We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lobster

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Lobster
1298 Hooper Ave, Toms River, NJ 08753
732-914-0183
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 242 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good restaurant. Just like your average chain restaurant. Nothing too special.. the food was ok and dessert was good. It gets pretty annoying to hear every waitress say the same exact thing as the other when greeting tables. Be different! Would much rather recommend Nino's Coal Fired Pizza and Restaurant right down the road on Hooper Ave.... better wait staff... enviornment.. and food!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the better Red Lobsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family and I eat here 3-4 times a year. Service is always good and food always fresh. Servers are always on top of service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Chains are OK, Service Differs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As usual, frequenting a chain restaurant means you get the published menu, but the service and atmosphere will change from restaurant to restaurant. As was the case for our trips to this Red Lobster.

We frequent restaurants routinely and Red Lobster is one that we do like to frequent. What we notice in most cases, barring the occasional issue, the food is done well, tasty and the rolls are to die for. When we go to any Red Lobster, we make it clear that the rolls need to be frequent and full, and we usually comment that our gratuity will improve if we have some rolls to take home.

At this Red Lobster, the events played out as usual, but in the three times we've been there over the last few months, what I have noticed is that the servers seem distracted or just complacent about good service. The food comes out a little slow, once a couple items were cold which means they sat a little long and there just doesn't seem to be an energy level. In our last visit, we specifically mentioned the roll / tip line and while we got a response, the interest was mediocre at best.

We really like the variety and the specials at Red Lobster. If the service could be taken up a notch, a smile, some interest a few more table checks, this location would be a top-star of the Red Lobster chain. We've seen that type of energy at other Red Lobster locations, and it's an obvious difference in the experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always have had very good meals at this location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I live in north Jackson, NJ. This Red Lobster is a good 30 minute ride for us, as compared to the 15 minutes to Hamilton. However, we have always recieved great service, and have always enjoyed the food here, for the many years we have been going. It greatly outshines the Woodbridge location, (where I lived for 37 years) and have to occassionally attend when we visit Mom. The menus are basically the same at most of these locatons, but, again, the atmosphere, friendliness, and especially the food definitley are much better at this location. Be prepare, it is usually very busy, especially on the weekend days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lobster also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Red Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.