We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comedy show, horrible food/restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of scotty's steak house

scotty's steak house
595 morris ave, Springfield, NJ
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 47 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great comedy show, horrible food/restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place should close - the comedy show is decent, but it can survive on it's own with just a drink minimum. The food is beyond horrible. You cannot call this place a steak house - I ordered a medium steak and it came beyond well done. My husband had a rack of ribs and it looked like it was cooked 3 weeks ago & just heated up for our dinner. Will not be returning here & cannot recommend anyone else come here for food. Service stinks too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not a fan!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have never been impressed with the food at Scotties. They only reason I come back are the HUGE old school mugs you can get your beers in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Blow this place up!!!! Place is disgusting with dirty worn carpets and dirty eating environment. Food and service is horrible. This place could be a winner with a big investment but this place has been a dump for the last 20 years.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We decided to try someplace new for Mother's Day. I called for a reservation the day before, was put on hold for 6 minutes, then told to call back 15 minutes later which was my first mistake. I did make a reservation and was asked for a credit card to hold it and that it would be charged if we did not show up. Second mistake. We arrived on time to a restaurant which had only a few tables occupied. The food was average (buffet), our waitress was difficult to find (maybe the 20% which was already tacked on to the bill had something to do with it), the ladies room on the dining floor was out of order (there was one available up a flight of stairs), the 20% tip was added to the drinks we ordered rather than just the buffet which the menu stated, our waitress did not inform us of drink specials. Needless to say we will not return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed scotty's steak house also viewed

Springfield, NJ
Springfield, NJ
 
Springfield, NJ
Springfield, NJ
 

Been to scotty's steak house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage scotty's steak house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.