We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2215 Route 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
New Market, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“VERY Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have come to expect comfort from Comfort Inn and this property was no exception. We were especially impressed by how clean it was for being so close to the beach. The beds were very comfortable, rooms clean, and staff very helpful. The only disappointing feature was that the heated indoor pool and spa closed very early, 9 pm. We would have liked to take advantage of the facility after a long day traveling.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
43
29
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I were displaced by the storm Sandy. We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Toms River for a month. It felt like a home away from home. First of all, the manager Pat and her staff showed a real concern for our well being. The hotel was clean, the maid service efficient and the breakfast was quite substantial. The location was ideal to get to places of business. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond with such kind comments. It was amazing and heartfelt to see how everyone pulled together during and after this disaster. We here put our hearts into everything we do and are grateful to see how much our efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Let me first say that the important things for me...safety and cleanliness were perfectly fine. Beds were comfortable and bedding adequate. The room had a fridge but no microwave. There is one in the breakfast room that I used to heat up leftovers. There are a few hot items for breakfast along with the standard breads, pastries, cereals and hard boiled eggs. I did not turn on the TV so cannot comment on channels. But I will say that the wifi was very disappointing. If I could connect at all, the slowness of the pages loading was unbearable. There is one computer in the lobby area for guest use. Hotel is on RT 37 which is main drag through the area. There are plenty of shopping and dining options nearby.

Room Tip: Be aware that while my room did not smell of smoke, there was a strong smoke smell in the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located on the busy Route 37 and is easily spotted at night. There's a small reception, small breakfast room and a single computer for anyone to use.

The rooms are of a reasonable size if a bit dark. There's no in-room safe but there was a noisy refrigerator (had to unplug it overnight). Like many other hotels, there's no spare power outlet near the bed, so if you want to charge your phone overnight you have to do it on the other side of the room which is annoying if it rings or you use it for an alarm. On the plus side, there is a nice big bedside clock radio, so you can see the time clearly. The bathroom is fine with good shower pressure and fairly decent towels.

The wireless internet was very slow though, and sometimes just gave up altogether. Even the receptionist had to use the public computer next to reception to process my check-out as her computer's connection wasn't working.

Breakfast was about average for a cheaper hotel. There was a fair selection with post-mix juices, weak coffee, some breads to toast, scrambled eggs and - on this day - bacon. For some reason most of the chairs had towels over the seats. Don't know why.

There's really not much in the way of places to eat nearby. There is an Italian restaurant right over the street, but thanks to the six foot high mesh fence running down the centre of the road, it becomes a 10 minute hike to reach it.

There was another Italian place further down the road but that's about it within walking distance. But then walking really isn't recommended anyway as they're not keen on sidewalks here. Or street lighting. Or trash collection.

In other words, it's fine to stay here for a night on the way to somewhere better. There's not much choice in and around the Toms River area, so this is probably about as good as you get without paying twice as much.

Room Tip: 101 is next to the breakfast room and lobby with a TV on, so it can be noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparrow Bush, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights 1 week before my son school start. Actually this is our second time to stayed at the Comfort Inn Tom Rivers NJ, the first one was last year 2011. Our recent stayed we check in here early and the staffs are very friendlly they give us the room key even if is not check in time yet ,breakfast are good lots of foods to choose from. Pools are nice my son had a great time, room was very clean as usual. It's guarantee that we will stay here again if we going to the Jersey Shore next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

stayed two nites aug 22 to 24 rooms were clean .we had 4 other couples with kids also had a very nice stay.would go back in a minute.two suggestions a bigger breadfast room and a few more kids channels on the t.v....disney,nick etc....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in a non-smoking, two queen room with our two kids. The room was very clean and, even though it was the first time having our kids in a hotel room, I wasn't weirded out by bathing them in the tub. That's how clean it was. Cleanliness is the highest on our priority list. When my husband went to check for bed bugs, the mattresses were enclosed in some sort of cover. I'm assuming a bed bug cover. That was reassuring. Very few things weren't up to top notch quality. Maybe a few tiny tears on the bed spread (but that just reassured us that they're being washed frequently), a couple of long hairs on the towels (I'm SURE from the cleaning staff when they were folding or setting them up in our room), and a couple of slats on the air conditioning unit were broken. All minor things in our book.

Our stay included a "continental" breakfast. I would consider what they serve well beyond continental! Very nice. Scrambled eggs, sausage, make you own belgian waffles, bagels, english muffins, toast, donuts, fresh fruits, cereals, oatmeal, a juice bar and coffee bar.

The only thing I think they made a poor decision on was the pool area. We can't understand why they built such a small pool, yet they have this huge patio beyond it. I can't imagine how crowded that pool gets on a rainy day. I mean there were two families in it while our 4 yr old was swimming and it was full enough. (~5 adults and 5-6 kids) The pool is indoor, along with a very small (4-5 person) hot tub; but then this huge, beautiful paver patio is right outside. We didn't understand the logic, but also didn't ask. It would prevent us from staying for more than 1-2 nights. I would rather stay at a place (for a longer period of time) that had a larger pool because my kids love the water, and it's a nice option before or after the beach. But for a weekend, it was fine.

The location was so EASY to Seaside Heights boardwalk (10 min drive) and Island Beach State Park (15 min). We ate dinner at the Four Seasons Diner, which was fine and about 10 mins from the hotel. LARGE menu and appropriate atmosphere for young families. Not sure of what else was in the area, but the hotel staff was very friendly and I'm sure would advise.

For the price ($129 + tx on a Thursday nt), we were pleasantly surprised and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2215 Route 37 East, Toms River, NJ 08753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Toms River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Toms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel with indoor heated pool and spa, fitness center, plasma tv's & dvd players in all rooms, wireless internet and a continental breakfast with waffles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Toms River
Toms River Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.