We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food in Toms River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xina

Xina
3430 Route 37 East, Toms River, NJ
732-279-6327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 237 restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant where Ava's by the bay was.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Toms River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having recently visited Toms River, we were very lucky to get a place at Xina on a Tuesday for 6 people. That in itself says a lot about this place. It was packed out! Every local we met during our holiday suggested this as THE place in Toms river to eat. Having eaten there it is easy to see why, the food is simply stunning. Most of our group ordered Sushi which was beautifully prepared, fresh and delicious. They also have a full warm menu with various Asian themed dishes. Things to keep in mind: you really need to call ahead of time to avoid disappointment as this place is busy every day of the week (according to our local friends). Also, they operate a bring your own bottles scheme so make sure you find something to take in advance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    67
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fresh sushi, constantly moving.. Sushi chefs prepare in front of you behind bar. Steve, the owner, friendly and goes out of his way to welcome all, and especially his repear customers..BYOB...fresh oysters always delicious. Don 't like sushi? There is a great menu of other foods. I'm salivating just thinking of going back..yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oh but the Noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I returned to this restaurant with my family and friends, thinking about the delicious food and not the noise level. I'm delighted they are so very popular. The area needs more restaurants like this one.Their menu is outstanding, but honestly you cannot have more than a three word conversation with the person sitting next to you.The lobster rolls are one of a kind, the duck was, according to my dining family, delicious. The walnut shrimp cannot be matched. Their brownie with ice cream...yum yum! A reservation is a must.
I gave them a four, but I would have given them a ten if it hadn't been so LOUD. Hopefully that can be fixed.
Will I return, yes, but without my hearing aids!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Out of this world sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've had take out from here before, but we went to the restaurant last night to eat. It was amazing! We split three rolls. A sea bass roll, a rainbow roll, and a special roll. The special roll was an everything bagel. It was delicious and unique. The other two rolls were awesome! This was the best non-traditional sushi we've ever had! We finished off by splitting the chocolate chip cookie/oreo cookie/brownie dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Unbelievable! We would go back here in a heartbeat! I would have given this place 5 stars, but it was very noisy. If you go, make a reservation a few days in advance. It was packed! We called on Wednesday for a Saturday reservation and had to go at 5:30. The service was fantastic as well. Very attentive. The price was very reasonable and it was a BYOB! Way to go Xina!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstandind service, amazing atmosphere and best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Im a local and this is the best restaurant to hit the Toms River area. Make a reservation ! and the take out is just as awesome as the eat in

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xina also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore

Been to Xina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.