a considerable distance. I have been a regular, but not frequent, customer for years, and I always eagerly anticipate my next visit.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Danube Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Danube Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Danube Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.