We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot imagine you are in the US...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woolverton Inn to your Saves list
Woolverton Inn
6 Woolverton Road, Stockton, NJ 08559   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mid Week Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cannot imagine you are in the US...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Or the fact that this place is an hour from Philadelphia! Spent the most beautiful weekend there this past week...the whole place looks like it belongs in the English countryside. Maybe it was since we had the Garden cottage and the decor screamed english countryside chic! Complete opposite of our usual contemprary taste, but it worked.

So, for an Inn, the room was nice, as usually they are a bit cheesy, even the nicest ones. Please don't expect four seasons slick-ness; it is very homey. What truly puts this at a four star for me:
- Amazing private garden that no other room has...we saw the other suites and they all have either covered porches or the cutest adirondack chairs, but nothing like breakfast and the NY times in your own country garden
- Breakfast- fantastic! We had delivered to the room everyday and it was perfect...
- The grounds: while not immense, perfect to stroll around. A bottle of wine, the Inn's cheese plate on the Inn's main patio, or facing the corn fields near the sheep- out of a magazine. The innkeepers were so nice and the free goodies are delectable
- Activities: no brainer to get the bikes delivered to your room. It is a nominal fee to have them ready for you in the am, and then u just leave them there at the end of day. We are not bikers, but the bike path along the river was easy and very scenic. We biked to the Black bass hotel for lunch, would highly recommend it! We also biked back from the hotel to Lamberstville- about 8 miles or so. There was one rough patch, but overall very pretty.

So all in all, an amazing getaway given the proximity to the city. Back to nature with the option of a two person jacuzzi...perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    30
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
149
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southeast Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After several stress-filled months, my husband and I were ready for a weekend get-away. We had been interested in visiting the New Hope/Lambertville area and used Trip Advisor to find a B & B. The reviews for the Woolverton Inn did not steer us wrong. Every part of our stay suited us down to the ground. We stayed in the Hunterdon, one of the cottage suites. Some B & B's use forced perspective in their room photos to give the impression of a larger space. The Hunterdon was as roomy as the photos indicated. The bathroom was fully furnished with a double shower and double whirlpool tub.
And the hospitality! The breakfasts were utterly delicious, with fresh orange juice, perfectly ripe fruit, scrumptious quick breads and entrees that hit the spot. Our hosts were gracious and welcoming, chatty without being pushy or intrusive. We found ourselves needing a small snack one evening, before heading out for dinner. My husband asked for a few crackers, but we were presented with a "mini" sample of their amazing cheeses. We were even more pleasantly surprised to be told the platter of goodies was "on the house"
Are they expensive? Yes, but so are nearly all the quality accommodations in this area. My husband and I chose to use the main part of our vacation budget on the room, while finding lower-budget points of interest and restaurants for the trip (we recommend the Golden Nugget Flea Market, and the Howell Living History farm). My only regret is that hot and steamy weather prevented us from strolling around the grounds of the Inn.
Do yourself a favor, and book a room at this lovely and charming inn.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a cottage suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

First time in area and wanted all the must see's checked off. This Inn is perfect , you drive down scenic roads and through quaint towns right up thier long driveway and come to see the stately house a beautiful classic barn and expansive grounds . Being a wedding photographer for years I thought this place would be perfect for a venue ! We stayed in the Inn on the top floor and our room looked out to grounds where the black sheep grazed-adorable. The place has old world charm but isnt dusty, if you know what I mean, it has character meaning a bit peeling paint but nothing that isnt expected with an old place but has nice sheets and duvet.We strolled the grounds with coffee cup in hand around the perimeter which they have a little walking path by. You can see the farmland and the sheep with the house in behind. I see they have other newer buildning that I presume are suites that look really nice and again a nice add if your organizing a wedding.Id have the ceremony by the big barn that has a grassy slope overlooking the farmland -just say'n !Loved the breakfast as well great little room and I enjoyed the homemade biscotti when we arrived late .I checked out the other rooms as we went off season and they all were gorgeous .

Room Tip: We faced the front of the mansion with the sheep are kept with the view of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I took our short honeymoon here in late June. The Garden Cottage was excellent, private eating area and whirlpool were great, not the mention the outstanding breakfast each morning.

The Inn keepers were very attentive to our needs and gracious to our requests. I got the romantic getaway package in addition, which was a good choice. Thanks again for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I had an exceptional stay at the Woolverton Inn in Stockton, NJ. The setting was idyllic...putting us into an instant state of 'calm.' Bob, one of the two owners of the Inn, greeted us with such kindness. He treated us like family! We made some special requests for the night, and Bob met our requests without batting an eye. He was exceptional! Caroline, the other owner of the Inn, was such a warm and kind woman. The breakfast we ate was scratch made, and absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Garden Cottage, that is ideal for dog owners.The little touches in our room made us smile. There were dog treats, and dog bowls for our little Puggle pup, juices and beverages in the refrigerator for us to enjoy at no extra cost, and Aveda products in the washroom. Our room looked like it came right out of the Country Living Magazine. The decorating was charming! The room was spacious and homey, and our bed was incredibly comfortable. The private patio off of our room, made our cottage seem all the more big, and the 2 person jacuzzi tub and two person shower added a luxury factor. We will be recommending the Woolverton Inn to our family and friends, and we fully intend to return in the near future for a getaway weekend.

Room Tip: The Garden Cottage is ideal for dog owners. It is separate from the main house, so no one is bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We just got back from celebrating our 10th anniversary at the Woolverton Inn. I planned the trip last minute as a surprise for my husband. We stayed at the Inn one night after spending the day in Hamilton, NJ at Grounds for sculpture (about 40 min away) and having dinner at Rat's restaurant. The next day we would go to Fonthill and New Hope. All in all the weekend jaunt worked out well. The Inn was built in 1792 and is very peaceful and tranquil, with a gorgeous porch and patio area. We arranged for a late arrival and were emailed instructions on how to check in. The keys and instructions were exactly as stated. We spent some time on the patio at night, drinking champagne. Though the Inn was full, we were the only ones around, it felt like it was our own place! Not sure if everyone else retired to their rooms early or were out, as it was only around 9:00pm. Our room was Stockton's Hideaway, which was a bit smaller then it looked on the website, but its still a decent size. It had a nice window seat overlooking the patio and a gas fireplace (which we didn't use since it was summer) The bathroom was large and had a nice size whirlpool tub which fit two comfortably. It's a great place to relax, read a book, walk around the grounds, feed the sheep, converse with your spouse, etc. The room was a bit pricey, but probably about average for any decent rooms in the New Hope area. I would recommend it for couples that aren't expecting any "planned activities" and want to get away from it all. I was also happy there was no TV. The only turnoff was when we were relaxing on the porch and the owner(?) asked us if we checked out of our room yet (we did). I guess she was concerned because they had someone else coming in, but I think she could have discreetly found out if we checked out first, then if we didn't check out, nicely ask us to. I just thought it was a bit of a turnoff for her to ask. Even so, I would stay here again. I think it would be beautiful to go back in the winter when a big snowfall is predicted and just cuddle near the fireplace.

Room Tip: There are only 13 rooms at the Inn. If you have trouble climbing stairs, request a second floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend at Woolverton -- it was so peaceful and quiet. The sheep really graze in the pastures as shown on the website! Stockton, NJ is very close to New Hope where most of our activities were set, and I was so glad that we stayed at Woolverton rather than in downtown New Hope. The breakfasts and amenities were top notch, and the staff was very helpful with navigating the area. We would definitely return and perhaps opt for a slightly larger room next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Address: 6 Woolverton Road, Stockton, NJ 08559
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property, along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolverton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.