We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shut Up and Go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shut Up & Eat

Shut Up & Eat
804 Main Street, Toms River, NJ 08753-5563
(732) 349-4544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 219 Restaurants in Toms River
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Shut Up and Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

AWESOME. They have every variation of every breakfast food item you can imagine. You also get 20% off your bill if you go in pajamas! Very laid back and full of clutter, so it is neat to look at the antiques while you wait for your made-to-order food. It is so nice to finally have a good breakfast place that is not a chain around here. I was so tired of rubbery eggs and hashbrowns when I found this gem. They open for breakfast and lunch until about 3PM. I really enjoyed everything about this place and I think it would be a wonderful place to take your kids, especially if you want to try and encourage them to branch out and try some new things. I always recommend this place to people who want to grab some breakfast/brunch/lunch. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All that junk on the walls must collect a lot of dust”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Cook doesn't know how to cook an egg and waited 45 minutes for an omelette with no apologies and only four tables in the place with customers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood New Jesery
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Looks like Fred Sanfords Living Room:)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was sent on a mission. Buy breakfast and bring it back to the office in downtown Tomsriver. Now Tomsriver is a great little town but the parking is very scarce. Thus I pulled into the parking lot of Shut Up and Eat. The decor is unqiue,it looks like fred sanfords living room.

My waitress was pleasant,I ordered 2 bacon egg and cheese sandwhiches on rye and 2 coffees.Bill came to $20.00. Then I was told that they only accept cash.I had to go to a atm machine(another fee). Food was okay,not worth 20.00 I didnot like that there were no signs that said cash only.

Down Town Toms River has affordable places to eat that has better quality food. The only thing that might be worth a trip is if you just order coffee to get a look at fred sanfords living room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A little off beat, but a good breakfast place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stopped here for a late breakfast last Sunday. The greeting from everyone as we entered was shall I say different. It's a cozy place with friendly work staff and a good hardy breakfast. I had had the typical breakfast with eggs over easy with home fries and sausage. I could have ordered fried bologna or spam if I so desired, but not this time. One of the work staff or possibly the owner saw me wearing a NJ Devil's hat and proceeded to tell a story about how he procured some prime seats for an upcoming game. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Looking for a breakfast/lunch place in Toms River and found a gem right off Rt. 37 on Main Street. Immediately felt welcome when we walked in the door. Lots of memorabilia to look at around the restaurant plus a varied menu with many NJ specialities and burgers with unusual toppings--fun and so many interesting items from which to choose! My friends and I had lobster bisque which was tasty, a great tuna sandwich, the Jo-Jo--wonderful, and a burger--mmm good. All came with sweet potato tater tots which were a real treat. Then sandwiches were very big and could easily be shared. The prices were moderate, but considering the size of the servings was reasonable. Will definitely return to this friendly place next time at the Jersey Shore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shut Up & Eat also viewed

Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 
Toms River, Jersey Shore
Toms River, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Shut Up & Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shut Up & Eat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.