We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor to average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“poor to average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

needs to redo a lot of things....rooms are dingy..... only plus is that it is close to seaside and other attractions

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    69
    70
    53
    41
See reviews for
134
47
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This place SUCKS!!! We were here on a business trip and upon checkin, we were assigned room 137. The tub was so dirty, I wanted to throw up. Cabinets were falling apart and about to fall off the wall. Everything was stained and nasty. The carpet was sick! We made them change our room and they put us up in 229, which was not quite as bad but was still nasty. The reputation around town is unbelievable. Everytime we mentioned where we were staying, people would say, OMG, that place is full of hookers, and they were right! One morning we got up and went outside our room and there were lamp shades and stuff from the room next door that had been puked all over. I cannot even believe that Wyndam would put there name on this dump. They have section 8 people that LIVE in this hotel, and it's a known fact around town. What the heck??? The staff is so dilusional....they think they have a high end hotel here...truth is, it's one step shy of a ROACH COACH!!! I'm not kidding. See for yourself! I have attached a few pics for your enjoyment!

Room Tip: Stay clear....we moved right down the road maybe 1/4 mile to the Holiday Inn.....much, much nicer!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotogonj, Owner at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Dear Mr. Pocket,

We are extremely disappointed that your three day stay with us did not meet your satisfaction.

Your reservation was booked through Priceline, for a room with one queen sized bed. Upon your continued persistence, we upgraded you to a room with two beds, at no additional charge. It was only when you demanded to stay the fourth night at an even more reduced rate, and it was declined by our desk manager, did you decide to stay elsewhere.

At Howard Johnson, we continue to strive to improve customer service, and to improve our facility. As demanding as some of our guests may be, we make every attempt to accommodate them. In your case, we found your request unreasonable after already accommodating your numerous previous requests, and demands.

We hope you your next stay, wherever it may be, is a positive experience.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

last weekend my parents booked my friends and i a room for my 21st birthday because the hotel bar has karaoke on fridays. my friends an i had a great time, the whole place is clean and the staff was really helpful. we are planning another weekend trip soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My wife and I stay at the Howard Johnson of Toms River often and upon our arrival we are greeted by Margaret and Laurie with warmth and friendliness.They consistently go beyond their job duties and exceed them to help us with all our needs. WE WISH EVERY HOTEL HAD A FRONT DESK STAFF LIKE THEM.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here while visiting family. Everything worked and the employees were friendly. Will stay again when visiting MOM!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was in Toms River for 4 days on buisness and I stayed at the Howard Johnson. It was really like a home away from home. The hotel staff was extremley accomodating, friendly, and very helpful my entire stay. The room that I had was very clean and comfortable. I had dinner two nights out of my four in their Legend resturant that is attached to the hotel. The food was very good and I enjoyed my meals very much both nights. I would definatley use this hotel again when I come back in a few months for buisness.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojotogonj, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear AndreaP,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay in Toms River. Your comments are of great value to our entire staff. Your feed back helps us to continue to improve our facility. We are delighted your enjoyed you stay and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Teh Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I recently returned home from a six week business trip. My company provided a hotel stay at the Howard Johnsons in Toms River. I have never been on such a long business trip, but I have to say spending six weeks in a hotel I initially thought would be a grueling experience. The experience turned out to be a very good one. My room was clean upon arrival and anything extra that I needed (like extra pillows) was provided immediately. The staff is small, but very friendly and helpful. Because of the size of the staff, I got to know some of them pretty well and vice versa. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel that provided great food at a very reasonable price, plus I received a discount because I was staying in the hotel. One more awesome aspect was that the hotel bar has a grill IN THE BAR, so after the kitchen would close if I was working late and had the midnight muchies, I could still get great food! Thank you Howard Johnsons, I will be giving a great review when I have to submit my hotel stay survey to my supervisors.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River

Address: 955 Hooper Ave., Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of the Atlantic Coast at our Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River. Conveniently located off Route 9 and just 15 minutes from the Jersey Shore, our pet-friendly Toms River hotel near McGuire Air Force Base is one hour from New York, Philadelphia and Atlantic City. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast, a large indoor heated pool, two restaurants, a pub & grille with live entertainment, a free pass to a fitness center adjacent to the hotel, free wireless high speed internet access and laundry service. We look forward to your arrival! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Of Toms River Hotel Toms River
Howard Johnson Toms River
Toms River Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel -Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.