We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Huntley Tavern

The Huntley Tavern
3 Morris Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3919
+1 908-273-3166
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Summit
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I came here for lunch with colleagues, and we all loved our meals. The soup special was superb, and the service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    49
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lunch Better than Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The lunch preparations are very good, better than the dinner selections. Attractive restaurant downstairs. Salads are good as well. Hard to get a drink at the bar on a Saturday or Friday night, bar area very small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Why did I wait so long!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Huntley's Tavern had been recommended by friends in the past and I had put off going for a while. Big mistake. The food was fantastic, the service was outstanding. Very attentive wait staff. The food is gourmet and they seem to catch every detail right. Nice choice of microbrewed beer.
The appetizers were excellent. I went with the gourmet pizza. I planned on eating half, it disappeared way too quick. I couldn't get enough. I am also glad I didn't skip dessert. The chocolate/pistachio parfait was great.
I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Huntely Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Tuesday evening was a friends birthday so we went to the Huntley Tavern in Summit, NJ for dinner. What a lovely place. The fire place was burning and the bar area was so warm and cozy. Tthey also have a patio which was the perfect place to have dinner. In the summer the windows open.The food was great. I had skate which is a fish on kale. my husband had pork chops and my friends had steak. Everyone enjoyed their meals as well as the wine they chose. The servers were attentive. Prices are between $19 and $33. Totally worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise hidden in Jersey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went on a Saturday evening and the place was buzzing -- quite lively. For appetizers, we had the crispy calamari salad and the tuna tartare and both were very good. I had the NY strip steak and my friends had the fillet mignon and both were juicy, tender, cooked to the right temp and were well seasoned. For sides, we had the kale and daikon which was delicious --- didn't think kale can taste so good. We also had the truffled mushroom and the truffled mac n' cheese --- yes, I love truffle. :) For dessert, we had the molten choc cake and the sweet and salty sundae. I'm a choc lover but the sweet and salty sundae was definitely the winner --- it was such a good balance on the palate. I can't wait to try their other restaurants!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Huntley Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Huntley Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Huntley Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.