We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the Job!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Totowa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Totowa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Totowa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Does the Job!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed there for one night. It is a great location for weddings in that area, seems like most of the guests were part of some wedding party.

The room was fabulous for $100/night. The staff were very courteous and friendly. I would not hesitate going back there and staying again if I'm in the area. The only thing is that the breakfast there is very average.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    45
    13
    19
See reviews for
36
22
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had expected a lot from the hotel simply because most Holiday Inns I've stayed in are great. This one was very clean and a nice room w/ king size bed and fridge. However, vending machines were quite empty and ice machines not readily available. The staff was polite but not very attentive.
Ruby Lounge,the connecting restaurant/bar gets a great review. The food was the best I've had in years. Extremely large portions and cooked to perfection. The bartender/waiter was very attentive and made us quite comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is a hotel, where one should just not expect much for the rates they charge. However, their rooms are spacious. Food is good, plenty of parking space and free internet. Its not too far from NY. All in all its a good place to stay and go to work or sightseeing in NY. Route 3 goes closeby.... so some noise can be expected.

Room Tip: Take a room on the higher floor so that noise from the morning traffic is less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location. 25 min from NYC. The trick is trying to find th actual entrance to the hotel. It is in an older shopping center and is very difficult to navigate.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Totowa, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear crouchingpeanut,

Thank you for your feedback, and choosing our hotel. I'm sorry you had difficulty locating the hotel, but pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

my only thing they do not have modern look and they people seems not friendly

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our room was nicely furnished with all the amenities promised. It was spacious, clean and quiet. The bed and couch were very comfortable. I liked having free internet in the room and the restaurant. We were surprised by the crowds in the Ruby Lounge at night which could be heard in the lobby but not at all in our room. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My first experience with the hotel was in March 2011. We traveled from Ohio to NYC for shopping and sightseeing. With a large group, so you had to expect some bloops. Nonetheless the staff were very efficienct in working things out. Everyone raved about the comfortable beds. Matter of fact one of my customers purchased a similar mattress upon our return back to Ohio. I later returned with another group in August 2011. This group was very pleased with the rooms, access to the mall and the assistance provided by the staff. I will be bringing another group this Spring for a 3 day shopping/sightseeing trip and staying at this location. The staff is very pleasant and always willing to help.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room on the 3 floor or higher and not over the club especially on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Totowa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Totowa

Address: 1 Route 46 West, Totowa, NJ 07512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Totowa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Totowa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Totowa 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 5-story property with interior hallways. Suburban location. Refrigerator, coffee makers, moveable desk/swivel chair in each room. Doc's Bar & Grill with satellite sports coverage, dj, Chinese restaurant on property. Indoor and outdoor free parking. Banquet and meeting rooms from 10-300. High speed wireless internet access,video games, health club, complimentary newspaper, breakfast , and beverage Monday through Friday. Close to Montclair State, William Paterson, Meadowlands Sports Complex, ABB, Hoffman La Roche, and Willowbrook Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Totowa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Totowa Hotel Totowa
Totowa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Totowa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.