We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reeds at Shelter Haven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Reeds at Shelter Haven to your Saves list
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9601 Third Avenue, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here this weekend. The place is gorgeous, comfortable, and accommodating. Everyone there is happy to be there from the workers to the guests. Valet and check-in were efficient. Our room was gorgeous, the floors! the bedding! the a/c on the ceiling! the bathrooms! We ordered just dessert for room service the first evening and not a problem with that. There were weddings both nights so we felt at times, well I did, underdressed or like wedding crashers but that was just us. Sometimes you can't ie be on the deck if the cocktail hour is taking place there but it's only temporary. And they said the summer months will not have weddings. We never heard the wedding guests from our room. The food especially the guacamole with crab was amazing! and the specialty drinks the like 96 St martini was as well! Best place for a sunset. Was even surprised they had a tiny dipping pool (nice touch) on the 2nd floor which we did not use. This place although pricey would be amazing in the summer months especially with the golf carts to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Gorgeous, comfortable, accommodating -- you've covered everything we aim for and more, so thank you! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and look forward to sharing this with the team. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
37
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely 3 day stay here. Everything was top-notch: the room furniture and finishes, bed linens and towels (super soft Frette sheets and towels) and the view was great; everything was super clean and neat. We didn't want to leave! The staff was friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good as well, though a bit pricey as one would expect from this type of hotel. Overall, for the price we paid it was great value (probably since it was right before high season), but we could easily see this place going for much more money during the high season summer months. We would definitely stay here again, as others have mentioned you can drive around the charming towns in the Cape May area, a lot of history. Do take note though, there is no hotel parking lot so you have to park on the street. At the time we went (end of April) the meters were not on, so it's free parking everywhere but they were turning them on May 1st. Also, the town of Stone Harbor is very small and quaint but while we were there not a lot of restaurants and stores were open, but I'm sure in the summer months it has to be more busy. So you might have to drive out if you want a selection of different types of food.

Room Tip: Rooms with a bay view are lovely, worth paying the small difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Wow, where do we begin? Thank you so much for your thoughtful, five-star review, Stephanie. We are thrilled to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking a moment to share this with others on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us and we hope we'll get the chance to welcome you back soon! When you do return, please keep in mind that we offer complimentary valet parking for all of our overnight guests during the season.

Take care,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've had the wonderful opportunity to enjoy The Reeds At Shelter Haven on two occasions, once by myself and once with the love of my life...my husband. This diamond (boutique hotel) among other similar diamonds in the area is simply FLAWLESS!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our bright sunny room that overlooked the center of the town on one side and a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thrilled to hear both stays with us have been simply flawless, Cher! This is precisely our goal, so thank you for sharing. It's always a treat to see a familiar face, so we hope you'll come back again soon.

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for a night over the Easter weekend with 3 young children. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was nicely decorated and the location is ideal for exploring Cape May County. While it may be considered higher end from a price perspective, you definitely get what you pay for, and we will return.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Tom,

We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us over Easter. Thank you so much for the five star review!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

To Whom It May Concern,
Within the last 24 hours I have gone from being excited and making a =
reservation to being disappointed on many levels. It was with good =
intent that I made a reservation for three nights at your hotel.=20

My 24 year old daughter has been through hell and back with near death, =
left side paralyses and brain surgery over the last 17 months. I have =
attached her website and UPMC commercial currently airing for your =
reference.=20

=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Da90wS_-6oLs&list=3DUUieWcGaXf-a2z0ADF-OoC=
qQ =20

Website: http://heathersfight.com/

This was going to be the first break in almost two years for my wife and =
I. To come to Stone Harbor where we have always loved to vacation and =
relax.=20

I paid $724.64 to Expedia for the three night stay. Fully aware of their =
no cancellation policy.=20

Unfortunately our daughter who has been doing great and regaining some =
function took a turn for the worse this morning. Out of pure desperation =
I called your hotel and talked to a manager. Who informed me that he =
sympathized with my situation, but, because I had made my reservation =
through Expedia that "there was nothing that he could do".=20

As a last resort I called Expedia and the customer service =
representative could not have been more sympathetic and willing to =
contact your hotel directly to see under these very sad circumstances if =
he could get your hotel to release the reservation and issue a full =
refund or at least maintain a credit for a future stay. After being on =
hold waiting for the Expedia representative to return from his =
conversations with your group, he came back and apologized. Stating =
that, "Expedia was willing credit the entire amount, but your company =
would only allow i

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I can only begin to comprehend the emotional roller coaster your family has been through over the past few months. I am so happy that we were able to talk last week to resolve all of your concerns. We have refunded your entire stay under these circumstances and hope that you can visit The Reeds later this year. We look forward to having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel ranks 10 stars as far as we are concerned. Everything, from the staff, to the rooms, to the restaurant food was way, way above average. The rooms were quiet and well appointed. We were there the first week end in April for our anniversary and it was such an enjoyable experience. There seems to be a wedding almost every weekend, but don't let that deter you. By ten o'clock the music is turned off and there is a peaceful quiet. We were right over the ballroom and and surprisingly the sound level of the music was not unbearable. The sheets are heavenly as is the mattress. The front desk staff was the friendliest we have encountered in quite a while; they couldn't do enough for us. The food was outstanding; especially the steak. As a matter of fact, we are heading to Avalon for two weeks this summer and plan on having dinner at the Reeds several times.
Parking is also handled quite efficiently by the valet service the hotel runs.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed everything from the food to the staff, JB. Thank you for taking a moment to share this with others! We greatly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back this summer. Happy Anniversary!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Recently stayed at the Reeds with my girlfriend, my brother, and his fiancee and all four of us agree that the accommodations were perfect. We had an absolutely amazing time. Everything from the luxury bedding to the room service was impeccable. Keith and Beth at the front desk were great and helped book our rooms and change rooms during our stay. The off season room rates were more than reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting the shore. While the rooms might be a little more expensive than anywhere else on the island, they are essentially brand new and of much better quality. The place is very clean as well. You won't deal with any of the sandiness that is so typically of jersey shore hotels.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra dollars for the corner rooms they are well worth it. While you don't get a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful five-star review! I'm thrilled to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay and look forward to passing along your compliments to the team, Keith and Beth included. It's our sincere hope that we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Take care,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reeds at Shelter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reeds at Shelter Haven

Address: 9601 Third Avenue, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reeds at Shelter Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reeds at Shelter Haven is a signature 37-room hotel resort intimately connected to its natural surroundings – with a blend of sweeping waterfront views and refined interior aesthetics, complemented by clean, contemporary décor splashed with coastal style. The property is designed for individuals seeking a new and distinctive experience along the southern New Jersey coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Reeds at Shelter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reeds at Shelter Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.