We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but could do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Summit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
156 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“OK, but could do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very mixed feelings about this hotel. There are some good points - the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, most of the public areas are comfortable and well furnished, the free wifi worked well, dinner was a decent burger and the bar has a great range of beers. The location was very nice, within easy reach of the centre of Summit for restaurant, shops and good train service to NYC. There are some OK points - the room is OK, breakfast and lunch were not bad and most of the meeting facilities were good. There were some less good points - many areas were grubby and in poor condition, either poorly maintained or very cheap materials, the meeting rooms allocated were not what we had booked and in the room the bed and especially pillows were uncomfortable. Cleaning levels were only just acceptable.

For the price it was OK, but only just.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear MyReview,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay and your comments both positive and constructive. We appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff, public space, wifi, and our HAT Tavern.

I was disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy our beds as many guests have purchased the Sealy Pillowtop product through our hotel purchase program.

We work hard to excel in all areas, and you can be sure we will consider all of your comments to continue to better our hotel for all our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to hosting you again when your travel takes you to the Summit area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    64
    48
    45
    22
See reviews for
98
40
24
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Grand Summit for two nights. Check in was quick and easy, the room was smallish but very clean and quiet. The room had a nice television and a Bose Wave radio, small closet two chairs and a table. The bathroom was stocked with all the essentials and plenty of towels. Two odd things, there was a coffee maker and cups but no drinking glasses. There was a bottle of water, but odd no cups. Also in the bathroom there was a phone jack on the wall, no phone. Wouldn't hurt to remove the jack during a renovation or paint touch up. The room included a buffet breakfast which was quite good. The bar was busy and generally friendly and also had a few locals stopping in for drinks-always a good sign. A nice hotel with more than its share of character.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear John Paul,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the property that you provided us with. We work extremely hard to provide the type of experience you have described here, and it means a lot to us when it is recognized.

It means a lot to us when our guests appreciate the charm, ambiance, and old world feel the hotel provides, and we very much appreciate your comments about the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you to our area in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furlong, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great experience! Check in was easy-room was spotless. I travel extensively for work and it was nice to stay in a hotel; that had some history and character. The bar restaurant downstairs was busy but the service was great! Food was excellent-a wonderful expereince. I'll be staying there whenever I'm in North Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mark L,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay. It is always such a pleasure for us to host you when your business takes you to our area.

We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you as always for your feedback and business.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times and just did again this week so it's not that bad as long as you know what to expect. First, it's an old/historic hotel, and looks/feels tired. Historic can be fine vs. a cookie cutter mass chain hotel. But, it's well past time for updating the basics...room carpets, wallpaper/boarders, drapes, duvets, heat & A/C units. A fresh coat of paint in rooms would be good too, not that the walls are in bad shape but the rooms need to feel fresher. They did finally replace the main lobby carpet last year and the hallway carpets, which was critical. Rooms have HDTVs, iPod clock radios. My experience with WiFi and bathrooms has been fine...good signal and bathrooms clean, bright, reasonably newer. Free Starbucks coffee 24/7 in the lobby so if you're up early like me you don't have to wait for staff to bring it out (and yes, it's hot at 6am). So there are pluses and minuses. Every time I stay here I think how much potential it has and what a shame they can't truly update more than the "edges". It's my last resort hotel in the area but continue to choose it when nothing else is available versus driving long distances for a more updated property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Airmarshll,

Thank you very much for the review of our property you have provided. We are very excited to hear you enjoy returning to the hotel, and appreciate you following the progress of our renovation.

We are currently addressing room renovations throughout the building. Each part of the building has its own unique characteristics, and we continue to update and improve the product on a monthly basis.

We thank you for your continued business, as well as your constructive comments, and we look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Staff very helpful, friendly and patient. Hotel is old but charming. Very clean. Most helpful was Asst. General Manager Michael Marino who took time to explain the layout and show us around. This was our second stay at the Grand Summit and we will return. THE COFFEE WAS GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear lensog,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. I was also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed hearing about the history of the hotel. We work hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you to our area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel although old provides excellent and friendly service. The staff are friendly courteous and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is quite something and the standard of the food in restaurant very good.

Free coffe and tea is on constant supply in the lounge together with pastries in the afternoon.

In particular I would mention Michael Marino the AGM who goes out of his way to help with any queries.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Elgar096,

I cannot tell you how much we enjoy hosting you every time you come to our hotel. It is guests like you that make us so passionate about what we do, and drive us to do what we do everyday in this business.

We look forward to your next visit to the states and thank you again for the general appreciation you have for the service and accommodations we provide you.

All the best.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Total dump. I'm here for work and seriously wish I had brought flip flops bc the showers are nasty. the staff is super sweet but seriously? i cant believe i was put up here by work. There's tons of mold in the building, I'm suffering from major allergies here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear caztravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay both positive and negative. I was very disappointed to here of your comments about the shower and your overall critique of the hotel. We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests and welcome the chance to speak with you to better understand what would compel you to title your review this way.

Our hotel has always enjoyed wonderful customer feedback as evidenced in our rating. While I am always disappointed to hear when a guest did not enjoy their stay, I find it very difficult to understand where your overall critique of our hotel comes from. If you had an issue of cleanliness in your room, we would work quickly to correct it or get you to another room where you would be more comfortable.

I look forward to speaking with you if you can find the time to call me at the hotel.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.