We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I had expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Totowa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Totowa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than I had expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel looks a little dated from the outside, but it is really nice inside! The hotel looks like there have been some renovations going on, fresh paint, new decor, etc; although they've still got some to do. The staff was really nice, even through the fire alarm being set off by someone painting around a fire sensor. The cookies were a nice touch..
All in all, if I have to come back to this part of Jersey, I will be coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear cpnbnanamn,
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Totowa NJ . We appreciate your kind review. It's always nice to hear that you experienced the helpfulness of our staff and enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest rooms and our location . I'm sorry for the fir alarm went off. we hope to see you again in your next visit.
With regards
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    49
    13
    20
See reviews for
40
27
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a wedding to attend this weekend and choose this Holiday Inn since it was across from the reception hall. Front desk staff were very nice and friendly and helpful...the rooms were very nice..very clean and the king size bed very comfortable with nice bedding. We had a great view of the area but since the room was facing Rt. 46 it was noisy while trying to sleep. I would suggest requesting a room on the other side of the hotel. But that was the only issue we had. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room which is not facing the highway, it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Cindyb326,
Thank you, for the wonderful comment about our clean room comfortable bed and good to hearfrom you that our Front desk staff were very nice and friendly and helpful, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We look forward to see you again
With regards.
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,510 reviews 1,510 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As an HI Platinum Member, I normally gravitate toward Holiday Inns and this hotel was the closest to Montclair State at which I could use my points during my son's move-in weekend for grad school. It turned out to be an OK choice. The hotel was easy to find on Route 46 and the front desk staff members were friendly and efficient at both check-in and check-out. It was obvious that the hotel was older and had undergone renovations. While it looked to be in pretty good shape, there was almost a feel that the hotel was just emerging from Rat Pack era. The wedding party that happened to be at the hotel that night did not help with regard to this ambiance nor did the fact that the bar was named the Ruby Lounge. Our room was reasonably clean and adequately spacious. The amenities including the WiFi seemed to work pretty well. Our room was arranged in a very inconvenient manner, however, as the work desk was located at the end of the entry way. Whenever the chair was in use, it was difficult to get from the front door to the main part of the room or from the main part of the room to the bathroom. The continental breakfast in the morning was really quite pitiful as there was a very sparse selection and the coffee was downright awful. Overall, I suppose I'd say the hotel was adequate as the shortcomings were such that I could live with them. But there was a lot of room for improvement. If you need a place in the area, it will work OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Debbie K
Thank you, for your comment about our clean room and good service, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. Your feed back is very important we will work on your feedback immediately we hope in serving you once again in the near future.
with regards.
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very clean and well maintained hotel, I was in the area for a business trip and found Holiday Inn on the web, I need a hotel that is convenient to travel to city in the morning. This hotel has worked perfect for my travel needs, the location, service and the friendliness of the staff was very impressive, I will stay here again whenever I come back to the area.

Room Tip: convenient location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear DaveS

Thank you, for the wonderful comment about our clean room and good serveice, it is always great to hear positive feed back from the guests who stays at Holiday Inn Totowa. It is our mission to make the guest feel welcome and comfortable. We hope in serving you once again in the near furture
With regards.
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. The hotel definitely needs an update. The rooms were clean overall but the filter in the air conditioning was dirty and spitting out dust. Bathrooms were average with nice amenities such as spa like soap and shampoo. The beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was served at Ruby's lounge. Ruby's needs an update also and has seen better days, They offered a complementary drink and freshly baked cokkies at checkin. That was a nice touch. This is a typical Holiday Inn. If you are looking for an affordable hotel that is just ok, you have found your place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast drinks and fresh baked cookies and good comments about amenities such as spa like soap and shampoo and clean rooms comfortable beds. Your feed back is very important to us we will work on your feed back and we look forward to see your future stay more comfortable
Sincerely
Mohan.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

this hotel gets a lot of business due to the function place nearby. the carpet needs to be shampooed/ vacuumed or changed altogether. i agree with most of the reviews here, it needs cleaning, warm hallways, public restrooms not maintained. dj at ruby lounge was pretty good. the wait staff "adriana"? was very good. 5Th floor room a/c was working well but, some of my friends were staying on 1st flr and it was hot! if u stay on 1st floor, on a weekend, make sure you bring ear plugs because there's a lot of weddings or parties that the guests becomes loud, rowdy on wee hours. otherwise, it's ok to stay just one night

Room Tip: higher floors to avoid party goers noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mahaleen,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our property! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to know that you enjoyed ruby lounge and DJ and your good coments about our staff Ms Adriana service .we will address on all your concerns immediately .we look forward to see your future stay more comfortable.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night. The room was incredibly hot as was the hallway upstairs. The area was in a heat wave, however, other areas of the hotel were quite cool. We turned the air down to 60 degrees in the room and it never really cooled off. We were way too tired to find another place to stay. The room was also very dusty. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Ms SuzanneJ
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent visit to The Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ. You are a valued guest and we truly appreciate your feedback. we apologize for the inconvenience We have noted your concerns and have taken immediate corrective measures We truly thank you and look forward to see your future stays at our hotel more confortable .
With regards
Mohan Maalepalli GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Totowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.