We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooray for independents” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jose's Mexican food

Jose's Mexican food
101 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
(732) 974-8080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hooray for independents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is not a Chain, YEA !! No Gimmicks, No Fakes, just honest to goodness real Mexican food !! We the public should support more mom & pop restuarants for authentic ethnic meals.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great salsa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hole-in-the-wall place. Their salsa is wonderful. Good vegetarian choices. My family that lives in the area gets takeout from Jose's all the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Jose cooks authentic Mexican food at his restaurant in Spring Lake Heights. The three of us came for dinner on Friday evening, and got a table immediately. As soon as we sat, they served us some chips and salsa sauce to dip while waiting for our food. My husband ordered the Beef Burrito, that was filled with beans and rice. My friend who recommended Jose, ordered Cheese Quesadilla with guacamole. My choice was the Tostadas with shrimp and guacamole. Jose is a relatively inexpensive restaurant, that gives you a large portion in every dish . All the food was very tasty, full with unique flavors and made on the spot. You actually see from the open counter how the food is being made- so it's definitely fresh. It was not our first time here, and definitely not the last.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not authentic mexican food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The food like tex mex. Food o.k. but not authentic. For tex mex I prefer El Meson and for really mexican food Cielito Lindo.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Canned Cheese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Yuk, who puts canned cheese on Mexican food? The place is not very clean and the food is not Mexican but more like lousey Tex-Mex. Don't get me wrong, good tex-mex can be great but this just isn't it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Mexican food also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Jose's Mexican food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose's Mexican food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.