We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 State Route 37 West, Toms River, NJ 08755 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Woodbury, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room was nice.Front desk very cooperative.Room clean as well as bathroom.Would stay again, price is rigjht for business travel.$5.00 breakfast buffet very good idea , rather spend $5.00 for an unlimited buffet , than get a free breakfast thats not that good . Eggs were very tasty.The women working the buffet on both Monday and Tuesday morning were over the edge in service.They reperesent the kitchen well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    81
    25
    22
    7
See reviews for
88
40
14
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I arrived to check in a bit after 10 PM, and the music from the bar was so loud I could hear it in the parking lot. I asked the guy at the desk how long this would be going on for, and he said 1:30 AM. My room was directly over the bar. He did not apologize, and just shrugged. I asked if I could get a refund, as there was no way I'd be able to sleep with the loud noise. He said no, and good luck getting a room as all the rooms in the area were booked.

I proceded to begin my trip home back to the DC area in the pouring rain while 6 months pregnant and exhausted. I found a quiet room off the highway in South Jersey. It was definitely not a Clarion hotel.

I do not believe I should be charged for a room I did not stay in. The whole point of a hotel is to be able to sleep. There was no way I could have slept through the noise. The whole situation is ridiculous, and I will never stay in one of these hotels again. I will also make sure I let everyone know not to stay there either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us, and was reviewed closely with our management team. Again, we apologize, and hope you choose to try our hotel again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We experienced outstanding service, especially at Front Desk where Simi did a great job seeing to it that we could stay in our room on a Saturday when the hotel rooms had been completely booked. The rooms were a good size and the bedding most comfortable. A "plus" was that there were no huge and heavy comforters on the beds that had to be set aside (as in most hotels we've stayed in). Every staff member we met was polite and courteous. This had to be the best hotel in Toms River!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Toms River Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

With Clarion you expect a bit more, especially if the hotel just won a gold medal.
We drove south to Toms River on April 30th. The trees, including the Dogwood, - blossomed to excess. The term; - “Garden State” is an understatement. It should be “The Garden State With No Equal”.

I was not let down, but I was disappointed. My reservation was more than 6 months back in time and we had asked for easy access due to my wife's disability. We were given a room on the second floor without a lift. In another part of the building there as a lift for the guests on the 2nd floor?

I would chose one of the rooms 201-233 if you plan to use the exercise room. I would not choose the rooms 217 or 219 as these are adjacent to the exercise room. The rooms with the odd numbers will keep you our of the morning sun. From our room 249, we had to walk down a flight of stairs, across the building, - past the reception and up a new flight of stairs. Quite a tour, but again, -the last flight of stairs could be swapped with the lift.

When we arrived there was a truck with equipment to the ongoing convention that occupied the handicap place closest to our room. W had to park at the other side of the structure and with a rather long walk with heavy suitcases, which ended in fighting our way up the stairs. to our room.

The room was nice, the bathroom was decent with plenty of space to to all your ointments. I could not lower the temp on the AC unit however, and it was a bit noisy. Traffic noise from highway 37 was almost non-existent.

Breakfast is an extra $5 but it is well worth it with sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs.

Apart from thees hiccups, the staff was very accommodating and polite. It is not a tall hotel, but there are a lot of rooms. There is a bar on the ground floor and there is always a staff-member around to ask for help. Internet was impeccable for the whole stay. I was not “thrown out once”, - a novelty!

The hotel however, was not easy to find without GPS. It is located close to highway 37 with exit to the mule road. There is a sign as tall as the mountain of Sinai, but we were a bit stressed at the time. (Drivers in the Garden State are much more accommodating though, -than those in the Big Apple. Those are outright “fast and furious” and to help another driver in the wrong lane is probably considered an earthly sin. No so in the Garden State.)

It is a very nice hotel and I can understand why they recently were awarded a gold medal. I just fell between the safety bars apparently? You will have to pay for your breakfast.

I was absolutely flabbergasted by the havoc the storm Sandy had caused along the shoreline. You hear about the damage, but to actually see thousands of houses off their structures or just leveled into rubble, it was heartbreaking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your visit to our area, and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us, and will be reviewed closely. Again, we apologize, and hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I just checked out today, and I would have to say this is one of the best places I have ever stayed at!!!! I was at this hotel for well over 40 days. My room was always clean, the service was always top notch! Al the bartender never seems to forget a face or name, very friendly, always going above and beyond customer service! Mike and John the 2 managers that I saw on a regular basis were always helpful; from suggesting restaurants, places to go, and even moving their car when a parking space is needed. Rosa in housekeeping always did an awesome job taking care of my room. Vera in breakfast friendly, kind, and helpful. Sandy and Brooke at the front desk honest, helpful, nice, kind, I mean I just can't say enough about these 2 people. I know I left severe people out sorry, but there is only a 200 character min. I would like to say to the owners of the property it is hard to come by great customer service, or even employee's that are as dedicated as the one's at the Clarion in Toms River, NJ, I just hope they are rewarded in an way that is equal. So, if you are going to be in the area stay at the Clarion!!! I give it an outstanding review!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recognizing so many of our staff members! We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I can not say enough about the staff of this hotel, they go out of their way to make sure that you are taken care of. I have been working with the hotel for the lasat 2 months - sending members of our team to the Clarion and alll reviews are GREAT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and compliments, and we're happy that all of your associates are enjoying the hotel. We look forward to seeing everyone again soon!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed one night at this hotel for business travel. It was a very pleasant experience. The front desk staff was very nice. My sleeping room was very comfortable. Great value for the money. The breakfast buffet was a good value with basic breakfast items. Nice way to start the day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHotelTR, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Clarion Hotel Toms River. We appreciate your feedback and compliments. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Clarion Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Address: 815 State Route 37 West, Toms River, NJ 08755 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Inn Toms River, we have been upgraded to become the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We have replaced our guest room furniture & bedding in every room including beds, bed covering, linens, pillows, blankets, etc. We have flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and recently added 14 new HD TV channels to the programming. All of our guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. We recently added a new exercise room, and expanded our business center. We feature meeting rooms and two ballrooms for all of your banquet needs. Come and enjoy casual dining in our onsite Ike's Pub & Grill, with 50" HD Plasmas in the bar, and an upgraded sports package with NFL Sunday Ticket. We feature an outdoor pool & sundeck, and offer free wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. Onsite parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.