We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TR Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added TR Hotel to your Saves list
TR Hotel
290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Toms River last weekend. We thought it would be a good location to spend a few days at the Jersey shore, and it was. It was very convenient to Seaside Heights, Point Pleasant Beach, and only an hour from Atlantic City. We wre very happy with the quality of our stay. Jennifer Schel at the front desk made us feel very welcome. She was most friendly and took care of our requests very efficiently. Our room was really clean (even by my wife"s standards) and comfortable. It even had a pleasant view of the courtyard by the pool. The restaurant served an excellent breakfast. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The fourth floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited_Inc, Owner at TR Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and will do everything we can to make sure it's another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    74
    40
    24
    18
See reviews for
154
45
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here about 7 months effectively making this our second home. Over 7 months you can find a lot right and wrong with a hotel. Lets just say I found a lot of both. As for the right, Jen Schel led a front desk staff that was courteous and helpful. Considering our lengthy stay we became friends with most. As for the bad, the hotel is outdated and many issues. Multiple of our employees got stuck in the elevator and many of the rooms had mold. The Internet was atrocious forcing many of our employees to go out and get personal hot spots.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited_Inc, Owner at TR Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We’re very glad that our staff made personal connection and left an excellent impression with you and your team. As for your concerns, we did experience an internet slowdown due to a spike in usage during part of your stay, but have since upgraded our internet connection to improve both speed and capacity. Since the upgrade, our guests have been very happy with their internet access. We sincerely hope to see you and your team again soon, and we’ll keep striving to earn a perfect review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel location is great. Many restaurants close by, a great complementary gym across the street, and the neighborhood is safe and close to the beach.
The breakfast buffet is good and the hostesses are very friendly, polite, and hard working. They are always trying to make the customer happy which is a tall order these days when everyone wants something for nothing. Many people expect the breakfast to be free like it is at many hotels, not realizing that Holiday Inn does this only for Priority Club members.
Jennifer Schel, at the front desk, is a pistol. She knew the names of all 20+ people in our group by the time we left. Jen runs a tight ship and is very competent, personable, empathetic, and knowledgeable. Jen gets two thumbs up in my book.
The wireless in the hotel needed some upgrading for speed. While we were there, there seemed to be some improvement but many people still had problems. Also, the elevators have some reliability problems. All in all it was a good stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn for 2 nights in September with daughter and grandchildren (10 and 8). Quality hotel with reasonable rates not far from beach and boardwalk. Building is not new but very well kept. Rooms were very clean with good bedding and bathroom facilities. Indoor pool (with sauna) was large and very clean. Restaurant on site (The Palms) had tasty dinner selections and a very nice breakfast buffet. And Kids under 12 eat free.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn was hosting a Wedding and a Reunion while we were there. Our room was on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited, Public Relations Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hey HorshamTraveler,

Thanks so much for your support! We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn of Toms River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Townhip
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Again we enjoyed our time at The Holiday Inn in Toms River. We frequent this Holiday a few times a year when visiting Seaside or seeing a Lakewood Blue Claws game for overnights and weekend trips. We stayed there the Labor Day weekend and were not disappointed. We were able to check in early as their very efficient cleaning crew had everything ready. My request for a mini fridge and a room on the upper floor was honored. The room was clean and comfortable. Amenities well stocked. The bar and lounge are very nice. The bar tender Vincent is very friendly and accommodating. Jen at the front desk is always terrific! Very energetic and accommodating. If I have a problem she fixes it immediately. She remembers me by name at every stay and greets us with a smile. It's always a pleasure to see her. I think that the only thing I would suggest is that mini fridges should be in all the rooms along with a small microwave for longer stays but other than that everything was great. We will be staying there again next year.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed down in Toms River from August 23-August 26 with my girlfriend, and I have to say this hotel was a great choice. Close enough to get to Seaside Heights beach and boardwalk in a timely manner, but far away enough to be seperated from the SH rif raf. The rooms were really nice, and most importantly very CLEAN. I'm young, but very aware of the cleanliness of hotel rooms and have a tendencies to rip apart rooms before I put my things down to inspect throughly, they met and exceeded my expectations. Even moving from a non-smoking room to a smoking room wasn't so bad as I barely noticed the smell at all, and I am I non-smoker. The king sized bed was very comfortable . The rooms didn't initially have a fridge or microwave, but a simple request and by the time we got back from the beach they were there. More than enough towels, AC in both rooms in good working order, and the hotel staff was very kind, courteous, and helpful to anything we may have needed, including staying an extra night and including the security guard who was hilarious. I felt really welcomed and taken care of there. The pool was also nice. I would absolutely stay again when I'm down at the shore again.

Room Tip: King Sized rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_Unlimited, Public Relations Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Tomlawrence,

We at the Holiday Inn of Toms River would like to take this time to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced while staying with us.

We would like to take this time to educate our TripAdvisor audience about the Holiday Inn of Toms River and its facilities. Inside of our rooms our showers are indeed a pull out system to engage the water. Our general manager has been inside of the room stated here in this review and has deemed the room clear for use.

Our front desk representative Jennifer (as many of our reviewers here have so wonderfully described here) is still currently employed at our facility and is one of our best assets here at this hotel.

As always, we advise patrons to please seek help from management in the event of a problem so that we may address your concerns as soon as possible.


Thank you,
Holiday Inn Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent days planning , hours driving , made many different reservations, to send few days at the shore. When we arrived at the room we could not get the shower to work and you have to go on a waiting list to get a frig. The maintenance man came after waiting and pulled out the control with two hands but none of us were that strong. Also, the bathroom had a warped door that could not close, so basically the bathroom was unusable. Room 220. When we complained the the front desk, these smugly said they never had that problem before and can only offer us a lesser room with nowhere for my son to sleep. Jennifer no longer works there, when we asked for a refund, their only concern was that the room was clean so they could rent it again. They offered no discount , apology , nothing and had the audacity to say we made two long distance calls , to the front desk?? We could not find another hotel in the area and had to drive three hours back home. I see that mgt. follows-up on complaints with the usual BS , but never offering nothing to the people for their losses.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at TR Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Tomlawrence,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the bathroom issue you experienced. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.


Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TR Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TR Hotel

Address: 290 Highway 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753 (Formerly Holiday Inn Toms River)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated off of the Garden State Parkway and close to a wide array of Jersey Shore attractions, the TR Hotel in Toms River offers a fanatical devotion to quality, cleanliness and one-on-one care. Cutting-edge amenities, peerless service and state-of-the-art facilities, plus a convenient location, make it the perfect pick whether you're planning a vacation or business trip to Toms River.The hotel's location in Toms River, NJ is especially ideal for corporate travelers who seek to maximize efficiency and productivity. There are a number of military facilities nearby, including McGuire Air Force Base, and Exelon's Oyster Creek Power Plant is also easily accessible. Also, for meetings of up to 400 people, you can consider making use of one of the five function rooms we offer.Vacationers find endless entertainment outlets in Toms River, NJ. The hotel's proximity to Seaside Heights means beaches, shopping, a scenic boardwalk and amusement park rides are 10 minutes away. You can also take a day trip to the Jersey Shore Premium Outlets, just 20 miles from the hotel.Guests look forward to coming home to Toms River, NJ because of this hotel's fantastic amenities. The heated, indoor pool and a sauna promise relaxation, and free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access keeps you connected. Happy hour at Palm's Lounge is always fun, and dinner at Palm's Restaurant is sure to satisfy. Guests must be 21 or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your TR Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toms River Hotel Toms River
Toms River Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TR Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.