We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit; Excellent Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Totowa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Totowa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totowa
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Visit; Excellent Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My bride and I stayed here while visiting New Jersey. Fortunately we had a quiet room, very clean, with great a/c. Young woman on the front desk (Latoya) provided absolutely excellent customer service. I am hearing impaired and needed assistance in scheduling our next stop. Latoya cheerfully and efficiently assisted (I was unable to get assistance at other Holiday Inns). It is obvious she enjoys her job and hones her skill at every opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Mr. Jim N,

We would like to thank you for being a valued guest, and for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your room accommodations during your latest visit. Most importantly, we are pleased that you were most satisfied with our customer service that you received from our front desk staff. Our staff is trained to uphold the true meaning of providing quality customer service so that the guest feels as comfortable as possible in all aspects of their stay at our facility. We truly look forward to your future stays with us.

SIncerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    40
    13
    19
See reviews for
34
21
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a older classic Holiday Inn. It is adjacent to US46. Rooms on the east and south have significant road noise. If you want a quiet room, stay on the west and north facing rooms.

The staff is friendly. They handle special request just fine. I ate at the buffet once, it is acceptable, but nothing special.

The rooms are comfortable and modern enough. Everything works and the TV are all flat screens. Wifi works well.

The place on the weekend had many “weekend getaway” customers. If you are getting away, then you will find similarly noisy neighbors, which might be good when you are making noise yourself. If you are a quiet person, you might ask at the desk to be separated from these revelers.

For business travelers I would say try the Crowne Plaza just a mile away. Its about $30-50 more a night, but the restaurant is good and has a more business attitude.

Room Tip: Pick a north or west facing room to shield from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Kazoo_Bruce,

We truly appreciate you for your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn, Totowa,NJ. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff, room accommodations, and complimentary guest wifi.
You are a valued guest, and your feedback is very important to us. We will definitely work on the points of concern you have addressed in your review. Once in a while we accommodate tour groups, however we try our best to separate these groups from our corporate guests. We will most definitely see to it that any future stays with us will be more comfortable.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything about my two day stay at this Holiday Inn was perfect. I have never seen a hotel at this price click so well. I travel all the time for work. I will be returning to this location! The staff was concerned about every detail. Lobby, lounge, and my room spotless. Very good for you Holiday Inn Totowa, NJ you deserve this! Thank You so much.
Bob Sheldon Hartford, CT.

Room Tip: Room 509 has the best view of the city. This Hotel A++++++
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert S.,

Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ for your two day stay. We are truly elated that you were happy with our service, staff, room accommodations, and lobby. This positive feedback is truly a reward in itself, and allows our staff to continue providing exemplary service to our guests. Our main objective at our facility is to uphold the best customer service we can so that the guest feels as comfortable as possible during the duration of their stay with us. Thank you for being a valued guest, and we look forward to your future stays with us.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am not really a Holiday Inn type of guy, but.... maybe I will be.
This hotel was recommended for guests attending a wedding in the area. I was there for just one night but my stay could not have been better! The room was recently and very nicely renovated, the bath products (Bath & Bodyworks) and towels were great and the people who worked there were wonderful. I ate at their in house restaurant and the food was good (bar food) and inexpensive, plus the bar stays open until 3:00 am. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! The only problem I had was with directions, it is very hard to find the hotel and the address is not GPS compatible. I wish I could offer some help, but it is the craziest way to access a hotel I have ever seen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear JohnG1974,

We would like to thank you for such a wonderful feedback regarding your last stay with us at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ. We are pleased to see that you truly enjoyed your stay, and that our hotel and staff met your expectations. Your positive feedback allows us to strive on a daily basis to acheive the best quality and customer service. We also value your detailed input on arriving at the hotel. We are also working on making the entrance sign more visible for our guests to avoid future difficulty with locating the facility. You are a valued guest and we truly look forward to your future stays at our hotel.

Sincerely,
Amira M.
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

the place is outstanding, location is just perfect, and the room is clean the noice is limited even though it is on the hiway, and the staff are helpful, the prices and service are fair, and again the location is not that bad at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Cori G,

Thank you for such wonderful feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn, Totowa, NJ. We appreciate your review. We are thrilled you found the hotel, staff, and ammenities to be up to par. Your positive feedback gives us strength towards continuously providing the best customer service and experience at all times. You are a valued guest and we truly look forward to your future stays with us.

Best Regards and Happy Holidays

Sincerely,
Amira M., Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night with a bus group of about 80. The room and the beds were comfortable althought the bathroom sink/vanity was wierd, where the sink was several inches into the vanity requiring the user to lean over to use it. "Continental breakfast " was included. The breakfast room decor was awful. Nothing but round tables seating 8 with what looked like colored bed sheet table cloths and stained upholstery on the chairs. The toaster was in slow motion and built up a line. Maybe they should use another or a faster toaster.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amira M, Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and leaving us such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked your clean room and our bedding. We apologize that the breakfast area was not to your expectations, however, your valued feedback is very important to us. We will see to it that everything will be taken care of immediatley to improve the quality of service. We promise your future stay will be more comfortable.

Sincerely
Amira, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are actually nicer than the outside appearance of the hotel. The restaurant's name, the "Ruby Lounge" misleads you in thinking that the place is tacky. We actually though the restaurant was a strip joint when we first pulled in as it has blackout shades pulled down over the windows! All and all staff was great and efficient and we received a call from the front desk asking if all was ok. Will definitly stay here again . Big room, nice bedding, lots of pillows who could ask for more at $109 a night!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Totowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.