We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best b&b I have ever visited” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Lilac Inn to your Saves list
White Lilac Inn
414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the best b&b I have ever visited”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the white lilac. I was extremely disappointed in the place. When you stay at a b&b you expect fancy, clean, and old finishes. Instead they have cheap decorations and finishes. The carpets have noticeable pee stains from pets and overall you don't feel like you are somewhere nice. The breakfast was also cheap, eggs and an
English muffin! Come on have options of something like waffles, French toast or something that cost more then $2 at dunkin donuts. The inn keeper seemed nice but would not let us borrow beach badges for the day because they are for the day you check in not out, but check in is 11 so if you are a
Morning beach person and plan on going to the beach the day you check out plan on buying beach badges. Room was the size of a walk in closet with no space for luggage. Overall we had a great time in. Spring lake but it had nothing to do with our stay at the white lilac

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    20
    4
    8
    0
See reviews for
14
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently spent a few days at the White Lilac and had a wonderful time. It's the second time we've stayed there and this visit was a great as the last one two years ago. Clean, charming and a great staff. We stayed in the "room on the top" which was great and had a large balcony. If your looking for a nice B&B experience in Spring Lake, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed at the "Room At The Top". Romantic, whirlpool and a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I wanted a overnight retreat from our busy lives and picked this inn from the web site. We were not disappointed. It is truly a well kept, clean, and inviting place to stay. Our room even had a small balcony! The inviting little refreshment area on the 1st floor was a nice touch. They have a bulletin board in this area with many things to do and see. The inn is decorated very nice and the grounds and parking lot are well kept. Definitely would recommend this place. Previous reviews mentioned the train "noise" and we both had to laugh. It is two blocks away, you are not next to a train yard! The beach is great! It has a beautiful boardwalk and it does not have that carnival atmosphere; games of chance, endless restaurants, bars, etc. We are planning to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I had such a great time! They accommodated our food allergies, place was clean, nicely located & the owners were super friendly. The coffee was delish - most B&Bs we have been to the coffee usually tastes like rusty water. We were well rested and refreshed! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We came to the inn on a complete whim and were lucky to find a room for one night! The inn has very relaxed atmosphere and old world charm! Mari is great and helpful and ready to help with reservations. We loved hanging around in the inn and walked around aimlessly and idled around the pretty inn. In spite of having spent one day we felt sated and rested! Great breakfast and they also allowed us a late checkout which gave us more time to just be! Lovely atmosphere, would do it again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our one-night stay was perfect. Host Mari was welcoming, accommodating, helpful with area sights. Our "room at the top" clean & comfortable, especially enjoyed the private deck. Wish we could have stayed one more night! We will return.

Room Tip: "Room at the Top"....private and spacious. Especially enjoyed the deck with lounge chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet,ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were looking for a different get away spot on the Jersey shore, and read many great reviews for the Lilac inn. They were all correct. The inn has a relaxed atmosphere, the staff was very accommodating, and Mari, the "inn keeper" was pleasant, friendly and very knowledgeable. Breakfast was great, and the Inn has thought of everything one might need from bikes to beach towels. Very pleasant and quiet location, near Spring Lake beach, not far from town. Definitely a good alternative to much more expensive and not nearly as nice hotels in the area. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Address: 414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lilac Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.