We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Whistling Swan Inn to your Saves list
Whistling Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   110 Main St., Stanhope, NJ 07874   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Orange
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B, but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Very nice B&B. Beautifully decorated. Quite neighborhood, but there is a very nice
restaurant a short walk down the street. Nice bike trail nearby.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    19
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
108
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We chose it because it was equidistant to 3 wineries, but it turned out to be so much better. It was both relaxing and energizing with a no-problems stay and a spiritually refreshing reminder of some parts of life we'd let slide. One reviewer here got hung up on an awkward door lock. Sure, they're antique, but he's SO missing the big picture. It felt like we'd stayed in our benevolent great aunt's mansion (if, that is, she was a billionaire).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capemay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Stayed in B&Bs all over Europe. This is best in NY Metro area. Innkeeper Liz was gracious and informative. Suggested great restaurant down the road. Last minute reservation to visit my son. The Rose Room was beautiful and comfortable. Loved her Saturday Dinner Dance. Attended the same internship which her innkeeping skills. Food is wonderful as Liz is a trained nutritionist. Plan to visit the next time I visit my son. Innkeeper even sent bak glasses left in room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in the HIgh Point Suite - very comfortable and well-appointed room. The staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfasts were extensive, lots of variety, and high in quality - we particularly enjoyed eating on the fabulous porch. Clean throughout the inn - convenient parking - helpful service - valuable advice - first class in all respects. -Bob&Myra

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Checkin was fast and efficient. The room was called great meadow I believe and was very nice. We liked the steamy showers and nice robes. Had wireless access and a snack bar, cookies. Breakfast was tasty. Sussex Bike trail is fairly close.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Liz has the perfect hardware (steam showers, goodies, treats, sodas in the fridge, fluffy robes), everything your heart could desire. She also knew that my wife and I had planned a special quiet anniversary weekend at her inn and a couple restaurants in the area. We always try to be the best guests and make nice talk at breakfast and at tea time (the was no tea time at the Swan). Liz is just not into that (no "soft"ware!) and spent the entire time we were present talking to another guest (ONE other guest). She did nothing more than required to accommodate us - hardly acknowledging our presence until it came time to pay the bill. (Note: two other guests mentioned the same issue to us without provocation!) Also, I think it inappropriate for an innkeeper to permit one guest to take over the dining room table, or another guest to take over the entire first floor (wonderful living room, dining room, breakfast room, etc.) for a party in such a way that the common rooms were not available for reading talking, and socializing . The innkeeper is rude (as someone else mentioned) and needs to get her software fixed. The inn could use some help in its landscaping, too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizswan, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2009
At the Whistling Swan Inn we always strive to Inn always try to meet the needs of each and every one of our guests.

I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I thought your wife was unhappy when I greeted her at breakfast on Sunday and she did not return the greeting (but), instead walked directly out to the porch.

I wondered how we possible got off track. On Saturday I was talking to a couple (2) at breakfast and I was trying to include you in the conversation. Then your wife got a phone call and I thought it was odd that she never returned to the breakfast table.

Holding the tea party inside the house was a very unusual situation. If you had known the circumstances behind the tea party in the house on Saturday, you might not have made those remarks on Tripadvisor. An outdoor bridal shower was booked for Saturday for 1pm-3: 30pm. We always have the showers on the porch (rain or shine) and it has never been a problem in the past. We host showers from May 15 to Sept 15 on our porch. About 11:00 am the weather report put out a warning of possible severe thunderstorms with damaging winds between 1-3pm. Faced with that news I felt it was necessary to bring the party inside for the safety of our guests.

If left to make the decision again I would make the same one. I would never knowingly jeopardize the safety of anyone. If you were offended I apologize, but I had no other option. Would you have the front two parlors occupied for 2 ½ hours or put sixteen ladies at risk on the porch?

I did not quite understand the problem with my two guests using the dining room on Friday and was unaware that you wanted to use the room. At 11am they were the only 2 guests checked into the Inn. They asked me very nicely if they could use the dining room because they had come to the Inn to get away from their children and try to catch up with some paperwork. There were only two couples checking in between 2- 5pm and both sets of guests were having massages starting at 3:30pm. Guests never use the dining room in the afternoon.

As far as the landscaping, I agree it needs work. I spent three hours today trying to pull weeds, remove tiny trees popping up everywhere and trying to get the garden to look organized. Nineteen straight days of rain have derailed my landscaping chores. I work very hard to have a beautiful garden. I am sure everyone’s landscaping is looking weather worn at this point.

As I said, my staff, and I personally, make every effort to provide a wonderful Inn experience for our guests. Our goal is to provide a warm and relaxing atmosphere where each guest feels comfortable and has an opportunity to meet and socialize with others who are staying at the Inn. Obviously in your case that did not happen. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

My husband & I are from Northwest Indiana. We took 2 weeks and drove through New England. We stayed in Bed & Breakfasts & Inns all along our route. We visited New Jersey because we have our daughter, son in law and 1st grandson there, before heading back home.
The Whistling Swan Inn was wonderful. We enjoyed our walk through little downtown Stanhope, the evening we arrived.
A superb breakfast on the wrap around porch, overlooking the garden was beautiful.
We would've loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Address: 110 Main St., Stanhope, NJ 07874
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stanhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan Inn is an elegantly restored 1905 Queen Anne Victorian mansion. Nestled in the village of Stanhope, NJ in the Skylands region of the state, the inn offers 5 distinctively decorated rooms and 4 suites, furnished in antiques and reproductions. Voted one of the "top 10 best inns in the US" by Inn Traveler magazine, the Whistling Swan Inn combines the charm of a bygone era with the modern conveniences today's guests require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Whistling Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Stanhope

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.