We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TR Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added TR Hotel to your Saves list
TR Hotel
290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Peckville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The service in this hotel was outstanding...The staff, especially the front desk manager, Jennifer Schel, went above and beyond to ensure we had a great experience...Rooms were clean and comfortable....Would definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Craig T,

Wow - thanks! We are very happy to hear that you and your family had an outstanding stay with us at the TR Hotel. We greatly appreciate all the wonderful feedback about our exceptional staff and accommodations. Thank you again, and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    73
    39
    25
    18
See reviews for
142
43
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was a great place to stay with kids! The indoor pool and games room kept them occupied and the staff were super helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable and would happily stay there again! Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mumwith3kidstravels,

Thank you for the 5-star review of your recent stay at the TR Hotel! It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the accommodations, indoor pool, game room, and all of our other great amenities. We greatly appreciate your review, and we hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent last weekend at the TR hotel for a basketball tournament in the region and the service was exceptional. With all the people staying there it could have been chaos but the manager, Jennifer Schel was an expert in diplomacy and efficiency. Her professionalism and attention to detail (like remembering my name) made the stay at this clean and convenient hotel worthwhile. The resteraunt/lounge was staffed by Lorraine who couldn't do enough to please the guests. It felt like she was there 24/7 and could anticipate your needs before you asked for something. Can't wait to take the family back this summer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you! We are absolutely thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us at the TR Hotel! We greatly appreciate all the great comments about Jennifer, Lorraine, and the rest of the staff. Our team works hard to provide all our guests with exceptional customer service, and your comments will make their day! Thank you again for the amazing review, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had to stay here because my usual hotel was sold out... the price was decent, the rooms were okay, but the staff amazing. All though at first I did feel over looked when I first arrived, being a new customer you wold think you would be a priority when you first walk in. However they left me with a great feeling checking out. Beds were a little dated.... nothing tk complain about, nothing to rave about either. If I had to however I would stay here again....

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ChocolateThunderF35,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the TR Hotel! We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us, but are disappointed that you experienced some inconveniences. This is not typical of the TR Hotel, and we would love to have you stay with us again so we can show you the exceptional accommodations and service we are known for.

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We drove eight hours to arrive at the hotel, exhausted but pleased - the rate was reasonable and the hotel was in a safe, nice area and easily accessible (once we figured out NJ's jug-handle turns). We have stayed in larger, fancier places in many parts of the world; but the TR has become one of our favorites. We had a king suite with sofa bed, microwave and frig, and basic amenities. The room was very clean and privately located on the 3rd floor, the bed was comfortable, and the towels were soft - what more do you really need or want? Our grandkids stayed over and the room felt like home! We ate in the restaurant/lounge on a few occasions and the food was tasty, warm and reasonably priced. We spent a lot of time in the pool and we loved it - on two occasions, we had the whole pool to ourselves! But the absolute best part of our stay was the staff - courteous, helpful, friendly, fun..... Lynda (lounge), Lorraine (restaurant), Jared & Vickie (front desk), Jennifer (everything!) - thank you!!!! We interacted with several housekeepers and the "pool guy" - all were wonderful!!! When we return to visit our family, we will definitely stay here again. Thanks for the good memories!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor location away from lobby/pool/elevators was quiet and readily accessible to stairs and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear kkwill29,

Wow - thank you! We are so happy that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us at the TR Hotel and enjoyed the accommodations and all the amenities we have to offer. It's wonderful you got a chance to meet so many of our staff members and enjoyed their company during your stay. We greatly appreciate your AMAZING review, and we are already looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean , comfortable and quiet. The customer service was top notch! The location was great and the staff was great accommodating a very large multi family group of all ages. Great recommendations for group activities in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Lizzytish5,

Thank you for the 5-star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed everything about your stay, and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed on two separate occasions at this hotel. We only met Jennifer on the second occasion. She is a remarkable woman who is truly interested in the comfort of her guests. She is enthusiastic, knowledgeable and extremely competent. Her sunny disposition makes a traveler feel very much at home. I give her five stars for customer service!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room not facing the highway. It is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear judy1702014,

Thank you for the fantastic review and for the wonderful comments about our Front Desk Manager, Jennifer. We have a great staff here at TR Hotel, and your review will be shared with everyone. Thank you again for the great review, and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
TR Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TR Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TR Hotel

Address: 290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated off of the Garden State Parkway and close to a wide array of Jersey Shore attractions, the TR Hotel in Toms River offers a fanatical devotion to quality, cleanliness and one-on-one care. Cutting-edge amenities, peerless service and state-of-the-art facilities, plus a convenient location, make it the perfect pick whether you're planning a vacation or business trip to Toms River.The hotel's location in Toms River, NJ is especially ideal for corporate travelers who seek to maximize efficiency and productivity. There are a number of military facilities nearby, including McGuire Air Force Base, and Exelon's Oyster Creek Power Plant is also easily accessible. Also, for meetings of up to 400 people, you can consider making use of one of the five function rooms we offer.Vacationers find endless entertainment outlets in Toms River, NJ. The hotel's proximity to Seaside Heights means beaches, shopping, a scenic boardwalk and amusement park rides are 10 minutes away. You can also take a day trip to the Jersey Shore Premium Outlets, just 20 miles from the hotel.Guests look forward to coming home to Toms River, NJ because of this hotel's fantastic amenities. The heated, indoor pool and a sauna promise relaxation, and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access keeps you connected. Happy hour at Palm's Lounge is always fun, and dinner at Palm's Restaurant is sure to satisfy. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your TR Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TR Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.