We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Steakhouse

Roots Steakhouse
401 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901
+1 908-273-0027
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Summit
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous service, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The seafood platter and steaks are fantastic, the restaurant has a lively atmosphere, and the waitstaff are terrific.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Go for the Steak and the Chocolate Tower Cake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not being a meat-eater, but having had a great lunch at Roots a few years ago, I thought it would be the perfect place for my carnivorous husband and I to celebrate our anniversary. The romantic ambience and very attentive service set the tone as we nestled into two high back chairs at a table next to the bar. The first oyster of my Oysters Rockefeller was far superior to the last. Was it the breading or the salty taste? Filled on six oysters, I dove into my entree of halibut, nothing fancy. My husband loved his steak. The asparagus that we ordered as a side dish (apparently nothing coming with the entree is typical of steakhouses, my husband says) was perfectly cooked and the best part of the dinner for me until dessert. A less than average meal was resurrected by the incredibly delicious chocolate tower cake. Wonderful service and the special occasion made dinner out on a Monday evening at Roots worthwhile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Very Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The food is just ok, steak not great and the wine list prices, even by the glass, is ridiculous. Went for lunch and the special glass of chardonnay was $15 per glass. The food is nothing special but more of people liking to be seen atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better then NYC...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Folks I have been to all the big steak houses in NYC, their good but I prefer Roots in summit to them all. From the vibe to the great food and service you will find no better. You will need a reservation and your wallet but I guarantee you will be a return customer. Bone in filet,wedge salad, brussels sprouts and creamed spinach. Accompanied by a bottle of Faust cabernet and finished with the Roots sunday or a glass of 25 year old Macallen single malt....im in heaven!
Ask for Mick the Irish waiter, a character that will add charm to your evening,. he will take good care of you, tell him Mitch sent you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Blow's Morristown Brother Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Bar staff is top notch. Food is well priced for lunch but top tier for dinner. Food is good and consistent but the wine list is very expensive. For a high end steak house it's got a great clubby and laid back feel which makes it my top spot for high end steak in the area. Despite the cost, I still enjoy eating here. Staff is very friendly

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Roots Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.