We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xina

Xina
3430 Route 37 East, Toms River, NJ
732-279-6327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 242 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New restaurant where Ava's by the bay was.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best sushi around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fresh sushi, constantly moving.. Sushi chefs prepare in front of you behind bar. Steve, the owner, friendly and goes out of his way to welcome all, and especially his repear customers..BYOB...fresh oysters always delicious. Don 't like sushi? There is a great menu of other foods. I'm salivating just thinking of going back..yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    25
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oh but the Noise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I returned to this restaurant with my family and friends, thinking about the delicious food and not the noise level. I'm delighted they are so very popular. The area needs more restaurants like this one.Their menu is outstanding, but honestly you cannot have more than a three word conversation with the person sitting next to you.The lobster rolls are one of a kind, the duck was, according to my dining family, delicious. The walnut shrimp cannot be matched. Their brownie with ice cream...yum yum! A reservation is a must.
I gave them a four, but I would have given them a ten if it hadn't been so LOUD. Hopefully that can be fixed.
Will I return, yes, but without my hearing aids!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Out of this world sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've had take out from here before, but we went to the restaurant last night to eat. It was amazing! We split three rolls. A sea bass roll, a rainbow roll, and a special roll. The special roll was an everything bagel. It was delicious and unique. The other two rolls were awesome! This was the best non-traditional sushi we've ever had! We finished off by splitting the chocolate chip cookie/oreo cookie/brownie dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Unbelievable! We would go back here in a heartbeat! I would have given this place 5 stars, but it was very noisy. If you go, make a reservation a few days in advance. It was packed! We called on Wednesday for a Saturday reservation and had to go at 5:30. The service was fantastic as well. Very attentive. The price was very reasonable and it was a BYOB! Way to go Xina!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstandind service, amazing atmosphere and best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Im a local and this is the best restaurant to hit the Toms River area. Make a reservation ! and the take out is just as awesome as the eat in

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Walnuts the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Four of us went to Xina for a birthday dinner. We ordered three different appys and two different entrees. The Hot and Sour Soup, the Spring Rolls and the Veggie Tempura were excellent! However, the best was yet to come. Three of us ordered the Walnut Shrimp as we had had a similar dish in a restaurant in Cherry Hill. This meal was significantly better by far then our other experience. The shrimp were large and plentiful and the candied walnuts and sauce made for a wonderful meal. The fourth meal was Peking Duck and again, the dish was prepared much to the delight of the diner. The winner by far, was the Walnut Shrimp. Giant shrimp and a great mix of flavors made this an outstanding dish. I can't wait to go back. Just to let you know, by 5:45 on a Thursday night(offseason) the restaurant was packed. Make a reservation so you won't be left out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xina also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Xina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.