We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Vietnamese

Simply Vietnamese
1 Highwood, Tenafly, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Tenafly
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maywood,New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

just returned from Simply Vietnamese...BYOB which is our favourite.....Food was really good,reasonably priced. It was a Tuesday night (7/3/12),night before a holiday,busy but not unrulely.....Service was good,a bit slow but I do not like being rushed. We had the Pho. "speciality of the house" and it is the 2nd time my husband had this and as good as the first time...This trip I had theBroiled Basa in the a curried coconut milk sauce. had a nice bite but not too hot,served on a bed of napa cabage ( mine was served on on a bed of Bok Choi). Wonderful. We did not need an appitizer nor a desert as we are not huge eaters anymore. I would return again and bring my foodie friends to this resturant. Try it .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
“Best in Tenafly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The food is fresh and fantastic! Very creative dishes...we love this place! BYOB!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

WIth very limited restaurant variety in Tenafly, we were thrilled to have this restaurant move here from Englewood. We often ate at their old location which was tiny. The food is always very fresh and flavorful. They have the best edamame around - our kids can't get enough of it. The sound are great as well. Other favorites are the Pad Thai and the French beef salad. It's almost enough to share - always take some home. The only downside is the service. It always feels that they are a server short - especially on the weekends.
Definitely worth a try though and beats the local Chinese places for takeout by a mile.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our new fave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We've been here three times now, and try to sample new dishes each time. The salad was tasty, and the squash dumplings excellent and unique. The duck entrée was fantastic, as was the French beef cubes over salad. We also enjoyed the Bun hoi and the sautéed greens. Everything is fresh and light. We like the right dining area which is a little more family friendly. Just saw that they have tables outside in the summer - even better!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bergen County Best Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

There are few Viet restaurants in Bergen County and this is the best I've tried. The same owner used to run R. Saigon in Englewood and decided to try a new location, name and menu. This location has a second room to the side that is great for families. For a quieter spot, choose one the the tables at the back of the main room. The cheap and cheerful bustle of R. Saigon is still there and of course the food is great, especially the Pho and the Hanoi Crabmeat soup. Worth a try!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Vietnamese also viewed

 

Been to Simply Vietnamese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Vietnamese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.