We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rural campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant Acres Campground

Pleasant Acres Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sussex
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pleasant Acres Campground
Save
You added Pleasant Acres Campground to your Saves list
61 DeWitt Road, Sussex, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
East Islip, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best rural campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a hidden gem in the kittatiny mountains. Beautiful landscape. Huge sites. Super friendly seasonal and transient campers. Everyone is so pleasant. The staff cannot do enough for you. During the week is different dinners in the pavilion. Bring a side dish and some conversation and have a great time meeting other campers. Close to lots of things to do outside the grounds. NJ state fair in a 10 minute drive. The pool is large and overlooks a beautiful mountain landscape. Price is reasonable. One of my favorite places to camp. It is set on a rural farm with chickens and horses. The kids love feeding and watching them. Cabins are beautiful and they even include a gas grill to BBQ. If you are looking for that campground to truly get away from it all and relax, this is it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We started going to Pleasant Acres Campground 15-20 years ago for Memorial and Labor Day weekends when our boys we toddlers and young children. We had a pop-up camper at the time. We choose it and returned to it repeatedly through the years, and now in recent years have begun camping with our next generation of grown nephews with their young families. we choose it at first because it was a beautiful area in Sussex, NJ ,with all of the amenities we wanted for our family: peaceful atmosphere, fishing, activities for the children, pool, special weekend activities(love the D J dance, and bingo) and of course all of the animals on the property. The children absolutely love seeing and feeding all of the farm animals! The staff cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable and are always on hand to help with any of your needs! We now rent the park models which are roomy and very comfortable, always spotless and well cared for. we hope to be coming back with our extended family for years to come!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Okay, I have been reviewing my campgrounds for as much me as everyone else. This way if I forget I an see what it was like. This campground has about 300 site but only 50 are for transient campers. And as for the seasonal people there, some of the sites/units are very badly taken care of weeds everywhere and some look like they are falling down. As with any place that has mainly seasonal the people are not too open to the weekend campers. They have their own way and are not very friendly, as a matter of fact when we went to the only daytime event on Sat. All the seasonal kids pushed their way in front of my kids and almost ran them over to get on the hayride. There are two positive things we loved the small animals pens to feed the goats and horses. And the fishing lakes are what they say they are, we caught fish every time. We probably won't go back because even on the weekends over the summer are nothing like advertised. They say they do petting, pig racing, etc. but you have to be careful because they are only one a weekend. Not like an all day of events. Probably won't go back, just don't know. The bathrooms are old and are very opened to the outside. Just a screen door closes at the entrance then stalls with wood doors that don't close all the way. The views are great but I don't like the ratio of seasonal to family weekend campers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sussex hotels

hometown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

There were more permanent trailers there than actual campers. There is no cable not a problem for me but my friends were not pleased. There was a "dog run" that was full of big dog poop. My husband cleaned up 21 bags of poop so our little poodles could run without get poopy all over them! GROSS!!! We complained to the office and were told that you don't have to clean it up if you don't want. Can anyone say PARVO and bacteria? Yikes! THe campsites were below par and I don't think I will ever return. When we were there their was a tricky tray which started 1/2 later than it was supposed to so we had to stand outside in August in the sun before they would let us in. It was dragged out and it did not end until after 5 pm, wasted our whole day. I don't think there is much to do and the camp is below average. The goats were really cute though! (I thought I throw in something positive). Don't waste your money or time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011 via mobile

The place is extremely nice, the cabins are clean, up to date, and very comfortable. HOWEVER, we were hounded several times by what we called the "fun police". During the afternoon we were playing catch with a football and then told that we could not play in the street because it was a common area. There is also a rule that you have to be quiet at 11pm (which they remind you about consistently), and then they set a 1:30 am curfew, you cannot be outside.....that's crazy! Overall, nice place but too many restrictions.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oreland, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We absolutely loved this campground, one of the best ones yet. Beautiful views, large sites, and lots of farm animals to feed! well stocked fishing pond too. The staff was friendly and there was plentyntondonfor the kids! We will be back!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stay here at least once a year for quick weekend getaway. The campground sites are decently spaced, excellent utilities, activities for kids, lots of animals, pool and great mountain views. The hayrides, animal petting and special events are great for weekend away. I have been going here for last 5 years and we always had a great time and it is one of the only campgrounds with a late Sunday checkout(4pm) so you really get a good 2 days of camping. Also, has been residents who are very friendly. Overall, a great place for weekend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pleasant Acres Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Acres Campground

Address: 61 DeWitt Road, Sussex, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Sussex
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sussex
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant Acres Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.