We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite motel in Stone Harbor, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Lodge

Colonial Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Lodge
Save
You added Colonial Lodge to your Saves list
93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Central, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favorite motel in Stone Harbor, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Colonial Lodge in Stone Harbor is the BEST!!

The lodge is clean, near to the beach and afforable!!

Another lodging option is the Risely Guest House located on First Avenue. This guest house room includes continential breakfast with lodging. Sit and relax on the porch as you enjoy your morning coffee

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We were looking for a great place for a family of 4. The colonial lodge is very charming and clean with newly renovated rooms. Very nice! We wanted an excellent location and we got it. Just a short block to the beach. The property has an outdoor shower, clothes line, bike rack in a cozy surrounding. So this made our daily trips to the beach very easy. We were on the bottom floor so we were able to easily come in and out with all of our stuff daily. We also rode our bikes a lot, and the town of Stoneharbor is very nice for that. I was very pleased with the rooms, and even more pleased with the super sweet management and staff!! We didn't bring chairs, and ended up renting them from the hotel at only $3 each. This place is very quiet though, so our family may have been a little loud for typical residents there. My husband and I sat in the center courtyard one night and had wine under a full moon...that was beautiful. What a great time! Excellent value.

  • Liked — The charm, cleanliness of rooms...proximity to beach.
  • Disliked — A little too quiet for us.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed at this motel on July 12, 2008. This lovely motel was one of the few that was flexible in its 2 to 3 day minimum stay rule and allowed us to stay just one night. We found others that would not allow it with large vacancy signs in front of their places, so the Colonial's flexibility was greatly appreciated. And what a lovely surprise! The owner, Lara, was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a nice size, with 2 queen size beds. The room was decorated tastefully, with lots of attention to small details, such as chair and crown molding. It looked freshly painted. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the owner loaned us a hairdryer, saying that all rooms would soon have them. The motel is located only a block from the beach and right near the center of Stone Harbor, so no need to move the car to go to Uncle Bill's Pancake House or Springer's Ice Cream. We were allowed an early check-in, and loaned beach tags before we checked in and after check-out. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat. The rate we paid was $198 + tax a night. For the Jersey shore in prime location...in Stone Harbor and on the edge of Avalon, it was great. Much nicer than the last place we stayed in Ocean City.

  • Liked — Its location and the friendliness of the proprietor. Also their flexibility in relaxing their 2 to 3-day minimum stay.
  • Disliked — Early check-out - 11 a.m.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

What a wonderful surprise! We are so accustomed to staying at beach hotels that smell musty and are generally falling to pieces -- even the high end resorts tend to leave something to be desired. So although we read all the reviews of the Colonial Lodge, we weren't really expecting much. But it was just delightful! It turns out we had the smallest room on the property, but it was perfectly adequate for us. Maybe not extra spacious, but certainly roomy enough. Everything was beautifully decorated and spotless -- definitely not your normal hotel quality furnishings. And you couldn't ask for a better location.... 2 easy blocks off the beach, and about 3 blocks from the quaint little shopping district.

OK, If I had to pick something to complain about, there are 3 things: the shower head (miserable spray!!), the freebie soap (too small) and no iron anywhere on the property (fortunately, another guest brought an iron and allowed us to borrow it if we helped them unload -- wait a second, who got the better deal here??!!) but heck, for all the pluses of this property (especially in relation to its price), aren't these silly things to complain about?!!?. The lady at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, as were all the other visitors we met as we enjoyed sitting out on the verandah.

It took us a while to get our schedule to match the off-season restaurant hours ... but the two restaurants that we did find we were wonderful. Donna's Restaurant offers an early bird lobster tail and filet special for $13.95, and it was worth every penny. Smallish servings, but quite tasty. And the Italian Garden has a pizza crust / stromboli that is out of this world.

It's hard to imagine that we'd ever again want to drive 10 hours to go to the Jersey shore when we can be at the North Carolina coast in 2 hours -- but that's how much we liked this place. Very highly recommend it!

  • Liked — LOcation and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

Stayed in the Colonial for one night, Aug 3, while visiting some friends in Avalon. Amazed by how nice it was. Usually Jersey Shore motels are ok, if not a little seedy. This one was super clean, had new bedding and furnishings and was really tastefully decorated. The Colonial theme carries over to the beautiful molding in the rooms, the wallpaper and the pretty, old fashioned black hardware on the doors to the rooms. The outside has a really nice slate patio where I sat and enjoyed the flowers with my coffee in the morning. Other guests are really quiet, so its definately not a place to party, but you wont hear people all night either. The rooms/barthrooms are pretty tight, not a lot of space at all really, but its so clean and nice you wont care. Pricey on the weekends but during the week it was pretty reasonable and I'll definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge

Address: 93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Stone Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Stone Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.