We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game-changer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 State Route 37 West, Toms River, NJ 08755 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Game-changer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is the same shore hotel we've appreciated for years. The price is right, it's clean, the location is fairly convenient to Island Beach State Park...but we were very disappointed to learn that THIS year, the complimentary breakfast has gone the way of the dot matrix printer: it doesn't exist anymore. Unlike the demise of the dot matrix, the loss of the free breakfast is not a good development. The free breakfast is what made the price a great deal. Breakfast is still offered, but if enjoyed, it raises the cost of the room another ten dollars.
Maybe we'll feel differently about this next summer. For now, this change is a deal breaker. We'll be searching for a better deal next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    78
    25
    22
    6
See reviews for
81
38
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have stayed at a few hotels in this area for work and they vary from noisy rooms to shocking breakfasts. The Clarion was certainly the best. I'm more used to absolutely fabulous expensive hotels, hence only 4 stars, but this one has good staff, the bar isn't too pricey and the breakfasts are pretty good. The sausages actually taste of sausage. All the hotels in this area are clean and have a similar feel in the rooms but here you get a fridge and even a microwave. I'm not sure what one would cook as there are many places to eat out. Another bonus is that the windows open. I'm not an air con fan an sleep better with a gentle warm fresh breeze.

Room Tip: Away from the pool, and second floor. Just to get that extra peace & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My sister and her family have been coming here for years. This year was my second coming back with my family and my sisters. This hotel is not only a bargain for the money, but it has to be one of the cleanest hotels I have personally ever been to. The manager Bob is always gracious, sincere and very accommodating to our needs. The hotel staff, starting from the front desk people (we specifically were handled by Diane who always greeted us with a smile and answered all our questions promptly and efficiently) to the maid service was exceptional! For example, we had a small problem of a blown fuse in our room (thanks to out teenagers using multiple hair dryers!). I called the front desk and within minutes a manager was there and the problem was fixed pronto, the power restored and all with a smile on their faces! Nothing is ever a problem with this staff! The breakfast buffet is amazing and the cost is $10.00 PER ROOM! This is a full breakfast buffet- not a continental breakfast - you will find everything you could ever ask for in a breakfast! The beach is a short drive about 15 minutes way and so is seaside boardwalk. There are so many stores and restaurants right outside the hotel and all along rt 37 to the beach! Everything is at your fingertips- even the garden sate parkway entrance/exit is right by this hotel. It could not be easier. One would have to give a special thanks to the manager Bob who runs a tight ship and you can see by the hotel employees that they truly look like they enjoy working here. We see the same faces year after year! If you want a truly great hotel close to the beach without paying high prices and get all the extras too (like breakfast, the most comfortable beds and a really great pool) then you need to check out this hotel. Its a great, safe family hotel!

Room Tip: IT might be easy for a family especially if you have young children to get a room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Clarion for two nights on business. Overall, it was a good stay and the hotel was in a great location to get around. the hotel has free WiFi and breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia, S.A.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

No question at all that Clarion (formerly Quality Inn) is a nice place. However you can find cheaper in the area, and closer to the beach (if that's what you are looking for) for cheaper. For the money, it's kind of expensive, in my opinion, for what you get.
Location is great, right next to a TD Bank (my bank, perfect) and behind a Burger King, off of Route 37 east (why it's called route 37 WEST, even though it on the eastbound side, I will never understand). Just 2 minutes from the Garden State Parkway, there is a Walmart, Taco Bell and McDonalds just up the street. Location is great, for certain. The fitness center is kind of a joke. I was hoping for a bit more than what was actually on offer. Also when I stayed, there were kids running amok everywhere, peace and quiet was on short order, but that's not the hotel's fault. Parents apparently can't control their kids very well these days.

Again, if you are on a budget, you can get cheaper. However, if money isn't a big deal, you can't go wrong with Clarion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Sunday afternoon driving back to Long Island from the Borgata Hotel in Atlantic City. Our car loses its driving belt at the Toms River exit. AAA can't get us a new belt till Monday morning and books us in the Clarion. Now a fun weekend for four old friends is quickly forgotten with calls to very unhappy bosses
being told we wouldn't be in on Monday. So we thought! From the moment we walked in the lobby everything changed. The customer service is Outstanding,from the girls at the front desk to all the staff at there restaurant (especially Alex best waiter every) Our rooms were comfortable and clean with a refrigerator and microwave. The restaurant was great, having no car we had every meal in the hotel and everything was delicious better than the buffet at the Borgata!! Almost forgot to mention they have a great pool. Thanks to ALL the staff at the Clarion for making a really bad day into a great time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed for a quick overnight at this hotel. The lobby was spacious and comfortable enough to visit comfortably with some local friends. The room was clean and comfortable and included a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was $10 per room and was very good for a buffet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River

Address: 815 State Route 37 West, Toms River, NJ 08755 (Formerly Quality Inn Toms River)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Quality Inn Toms River, we have been upgraded to become the Clarion Hotel & Conference Center. We have replaced our guest room furniture & bedding in every room including beds, bed covering, linens, pillows, blankets, etc. We have flat screen televisions in all guest rooms and recently added 14 new HD TV channels to the programming. All of our guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker. We recently added a new exercise room, and expanded our business center. We feature meeting rooms and two ballrooms for all of your banquet needs. Come and enjoy casual dining in our onsite Ike's Pub & Grill, with 50" HD Plasmas in the bar, and an upgraded sports package with NFL Sunday Ticket. We feature an outdoor pool & sundeck, and offer free wireless internet access throughout the entire hotel. Onsite parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.