We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Totowa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totowa
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After an exhausting day and literally walking out of a competing hotel we had booked, and friend and I were fortunate enough to find this hotel shortly before midnight. I will never again take a nice soft bed, clean facilities, and professional staff members for granted. The gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to provide me with the essentials I forgot at home. The establishment was clean, modern, and well lit. The breakfast in the morning was also great! Will definitely stay here again next time when in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    38
    13
    19
See reviews for
33
21
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again. The room was clean, the hot breakfast buffet (weekdays only), wi-fi, all good. Fitness center in the basement was marginal, but did the job. The hotel itself has been upgraded throughout the years, so that is nice. There is cable TV too. The ground floor of the hotel has a lounge that acts like a nightclub. You will see all sorts of scantily clad people on the grounds and wandering the halls late at night. My favorite moment was when someone knocked on our door at midnight. I opened the door and saw a group of people outside, one of whom was a woman cradling a baby with a pound of makeup and an hour's too long of spray tan on, ready to go out. Really?! Well, this is Jersey. But I digress.

The hotel is visible and pretty much sits on Route 46. It's in the same enter as a Petco and other random businesses. Getting to the hotel from Route 46 east is a pain and requires a weird NJ u-turn. From Route 46 West, it's a quick turn off the highway and then wind your way to the back of the parking lot. Pain.

All in all, a satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dea FinePointPen ,
Thank for your great review about our Hotel .and wonderful comment about our clean Hotel rooms, hot breakfast buffet , wi-fi, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay It is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests we are going to work on more directional signs . It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We also appreciate your business we look forward to serving you once again in the near future .
with regards .
Mohan M. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed here because my son was married across the street at the Bethwood and had our rehersal dinner here. The amenities are simple pool is on the roof. Clean. The staff is who made this hotel exceptional!!!! ANYTHING our party needed they did their best to accomodate. From getting our entire party checked in early to ensuring we had everything we needed to help with the wedding. We were here from Friday - Sunday. We occupied almost 20 rooms (maybe more). No one had a complaint. Yes some of the rooms were dingy and musty (its obviously an older hotel) but they were clean. The restaurant had surprisingly great food. Would definitely recommend them for any event as the food for our event was amazing! And I am kind of a food snob. The lounge is very noisy at night but we could not hear anything in our rooms. The parking lot is a maze to get to the hotel but once you drive through the first time it is quite easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear cttraveler02
Thank you for the great comments and great review about Holiday inn Tototwa NJ, about our restaurant Ruby Lounge and good food and good service by our professional staff , we are happy to hear that your entire wedding party enjoyed their stay Thank you once again for your comments that our staff who made this hotel exceptional for your guest. it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa NJ. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable We look forward to serving you once again in your future stay
With regards
Mohan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just recently stayed at this hotel by default. The regular hotel we stay at (and most of the hotels) in Fairfield were booked already so I looked out a bit and found this Holiday Inn. Our room was clean and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Someone mentioned the entrance a bit difficult to figure out, but once you do, it's not that bad at all. I grew up in NJ so I'm used to the busy traffic, so it really was a non issue for me. My only two negatives...#1 the breakfast. Good thing it's complimentary Mon-Fri, it's so not worth the $11.95 they charge on the weekends. Eggs were bland, potatoes were dry and it really is sub standard compared to other hotel breakfasts that I have had. There are MANY diners in the area were you can get a good hearty breakfast for much less then the hotel charges on the weekend for their buffet. #2...the limited parking in front of the hotel. On Friday evening the parking lot was full mainly due to the happy hour crowd. There is ample parking, however, I really think the parking in front of the hotel should be for hotel guests only. We didn't eat at the Ruby Lounge, but we did meet some friends for drinks and the bartenders were friendly and attentive. Once the DJ started at 10, we decided to call it a night because it was just too loud. I'm sure the younger crowd on a Friday night thought it was great, but for someone who was just looking to enjoy a quiet drink with some friends, early is better. Overall, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: If on the weekend, eat breakfast at one of the great diners nearby. Not worth $11.95 for the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear GKCPalmBay
Thank you for the great comment about our clean room and good service by our professional staff ,we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay . it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa NJ. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We will definitely work on your valuable feed back We look forward to serving you once again in your future stay
With regards
Mohan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. The rooms are filthy and the whole place is dingy and musty. There were literally splatter marks on the headboard. The room rate was also higher than stated at the time of booking. This place was an all-around let down. Do not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear schaefean ,
Thank you for staying in our hotel . You are very valued guest we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We have taken immediate corrective measures we welcome any opportunity to improve. we apologize for any inconvenience Please give a chance to serve you in future.
Sincerely,
Mohan M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseheads, ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel was fine - nice room, clean with the typical amenities, free wifi, fridge, hair dryer, etc. The entrance is not easy - it is off of a very busy route 46 and actually the entrance to a strip mall. You have to drive thru the mall parking lot to get to the hotel. Though not really the fault of the hotel we were unable to get to sleep until after 3 am due to loud, rowdy guests out in the hall. Security came up and we called them again because as soon as they left the noise continued. My other issue with this hotel is they wouldn't let us cancel our reservation. We booked through Orbitz and did not know we had to be at the Newark airport by 5 am. Once we found out we wanted to cancel to get a room at a hotel closer to the airport. Orbitz said it was up to the hotel and that most times they will cancel for you. Well Holiday Inn, at least this one, is not one of those hotels. We also asked to be switched from a room with a king bed to a room with two queens and they couldn't do that because the hotel was booked solid. Now if it was booked solid you would think they would of let us cancel our reservation wouldn't you?

Room Tip: I'd ask if they were having any parties, weddings etc, and get a room as far from the as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was a repeat stay at this property...unless it changes drastically, there's no reason to look anywhere else. The staff were extremely courteous, the room was clean, the bed was excellent, and the room included a small fridge and microwave. The Ruby Lounge and Restaurant are also excellent and I will write a separate review. We stayed here at a much lesser rate than the Holiday Inn Express at Denver IAP...the room in Denver did not include a fridge or microwave. This Holiday Inn has a complimentary breakfast and it was excellent. There are kids that come in on a tour and they are a bit noisy in the common areas, but they could not be heard in our room. This is an excellent property in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Totowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.