We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world sushi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xina

Xina
3430 Route 37 East, Toms River, NJ
732-279-6327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 227 Restaurants in Toms River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: New restaurant where Ava's by the bay was.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Out of this world sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We've had take out from here before, but we went to the restaurant last night to eat. It was amazing! We split three rolls. A sea bass roll, a rainbow roll, and a special roll. The special roll was an everything bagel. It was delicious and unique. The other two rolls were awesome! This was the best non-traditional sushi we've ever had! We finished off by splitting the chocolate chip cookie/oreo cookie/brownie dessert with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Unbelievable! We would go back here in a heartbeat! I would have given this place 5 stars, but it was very noisy. If you go, make a reservation a few days in advance. It was packed! We called on Wednesday for a Saturday reservation and had to go at 5:30. The service was fantastic as well. Very attentive. The price was very reasonable and it was a BYOB! Way to go Xina!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    32
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstandind service, amazing atmosphere and best sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Im a local and this is the best restaurant to hit the Toms River area. Make a reservation ! and the take out is just as awesome as the eat in

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Shrimp and Walnuts the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Four of us went to Xina for a birthday dinner. We ordered three different appys and two different entrees. The Hot and Sour Soup, the Spring Rolls and the Veggie Tempura were excellent! However, the best was yet to come. Three of us ordered the Walnut Shrimp as we had had a similar dish in a restaurant in Cherry Hill. This meal was significantly better by far then our other experience. The shrimp were large and plentiful and the candied walnuts and sauce made for a wonderful meal. The fourth meal was Peking Duck and again, the dish was prepared much to the delight of the diner. The winner by far, was the Walnut Shrimp. Giant shrimp and a great mix of flavors made this an outstanding dish. I can't wait to go back. Just to let you know, by 5:45 on a Thursday night(offseason) the restaurant was packed. Make a reservation so you won't be left out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a happening place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Interesting combo of sushi, oyster bar, and Chinese bistro. Our party of 8 had a great time... Lot's of fun. Our table raved about the oysters, sushi, especially the tuna. I went Chinese for my.entree and had the mushu-- very good.

This is a BYOB, and is very busy. we didn't have dessert because we went big on appetizers. The only knock is the noise level due to tiled floor. But diners al around us were having a good time. Staff was friendly and service was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the rough for Ocean County Diners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ocean county, NJ is not known for it's restaurants. There are a few that people travel to just to sample the menu and this small Chinese Bistro and Oyster bar has that type of power.

Starters. MAKE A RESERVATION. They fill up quick. I have only walked in successfully for lunch. Weekends, especially in the summer should be two weeks in advanced at least. Also, it is BYOB. There is a sushi bar, but no cocktail bar. There is no corkage fee or drink fee.

The ingredients are fresh and the menu is simple with some classics and some inspired twists on classics. The pricing is on par with higher end restaurants in the area but the quality is top notch and I left happy to be paying the price for the meal I had just devoured.

The sushi is excellent. We have had sashimi and it was clean and bright with a fresh taste and also sampled some of the newer rolls such as the Painted Lady (Lobster, Mango, Asparagus) and the Coconut Shrimp Roll. They are delicious to say the least with clean flavors that allow you to taste each ingredient. They also have sushi appetizers which are plated simply with bright colors. We had the yellow-tail with jalapeno in Yuzu. Very bright almost citris soy with the soft yellowtail that balanced out the razor thin slices of jalapeno. The Treasure Island appetizer is beautiful. With green avocado, pink salmon, and red tuna you almost don't want to eat it. That would be bad! It is delicious and full flavored.

The oysters are fresh and cleaned. The gloss and textures are nice. I had the Kumamoto oysters, which are smaller sweet oysters from Washington. The sauce they give you is spicy but not really needed due to the quality of the oysters.

I highly recommend the Steamed Duck Buns for an appetizer. The light pillows of dough have the hearty rich duck center that makes you want to order a dozen. Must try!

My favorite main course is the Whole Fish Wok Fried. I had it with sea bass. It was incredibly delicious and cooked to perfection. You do need to be careful of the bones. It is a little messy for a nicer restaurant, but the presentation of having a whole fish placed in front of you (head and tail included) while diners around you salivate is worth the added work. It comes with vegetables and rice, which again was delicious but secondary to everything.

Have also had the Walnut Shrimp. The creamy white sauce is light, and paired with the Strawberries gives the Shrimp a fuller taste. The shrimp are huge and beautifully cooked. The walnuts add a great crunch and pair easily with the softness of the strawberries.

I thought service was top notch. The waiters and waitresses were extremely knowledgeable. Most knew ingredients and flavors spot on. Impressive for a younger group of workers.

Overall, spend the money. Try this place. I don't think you will be disappointed. Yes, it is small, and can be loud. And, I actually have been seated by the bathroom. The food is the star! Forget everything else and come out and enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xina also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Xina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.