We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive by” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trenton Battle Monument

Trenton Battle Monument
Trenton, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Attractions in Trenton
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An impressive monument, located just north of the city center.
1 review
“Drive by”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Accidently drove by this amazing structure on my way to the capital, seems neglected and the surrounding are looked dangerous as a public housing is built around it. What a shame that the state doesn't do more to attract it as a national symbol!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    10
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Area is way too dangerous. Not much there in way of parking or facilities for visitors. Drug and gang infested Area. Never really been there but have driven by on many occasions. Not worthy of a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointing that at one point this was once a huge tourist site and is now practically forgotten.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was worth visiting to get a better understanding of the Battle of Trenton but it was sad how neglected the Monument is. It sit's in a practically abandoned small park, if I had more time I would've drank a 40 oz on one of the park benches to get the local perspective. If they ever do open the elevator for tourists I'd love to go back and have that 40.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Shot a job from the top of this during a winter storm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The scene was excellent as it was a reenactment of the Battle of Trenton to which I had a great vantage point seeing the city covered in snow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A tall, tall one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I visited this a long time ago but was impressed with its size and its history. It's certainly worth going to see for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trenton Battle Monument also viewed

 

Been to Trenton Battle Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trenton Battle Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.