We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOTS (More of the Same)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clinton Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Clinton Inn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Dean Drive, Tenafly, NJ 07670   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
NH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MOTS (More of the Same)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

If you have read the previous reviews that address the poor customer service at this "hotel" (read motel), my review will not hold any surprises for you. We received a lukewarm greeting at reception. We checked into a room that considering that it was in a suburban locale, was somewhat small, with a bathroom that was second only to airplane toilets in its compact size. (The towel rack was inside the shower.) To be fair, it was pleasantly decorated, resonably clean and odor free.

The desk staff was unresponsive to our requests. In addition, when housekeeping did not replace the towels they removed, we were told there was nothing they could do about it. We ordered room service for breakfast from the express menu thinking this would simplify the order process. They made multiple mistakes on both days. All the food was wrapped in clear plastic wrap in what I imagine was an attempt to deliver it to the room warm. They only succeeded in making already mediocre food look and taste like cafeteria food.

Additionally, the wireless internet reception was poor to the point of being unusable. This is a good hotel if you are looking for a clean bed and little else. If you are looking for anything beyond that, I recommend you take your money elsewhere.

  • Liked — Non-smoking room was actually a non-smoking room
  • Disliked — Poor customer service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
39
24
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

Perhaps I am biased as I grew ip in Tenafly. I remember when the Clinton Inn was an old wooden building and my father took us to dinner there. But, that is a long time ago and the present facility is what we are talking about. I was in Tenafly for my 55th high school reunion and as in the past previous reunions were also held here. Everything was excellent regarding the accomodations. We had a special rate and the normal rates can be high. However, the hotel is away from the major highways and is in a quiet location as Tenafly has always been.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — None
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

Just came back from a Fun and Fuel package at the Clinton Inn. #3 of us shared a double queen room. The room was very clean, well appointed and had terrific beds. The package was $149/night plus tax. We received a package of handmade chocolates (OK we had to ask for them, but they were fantastici!!),
a $25 gas card for the Exxon across the street, and 2 buffet breakfasts (our 3rd person had to pay $13.95).
This place is an absolute BARGAIN.
They are about to go through a large scale renovation, but even as slightly worn as it may be, it is very attractive and an elegant place to stay.
Highly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2005

This hotel was a charming large Inn with a striking lobby. The location is in a "village" like town called Tenafly. It's very close to the corporate area of Englewood Cliffs where I was going on business. I was checked-in by a young front desk clerk who was friendly, and welcoming. My room was ready and I was given a small bag of specialty chocolates along with my key. I was also told I would receive a complimentary breakfast the next morning as one of the benefits of the hotels corporate program called Innsiders.(I found out the company that had made my reservation was on this corporate program at the the hotel). When I got to my room it was very clean, large, and decorated with traditional furniture. During my stay I did not use the free internet service, but did appreciate that there was a iron and ironing board in the closet and free Starbucks bags of coffee. I made a pot that night.

In the evening I walked into the town of Tenafly which is accross the street from the hotel. There was a CVS, bookstore,movie theatre and gift shops in the town. I ate dinner in a converted train station that was now a French cafe. The food was ok, not great.

The next morning I enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the hotels dining room. I've never seen a "Asian" buffet breakfast before, but the waiter said it was there because many of the guests that stay at the hotel are from Japan and Korea. I stuck with the eggs, bacon, bagels and fresh fruit.

Overall a delightful stay. I felt safe and comfortable in the hotel and the town. A very different experience then staying in a hotel off the NJ highway as I did in the past.

I recommend the Clinton Inn Hotel to anyone who wants a place that feels like home.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

The Clinton Inn Hotel is a wonderful venue for kosher meetings and conferences. I have organized two retreats at the hotel during the past six months and have already booked my next event!

The hotel staff are friendly, courteous and display a committment to providing the best quality of sevice possible. The sales manager was very helpful during the pre-planning of the events, suggesting which rooms and set-ups would facilitate smooth functioning. My instructions were followed through 100%.

The maitre'd is well versed in kashrut, providing washing stations and waiting for me to open the wrapping on all food items. The service was very prompt and extremely attentive.

The hotel is easily accessible to both Newark and La Guardia airports and provides beautifully appointed sleeping and meeting rooms. The events exceeded my expectations and it was truly delightful to work with such a highly professional staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2005

I have stayed at the Clinton Inn numerous times over the past few years, and it's always been about the same. Despite the word "Inn" in the name, it is not a charming local hotel but an ordinary, chain-like hotel. Bathrooms are slightly dingy, TV remotes are a bit flaky, etc. Plenty of space, though, and there is free "high-speed" internet in the rooms, which is great, except that the connection is slow and fails often, as if perhaps they are sharing a single DSL line with the entire hotel. Still, it's nice to have.

In comparison with the Crowne Plaza in Englewood (the other hotel in the area that I have stayed at), the Clinton Inn is quieter and slightly cleaner, but has less amenities, slightly less snazzy-looking furnishings, and is more expensive, so it's sort of a toss up.

Note the Clinton Inn seems to get booked solid most Saturdays (perhaps for local Bar Mitzvahs or weddings?), so plan in advance if you plan to be there on a Saturday.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

I stayed at the Clinton Inn Hotel for two evenings to attend a rehearsal dinner and wedding. The hotel was clean, the rooms were spacious, room service was hot, tasty and timely. The rehearsal dinner appetizers and meal were very good as well. The only staff member I talked with was at the registration desk. While he was not effusive in his welcome (there were almost 30 rooms booked for the event I was attending, I expected a little enthusiasm), he was competent and helpful.

I, too, experienced the knock of a housekeeper at 8:15 am on the morning of the wedding, but I had forgotten to put the "DND" sign on the door. The bartender was briefly MIA when we tried to pay the bill on Saturday evening, but appeared after a moment. The only downside of my experience was that the room wasn't sound proof enough for the deep bass vibration/thrumming of music during the evening, but it wasn't coming from my hallway or outside. I never found the source of the music--I was happy exhausted and fell fast asleep.

Before I left home, I checked TripAdvisor, and was very concerned about what I would encounter there. (When I checked, the ratings were available but comments were not.) The hotel is definitely not worthy of a 1 ranking. After my visit, I would recommend the Clinton Inn Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Inn Hotel

Address: 145 Dean Drive, Tenafly, NJ 07670
Location: United States > New Jersey > Tenafly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tenafly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clinton Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Clinton Inn boutique hotel in Tenafly, New Jersey, is close to Englewood, Englewood Cliffs, Fort Lee and is just 30 minutes to New York City. Guest rooms and junior suites offer comfort bedding, a large work area and free high speed internet access. Work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Dine at delicious Palmer's Crossing Restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Over 12,000 sq ft of flexible event and meeting space for weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clinton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clinton Hotel Tenafly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.