We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Lark!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lark Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lark Motel
Save Saved
You added Lark Motel to your Saves list
9800 Second Avenue, PO Box 306, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the Lark!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! Stayed for almost a week with my husband and son this summer. We had the room on the 2nd level right at the end by the sun deck - great room / location. We enjoyed the pool on days we were not going to the beach and loved how quiet the hotel was. Would be nice if they could upgrade the rooms a bit - but they were clean and really in great shape. Owners are super nice and friendly and always ready to give info on places to go. Short 2 block walk to 96th st and short walk to the beach. Really a perfect location, great hotel - loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The summer got away from us, but we decided to take the family down in mid-October, and were pleasantly surprised to find the Lark. Right near the beach, even though it wasn't quite swimming weather, was quite nice. We lucked into the 100th celebration for the Stone Harbor fire company, which was nicely done by the community. The rooms were beautifully cleaned, and the staff definitely took pride in their work. The front desk was staffed by a very friendly and helpful fellow Millersville U. grad. We had a great time, and hope to return in season some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the duplex behind the motel (which they own) for a week in September. My wife found out that they had last minute availability when someone had to cancel. We love Stone Harbor and have always had great experiences with The Lark. Once again, they did not disappoint.

Denise- the daughter of the owners who is there virtually all the time- is helpful and friendly and all around a wonderful host. She treats every guest like family. How many motel owners have you hugged at check out? Well, my wife did anyway. And actually, at check-in, too.

Sure, it's dated, but in a good, down-the-shore way. Everything is clean and well taken care of, and you can't beat the location. Everything downtown in walking distance. Throw in the overall wonderfulness (is that a word?) of Stone Harbor and Seven Mile Beach, and you can't go wrong at the Lark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The staff are really what makes this place. A flash right out of the 60's
We will be back. And although we saw many other fancy places the Lark is still our preferrence. Book early as they are sold out nightly even in the off season

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent the last week of August at the Lark and we were very pleased as usual. It was our 4th stay and we are never disappointed. The rooms are super clean, the pool is in great shape and the staff are very friendly. Harry even attempted to speak french to my aunt and cousing who joined us this year from Montreal. The location is AAA right in the centre of Stone Harbor and a 3 minute walk to the beach. Very good value and always feel welcome. Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laflin, PA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at The Lark. The owners and staff were accommodating, friendly and very informative. The Lark is very clean and walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. When we go to the Jersey shore, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gretna, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was old and outdated. Something broke in or room and it took them all day to fix. No in room safe so we hung around all day while people went in and out of room. Our room was on the first floor and the owner was in the habit of propping open the pool gate with a piece of old garden hose because it made too much noise. How about get a plastic one that is not so noisy rather than put my child at risk? We would not recommend the Lark.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Motel

Address: 9800 Second Avenue, PO Box 306, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1968. We are located just a block away from Stone Harbors clean, safe beaches, restaurants, miniature golf, shopping district and many more water sports and activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Stone Harbor
Lark Motel Stone Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lark Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.