We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Glory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clinton Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Clinton Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Dean Drive, Tenafly, NJ 07670   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Faded Glory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Somewhere beneath the smelly rooms, inoperable airconditioning,dirty windows and noisey bed is probably a once-nice hotel. I called maintenance during the first day and was told that pretty much all of the air conditioning on the top (third floor) doesn't really work - not what you want to hear on a day the temperature was near 100F. This is symptamatic of the lack of upkeep at the hotel. The elevator was also out of commission too on the first day of my visit. On the plus side, front desk staff were pleasant and the on-site restaurant is good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: get a room on the bottom floor if it is summertime and you want a cool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Krubin: Thank you for providing feedback on TripAdvisor. With the severe heat we've been experiencing this summer, it's been a challenge to keep the entire hotel cool in days over 90 degrees. We have taken steps to ensure the temperatures in our property are comfortable for our guests. I appreciate your nice comments about our friendly staff. I'll be sure to give them your feedback. We hope you stay with us on your next trip to the area

Sincerely,

Donna Italia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
45
24
6
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent two nights here. Upscale hotel with the finer amenities. Good location to shops and restaurants. Would recommend to families as a safe location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Fayettecar,
Thank you for your review and recommendation! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were in NJ to visit our son who lives in the area. We choice the Clinton Inn due to location and reviews. We found the rooms to be a bit worn/dated, but overall cleanand comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. There were quite a few young guests - appeared to be part of a large group - and we were concerned it would be loud. However things were pretty quite and other guests we ran into were nice as well. The hotel restaurant was nice and we will review Palmer's separately.
The one negative was the hotel staff. Not very warm and the room service and housekeeping staff need some work. Our first morning room service woke us around 7 - quite a surprise because we had not ordered anything. My husband explained that it was not our order. Yet two minutes later the same guy was back at the door asking again and actually said "is there someone else in there with you that ordered this?" We finally convinced him that we knew our name and it was not the one on the breakfast order. Housekeeping was another issue. Complimentary coffee set up did not include creamer/sugar packets which I did not notice until after coffee was brewed - I don't drink it black or without sweetener so I ended up grabbing a cup to go in the lobby which cost a couple of bucks. Also, one morning at 6:45 (!!) we had another wake up call when the maid service rapped in the door and then proceeded to open it before we could even get out of bed. Really? Before seven to a guest room where they did not check out? Asides from Palmer's the staff could use a little polish. Overall not a bad place and worked for us on this trip but would probably look around a bit more for our next visit to this part of Jersey

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
ClearwaterJen,
Thank you for your review of your stay. I would like to offer my apologies for the service you experienced as it does not meet our high standards. Please know that we value all feedback. I will be addressing these matters with my team during our weekly meeting. I hope this experience doesn’t discourage you from staying with us in the future; we appreciate your business and that you took the time to share your review.
Sincerely,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice clean hotel in a quiet area. Staff was very attentive and took good care of our group. We stayed 4 nights and added a deluxe breakfast buffet for our group each morning which was very good and will definitely add for our next trip. We look forward to our next stay at the Clinton-Inn Hotel.


DN from North Carolina

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Debbie, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to pass along your comments to my team. We look forward to seeing you again.

Have a great summer,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My family had a get together and once again they chose the Clinton Inn. Two years ago- half of the family got to stay there and the rest of us got bumped to another hotel (compensation was given so we only suffered inconvenience). This time my experience was much better. They had a new desk staff who were very good. When I checked in they were very efficient and answered all of my questions. They were very patient and understanding. Could not have been better. What a big change. I was soooo glad. We got a really nice room. (the bathroom door did not close because it was built wrong but we could live with that). The bed was a little hard, my husband liked it that way, I just slept on the extra pillows they gave us so it was no big deal, it was not hard as a rock like some places, just a tad too firm, I like beds a little softer, my husband was fine with it, he actually liked it. In other reviews they mentioned the noise at night if a party is booked at the hotel. We returned to our room at about 12:30 and the party below us ended at 1 so it was no big deal. I could understand if you went to bed early and were over the party room it could be bothersome. We were on the third floor and could hear the music but by the time we got to bed it was over. The hallways in our section were very quiet. You could hear people occasionally leaving or coming back to the room but that happens at most hotels, I take ear plugs to help. On the day we checked in we were the only ones at the desk but a couple hours later a tour group came in and it got busy. They must have been in another part of the hotel because that is all I saw or heard of the big group. They must have left early because at breakfast we were the only ones eating at about 10 am. They have a nice buffet for about 14 dollars (or you can book it with your room rate online only) or you can order a la cart. It was faster if you got the buffet. Some of our party only wanted bagels or cereal and they had to wait awhile to get it, they could have just walked up to the buffet and helped themselves. Some of us were in a hurry so it did matter to them. I was not in a hurry so it was fine. The waiters in the restaurant were very nice and tried to be very helpful, they just could not get it together. Most of us had the buffet and only two people had something ordered and it still came out wrong and very slowly. The food was good. The Bacon was crisp and nicely done. I liked the fruit.
We had a very nice stay at the Inn and I finally got to be with my family for more of the visit this time. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks so very much CherryHill_NJLes for writing a review! Thank you for returning to the Clinton Inn! I am pleased that you enjoyed our changes as well as your stay with us. We take a lot of care into our breakfast selection and I am glad you found it enjoyable. I will review with my team regarding the service challenges with your group. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area!


Donna Italia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights with a group of students. The hotel is very nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was simple but the food was good. This hotel is located 35 minutes from Manhatan in a very quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are more quiet, especially if there's a reception in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Donna Italia, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was at the Clinton Inn for a company meeting and the room and meeting space were clean and nice enough. The food from the restaurant on property could have been better. I arrived late in the evening and realized that I had forgotten my razor. A quick call to the front desk and thankfully they hooked me up with a couple of razors and shaving cream right away. They also have a simple PC and Printer setup in the lobby that I used to print my boarding pass for free.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Clinton Inn Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Thanks again,
Donna Italia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Inn Hotel

Address: 145 Dean Drive, Tenafly, NJ 07670
Location: United States > New Jersey > Tenafly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clinton Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Clinton Inn boutique hotel in Tenafly, New Jersey, is close to Englewood, Englewood Cliffs, Fort Lee and is just 30 minutes to New York City. Guest rooms and junior suites offer comfort bedding, a large work area and free high speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Dine at delicious Palmer's Crossing Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Over 12,000 sq ft of flexible event and meeting space for weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Clinton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clinton Hotel Tenafly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.