We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bell's Mansion

Bell's Mansion
11 Main St, Stanhope, NJ 07874 (Formerly Bells Mansion)
973 426 9977
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Stanhope
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: American, Polish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
hoosier in jersey
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Bells Mansion is one of our favorite places to visit. Nice atmosphere and interesting menu that changes often. The management team is always visible and makes it a point to greet customers. The food is often sparked by local produce and is presented in interesting dishes on the daily specials and the fixed menu. The drinks are generous and appealing. You can always count on a good meal from Bells!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Charged for Coffee Refills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Bell's Mansion is a beautiful old house very nice decorated. You can sit outside on the patio or in one of many parlors in the house. There is also a tap room with a beautiful bar which was originally from Pennsylvania.

The meal was very good. I had steak and my husband had pork. The steak was cooked perfectly. We had jalapeno pierogies as an appetizer and they were spicy enough to give you a little kick but not so spicy that you couldn't eat them. The dip they were served with added to the spiciness. For dessert, I had white chocolate mousse with raspberry topping. I love white chocolate mousse. This would have been a perfect dessert but it had a little too much raspberry on it. My mouth puckered eating it.

The prices are fair for the type of restaurant, except for the kicker...they charge for coffee refills. Very few restaurants do this and, when they do, we don't return to that restaurant again. You're already charging $2.50 or so (not sure exactly what they charged) for a small cup of coffee. There is no reason to charge $2.50 every time that small cup is refilled. In addition, the first two cups were bad as the coffee was old. The third cup was decent as it was a new pot.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Wonderful dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Bells was recommended by B&B owners and it turned out to be just right. Good menu items and the crab cakes were great. Surprisingly good wine list at very moderate prices. Rich, our waiter, was fantastic.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Country Style Decor and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We went on a Friday night for the first time and were very impressed with the warm and welcoming converted old house that was this restaurant. Service was friendly and food was very good. Entrees were the cedar plank salmon, sesame crusted tuna and a boneless half chicken special along with a classic caesar salad and mussels in garlic and white wine sauce for starters. Prices were fair and expected, and the food was properly prepared and nicely plated. Portion sizes were filling. Overall, an impressive dining experience and will definitely go again. I must say that since one in our party eats traditional only, we really appreciated having the caesar salad and the chocolate ganache cake dessert on the menu, which made this dinner out more enjoyable than our recent visit to Krave restaurant. And, as strange as this may sound, the restroom styling reminded us of our visit to the Bofinger Brasserie on Rue Bastille in Paris. Odd are those things that trigger old memories.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored Mansion with Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This restaurant and bar is a short walking distance from the Whistling Swan Inn located in Stanhope. There are several eating areas including an enclosed porch and dining rooms. In addition there is a separate bar which has early evening happy hours. The entire building and landscape have been restored to its past glory.
Both the dinner and service were excellent and prices were reasonable. I had the sauteed salmon special with and artichokes and pirogies. My wife decided to eat "light" and had a sandwich large enough to take home half for lunch the next day.
A large parking lot is available behind the restaurant. When in the Stanhope area, I recommend that you eat here. Dress is casual.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Bell's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell's Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.