We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Whistling Swan Inn to your Saves list
Whistling Swan Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   110 Main St., Stanhope, NJ 07874   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This review is a little late in coming. . . I stayed here with my girlfriend for our anniversary in December. We decided on the Whistling Swann mainly due to the proximity, we are from the area and wanted to spend as much time as possible relaxing and as little time as possible driving. We had no idea such a great place was so close by!

We stayed in the Harmony sweet and it was fantastic. We especially loved the fireplace in the bathroom and the pillow top bed made it hard to get up and do anything. (in a good way)

The innkeeper was very nice and hospitable, the cookies in the lounge area were delicious and breakfast was great and a nice home made touch.

I live in Hoboken and less than an hour of the city who knew such a great getaway existed. We can't wait to come back in the summer so we can walk around and enjoy the outdoors as well.

It was also nice and refreshing to have a place that offered a military discount, with this economy it seems like less and less places are offering it and every little bit helps on our military budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    18
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
103
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just got back from a quick weekend getaway at the Whistling Swan Inn. It's a really cozy B&B in a tranquil little town. The old Victorian house is decorated in the time period and the rooms are comfortable and nice. We stayed in the Stillwater room which had a jacuzzi tub and king size bed. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our time there. The owners made us feel welcome from the second we got there. Would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Whistling Swan Inn on a Saturday night after hiking nearby. The inn is cozy, clean, and the innkeeper was very friendly and informative. She explained that she and her husband had just taken over the inn a week before, so I think they were still in the learning stages, but it didn't appear that they had changed much immediately (although I hadn't stayed there before, I really couldn't tell).

There were snacks, coffee, tea, and a fridge full of sodas and water in the parlor, which was nice. We stayed in the Morris Canal Room. It was definitely small, but laid out well and we spent a good deal of time hanging out in the room and never felt too closed in. The electric fireplace was a fun touch and the bed was very comfortable. The iron was missing from our room, which I needed, and we tried to get a hold of the innkeeper and couldn't. There were instructions to call "10" from the phone, but there was no phone in the room. Later, we realized that the phone was on the front desk, but that was not made clear.

Breakfast is served buffet-style, which was fine, however it was a little awkward in the dining room. There was not much room at the table to sit comfortably with the other guests, and there was an awkward silence. Our room was too small to eat in, and looking back we wished we taken our breakfast into the parlor. The strada, however, was very tasty. Not my favorite breakfast, but it was definitely good.

Overall, we had a very good experience and I would definitely stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Whistling Swan a couple of months ago. We just had our second child and were looking for a quick, romantic getaway. Generally, for us, the location of the B&B is just as important and the B&B itself, but for this mini-vacation we were simply looking for something convenient. Liz was a good hostess. She provided us with some information prior to our arrival (via email) and was very welcoming once we got to the B&B.

We stayed in the High Pointe Suite, which was nice, but an odd layout. The owners make good use of the unique space, but something about it wasn't as romantic/cozy as other B&B suites we've stayed in. In the morning, we enjoyed breakfast on the large patio, although, the home across from the B&B doesn't exactly make for a romantic setting (a bit rundown). Breakfast was good, but not the best B&B breakfast I've had.

All in all, the Whistling Swan was a good destination for what we were looking for - convenience.

Also, for dinner, I highly recommend Andre's in Newton - about a 20 minute drive from the inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tranquility
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is not your usual review since I am an employee, not a guest. However, the owner, Liz is a great cook and a wonderful host. Even after 5 years, I am still impressed by the rooms. Liz continually makes upgrades such as the recent renovation of the Harmony room into the Harmony Suite with the addition of a second 'spa' room. The décor of the rooms frequently change with new comforters and drapes. The public areas are decorated for each season. There is a large garden area with several seating areas and a fantastic covered wrap around porch with rocking chairs and a two-person hammock. If you are staying in the Skylands area of New Jersey this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want romance try the Walnut Valley Suite. It has a lounge area, Jacuzzi, king bed and two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived and were shown to our room only to find that the room we where suppose to have was taken and we had a much smaller room. The B&B proprietors showed use our reservation that they received from Travelocity and sure enough it was for the smaller room. After calling Travelocity and dealing with them on the phone for over 30 minutes they made arrangements for use to get a room upgrade. Once arriving after dinner back to the B&B we found out that Travelocity had given the B&B a credit card to pay for our room upgrade that was declined.

In short the Whistling Swan Inn was excellent & Staff very understanding and lovely but I would beware of using Travelocity to book again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

On Saturday night, July 30th, my wife and I stayed at the Whisling Inn on our way from Richmond, Virginia, to our family home on Martha's Vineyard. We chose the Whistling Swan because we'd stayed there a number of years ago. Once again we found the inn to be delightful in every way. Liz welcomed us warmly and made us feel as if we'd returned home. As it turned out that weekend, she was leaving for vacation and a delightful inn sitter couple was in charge on Sunday and they were delightful as well. This time we had the smallest room which still was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. The breakfast was served buffet style and offered a delicious array of items that we enjoyed on the porch wheer we met some delightful other guests.

This inn has all the nice things that make for a first class B&B. One particularly nice feature is a gathering room with all kinds of ammeities including snacks, freshly baked cookies, a refrigerator with cold drinks, and coffee and tea were available anytime which was especially nice as we are early risers and to have delicious coffee available even before breakfast was a real treat.

For those who collect those beautiful Deneen Pottery coffee mugs featured by many country inns, these mugs are available at the Whistling Swan together with many other attractive items in a corner of the room with all the ammenities. Somehow, coffe tastes better in those mugs!

The entire inn is first class and the rates are reasonable. Nice restaurants are nearby including the Belle Mansion where we had a delicious dinner that night. Upon returnin to our comfortable room we enjoyed a DVD from their extensive collection of available DVD's. A great stay and we look forward to returning. Our only regret was that our stay was only for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Address: 110 Main St., Stanhope, NJ 07874
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stanhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan Inn is an elegantly restored 1905 Queen Anne Victorian mansion. Nestled in the village of Stanhope, NJ in the Skylands region of the state, the inn offers 5 distinctively decorated rooms and 4 suites, furnished in antiques and reproductions. Voted one of the "top 10 best inns in the US" by Inn Traveler magazine, the Whistling Swan Inn combines the charm of a bygone era with the modern conveniences today's guests require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whistling Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Stanhope

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistling Swan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.