We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe it was Me...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Totowa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Maybe it was Me...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

But everything I touched at this place was either already busted, or fell apart when I touched it. First - the location is weird and difficult to get to. The road that was there to enter through the back was blocked off, and you need to go through the Petco parking lot to get to this place. When I got to my room, the heater was on the floor and busted. The armoire door fell off when I opened it. I changed rooms. Ruby's (the hotel bar) had a Swinger's Club on Sunday night, that was interesting. None of the soda machines worked except for the 2nd floor, the workout room was in the basement as an after-thought.

So this place is a two-star hotel acting like a three star. It's old, beat up, tired and the property needs a big time facelift. I was really glad to get out of there.

Why is this not a "terrible" review? The staff worked hard to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Thanks. But when you're in the middle of a broken property, not much you can do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Totowa,NJ. We truly apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your last stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and guarantee you the issues that you have experienced will be rectified immediately. We assure you that your future stays will be much more comfortable.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    45
    40
    13
    19
See reviews for
34
21
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Joey. To most a name, but to those who have had the rare pleasure of being tended upon at the bar of the Ruby Lounge at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, "Joey" is a song. A song that sings, "please, feel welcome" and "please, let me make your day, a better day and your night, a better night". Joey is the reason for the "Ruby Lounge". Without Joey it would simply be known as "Lounge". Anyone within traveling distance of this hotel should go and enjoy the experiences to be experienced, but even more so, experience Joey. Experience The Ruby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Zeek P.

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for staying at The Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ. You are a a most valued guest, and we are truly pleased to receive this kind of feedback. Our restaurant, the Ruby Lounge is a very popular spot in our facilities for our guests, and we take value in our staff members at the lounge and the entire property in that one of our main objectives is to attend to the guests needs. We understand business trips long and tiresome, and our Ruby Lounge restaurant is the prefect place to relax and unwind after a long day. We are delighted to hear that your hotel experience was made even more enjoyable from one of our restaurant staff members at the Ruby Lounge. On behalf of our staff, we thank you for your feedback and we truly look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here on the second night of a business trip. I was very impressed with their quality of electronic appliances in the room. These appliances were of such high quality and esteemed value that they were bolted to the wall to prevent guests from stealing them. The brands were from such exotic places as a small, family business that makes hand crafted hair dryers under the name Sunbeam. The coffee machine was hand delivered from the beach by way of fine coffee purveyors, the Hamilton family. And finally, the alarm clock. Ahh yes the alarm clock. It was the crown jewel of the collection of alarms from the GE line of fine timepieces. All bolted to the wall. I was discouraged that I could not take one home. I will post a picture.

The stay was OK. Place was quiet during the week. Clean room. OK location for what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello Michael M.,

Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ for your most recent stay. We truly value your feedback, and are glad to hear you were happy with your guest room accommodations. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I had supper on March 10th at the bar in Totowa New Jersey. I ordered the pork chops. My server was Joey. I had come to know Joey by my visits to NJ on business. A great hotel with a reasonable price but more than that a great meal. Important. I don't think the meal, the service, and the attention would have been as good without Joey there. Pass it on.....stay at the Holiday Inn but also consider eating a meal there.

Room Tip: Great hotel, great price, great service, great food
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Ron C,

On behalf of the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ, we would truly like to extend a sincere thank you for your most recent stay with us. We are pleased and honored to see that you enjoyed your visit and especially the restaurant service from one of our seasoned employees. We feel it is most important to keep the guest satisfied through out their entire stay. This stems from our service, accommodations, and staff. For our employees to receive such a wonderful review such as this, truly exemplifies the fact that we take customer satisfaction as one of our major focus points here at our facilities. We truly look forward to your future visits to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Horrible stay after a wedding in NJ. Next door room had excessive music at 1:30am, called front desk repeatedly every 10 min. to complain over an hour, my son and I never slept. No manager to get a hold of. No one assisted us. At 2:30am, it was too late to search for another hotel off US 46 highway. At 10am the next morning, front desk clerk hadn't heard of incident, was only capable of refunding us half the room rate. Left several messages for General Manager to call us, still waiting since Feb. 17, 2013. I stated that years ago, I was the Secretary to a General Manager of a Holiday Inn and am extremely shocked of what we had to endure.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Pam216217,

Thank you for selecting our hotel The Holiday Inn, Totowa New Jersey. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your experience at our facility. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our best to make sure all of our guests have a comfortable experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay, and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We have taken note of your most valuable comments, and you can be confident that these issues will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Mt wife and I along with about two dozen family members stayed here for our nephews wedding on Friday Feb. 8th. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and very pleasant. Not even a major blizzard could make this stay a bad one. The only thing that could have been better organized were the rides from the hotel to the Tides Estate catering facility during the storm. One van was not enough. At least 3 trips were made for our group alone.

Breakfast was good but definitely not worth the $11.95 per person charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pparrothead,

Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn, Totowa New Jersey for your recent stay. We are truly delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel's accommodations. We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patience during the blizzard we recently experienced. With most of the transportation during the blizzard being offline due to the risky driving conditions, we decided to continue our hotel shuttle service to accommodate and uphold our promise of running the shuttle for the guests attending events in the area. We definitely value and appreciate your input, and we will most certainly take this into consideration for the future . You are a valued guest, and we definitely look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My bride and I stayed here while visiting New Jersey. Fortunately we had a quiet room, very clean, with great a/c. Young woman on the front desk (Latoya) provided absolutely excellent customer service. I am hearing impaired and needed assistance in scheduling our next stop. Latoya cheerfully and efficiently assisted (I was unable to get assistance at other Holiday Inns). It is obvious she enjoys her job and hones her skill at every opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Mr. Jim N,

We would like to thank you for being a valued guest, and for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations during your latest visit. Most importantly, we are pleased that you were most satisfied with our customer service that you received from our front desk staff. Our staff is trained to uphold the true meaning of providing quality customer service so that the guest feels as comfortable as possible in all aspects of their stay at our facility. We truly look forward to your future stays with us.

SIncerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Totowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.