We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Luciano

Ristorante Luciano
9820 3rd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1934
609-967-9115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 52 Restaurants in Stone Harbor
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

They are first class all the way. One of the best Italian restuarants in Stone Harbor. It's family owned which makes you feel welcomed the minute you walk in. The food and service is excellent! I definately recommend this place. The pasta is made by the mother which is to die for. The Chicken Picata was cooked to prefection. We had a reservation at another restaurant
Jay's on Third. The Owner was the rudest person that we walked out!! DO NOT GO THERE.
Ristorante Luciano is next door to Jay's and it was the best decision we made. They make you feel at home like your part of the family. I highly recommned going. The bill for three people was very reasonable. They truely made up for the experience we had next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“They dont need your business and let you know it!-Nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Recently visited this restaurant. We had 8pm reservations for 8 people and were running 15 minutes late. Not to offer an excuse, but parking is very tough in Stone Harbor in the summer. We called to let them know and apologize. Five minutes later, we received a call from the restaurant and told them we just spoke to someone and we were literally around the corner, trying to park. Unfortunately we were greeted by a woman (presumably the owner) who just about yelled at my 70 yr old mother.Since were were late, our long wait to be acknowledged by the waiter was understood. What was not understood, was the absolute arrogant rudeness of "Chuck". Apparently Chuck didnt go to waiter school 101. I dont think I have ever been to a restaurant with such a condescending waiter.

I would consider the food to be average to better than average Italian. The veal was tender and flavor good. The red sauce on the side pasta was homemade and tasty despite the water that pooled on the bottom of the dish which probably came from them reheating the pasta in hot water. I would not recommend the tomato mozzarella salad $9, which was served with grocery store tomatoes that were barely ripe; which is a disgrace to serve since South Jersey has some of the best local tomatoes in season. Also would not recommend the roasted pepper appetizer also $9. There were about 4 tiny slices of roasted peppers with even fewer slices of cheese (although good quality).

The bottom line is, this restaurant is enjoying a reputation that was probably deserved when it started out. Good food, reasonable prices. But now, they dont need your business and let you know it. The restaurant is too loud, wait staff is too rude and food is just too average to tolerate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, but forgettable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

BYOB important to know. They have an opportunity to step it up, and they only go part of the way. Its popular, and you need reservations so I suppose they don't feel the need to be better. Server wS pleasant. Nice food. Not drenched in butter like so many places. If you are bringing kids, no kids menu BUT they do have chicken tenders and pasta with butter or marinara kids size. Portions were a bit small, salad was very basic greens, nothing else. Not going to become an annual spot for us but it could have been.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The restaurant or waitress tried to rip us off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The food was very good and the service was good, however when we received are check it was extremely high for 2 adults and 2 children ($228.00). After I reviewed the check we were over charged by $100.00. If I did not look over the check we would have lost out. How does a waitress not know that $228.00 for 2 adults and 2 children is a bit high,especially when we di not order anything special. We came in with a very relaxed attitude and very friendly and I feel we were taken advantage of. When I explained to the owners (mother and 1 son) instead of being treated with respect I was talked to very rudely and told waitresses make mistakes.. Is this a scam this restaurant has going on?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.j.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Little Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is not the place for a quiet romantic dinner for two. This is where you go with friends and or family when you want an excellent meal, and a nice comfortable atmosphere. A little noisy, but only because everyone around you is having a wonderful time talking with family or friends. Fresh homemade pasta is the specialty here and it is delicious. I have not had a bad meal yet and I've been coming here for the last few years. Love it! BYOB and reservations are strongly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Luciano also viewed

Stone Harbor, Jersey Shore
Stone Harbor, Jersey Shore
 
Stone Harbor, Jersey Shore
Stone Harbor, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Ristorante Luciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Luciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.