We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TR Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TR Hotel to your Saves list
TR Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here with the family on our way to Cape May. Couldn't beat the price. The rooms were decent & clean. The staff was kind enough to let us check in early after an exhausting day on the road. Nice pool, which we were lucky enough to have to ourselves for almost two hours. Nice location right off the Garden State Parkway and close to many restaurants and a mall. Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie L,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Holiday Inn Toms River! We are glad we could provide you and your family with a relaxing, comforting stay after a long day on the road. Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    81
    40
    24
    18
See reviews for
175
47
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family stays at this hotels 2-3 times a year for vacation. This is our second year of staying with this hotel. We do travel quite often for business and as a family, and we have to say that Jenn Schel, FD Supervisor is providing us with outstanding service every time we stay. She is going out of her way to accommodate our requests, she is very efficient and always has a smile and warm welcome for us! Her service is great - she represents the best customer service we have seen, including 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. We actually are looking forward to be coming to this hotel and experience the outstanding service that Jenn provides. Jenn makes us feel very well taken care of and we do appreciate it especially on our vacation! We love this hotel and do recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest672,

Thank you! We greatly appreciate the 5-star review! Your comments about Jennifer and the rest of the staff will be shared with everyone here. We work hard to provide all our guests with exceptional service, and it is great to hear that we are accomplishing that. Thank you for continuously choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The staff is courtesy and welcoming. They go above and beyond to make sure their customers are happy and satisfied. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Very nice location with good amenities. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear kmuccioli,

Thank you for the 5-star review! At the Holiday Inn Toms River, our number one priority is the customer experience. After reading your review, we are happy to hear that we are accomplishing great customer service and providing our guests with exceptional accommodations. We greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travels, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay was extremely enjoyable. I dealt with Jennifer Schel from the date of booking our reservation to the date of checkout and would like to give her special recognition. Jennifer was extremely professional, helpful and pleasant while assisting us in booking our stay. When we checked in, she was a delight to meet and even remembered our phone conversation. When we had a slight hiccup during our stay (room phone inoperable), she jumped right on the issue and corrected it in a timely manner. Her pleasant and professional demeanor continued right through our checkout, when she assisted us with a future booking. We would return just because of Jennifer and how she added to the experience of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear bbf2530,

Wow! Thank you for this glowing review of the Holiday Inn Toms River! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we greatly appreciate your wonderful comments about Jennifer. Your review will be shared with the entire staff as I am sure this will brighten their day. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 6 nights for a business trip. I do a lot of traveling for business so I get to stay in a variety of places for comparison. This is an older hotel and shows its age in some areas, such as out-of-date bathroom fixtures, stains on tile grout in the corners where it is hard to clean, older and noisy air conditioning, wallpaper starting to peel, decor, etc. But on the good side, the hotel is well maintained and cleaned very well. The beds were also very comfortable and the hotel far enough away from the road noise that it was possible to get a good nights sleep. The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous.

The biggest issue some may have is that this is a very popular place for business conventions and wedding receptions for the area. That means a lot of traffic and noise from the ballrooms and in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the lobby and ballrooms as they are very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear GoldenJeep,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Toms River on TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be well maintained and accommodating. Thank you again for your review and feedback. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had a great time staying here. Since the moment I checked in at the front desk to the second I left, the workers here were great!! I checked in with Nicole, one of the front desk workers, and she made my family and I feel at home. Nicole along with the rest of the staff were very caring when it came to the customers. I enjoyed my room and the time I spent visiting my family in the Toms River and Lakewood area. I recommend the Holiday Inn of Toms River NJ to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear alisonialoves,

Wow! We greatly appreciate this great review of your stay! Your review will be shared with the entire staff, as I am sure they would love to hear your wonderful comments.Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers and for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Toms River!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent a few nights at the Holiday Inn Tom's River a few weeks back. I had an amazing stay. First off, the front desk staff are willing to help you. They were extremely friendly and were genuinely interested in the customer. The location was prime considering it is just a quick drive from the beach, near the Ocean County mall, and close to six flags. The restaurant located in the hotel, The Palms, is phenomenal and affordable. I will definitely stay here again due to their great service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mony_Pony_812,

Thank you for this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TR Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TR Hotel

Address: 290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TR Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated off of the Garden State Parkway and close to a wide array of Jersey Shore attractions, the TR Hotel in Toms River offers a fanatical devotion to quality, cleanliness and one-on-one care. Cutting-edge amenities, peerless service and state-of-the-art facilities, plus a convenient location, make it the perfect pick whether you're planning a vacation or business trip to Toms River.The hotel's location in Toms River, NJ is especially ideal for corporate travelers who seek to maximize efficiency and productivity. There are a number of military facilities nearby, including McGuire Air Force Base, and Exelon's Oyster Creek Power Plant is also easily accessible. Also, for meetings of up to 400 people, you can consider making use of one of the five function rooms we offer.Vacationers find endless entertainment outlets in Toms River, NJ. The hotel's proximity to Seaside Heights means beaches, shopping, a scenic boardwalk and amusement park rides are 10 minutes away. You can also take a day trip to the Jersey Shore Premium Outlets, just 20 miles from the hotel.Guests look forward to coming home to Toms River, NJ because of this hotel's fantastic amenities. The heated, indoor pool and a sauna promise relaxation, and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access keeps you connected. Happy hour at Palm's Lounge is always fun, and dinner at Palm's Restaurant is sure to satisfy. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your TR Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TR Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.