We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend Warmth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Lilac Inn to your Saves list
White Lilac Inn
414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Winter Weekend Warmth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful weekend at The White Lilac. The room was cozy, clean and comfortable. Mari and Laura were very helpful and prepared in offering evening dining choices. The breakfasts and snacks were wonderful and the was always a variety of snacks and beverages available. The sitting room was comfortable and there were a variety of books and DVDs for entertainment. A great place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    20
    4
    8
    0
See reviews for
14
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rutherford nj
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Mari,the owner and Laura the cook were very gracious hosts for our one night stay last night. The White Lilac is a 10 bedroom,beautiful victorian B+B situated in Spring Lake Heights NJ. I always get a kick out of seeing the worst reviews on the places I have stayed at-so to address them FYI-YES the train is fairly close by ,but it seems to stop around 11PM and it is not very noticeable at all in my opinion-so that's a non issue. The top floor bedroom we did not sleep in so I can't say how good or bad that room might be.We had the whole house to ourselves and it was still BEAUTIFULLY decorated for Christmas.We stayed in the 2nd floor suite,one of 2 and Mari upgraded us for free ,so that was very nice of her.The breakfast was very good blueberry pancakes prepared by the very pretty and sweet Laura. We are having a terrible cold snap here in NJ but Mari kept the house nice and warm.The room was nice and big and you can tell Mari thinks of everything,so all that you might need is supplied in the room AND instructions for this and that are right there to ,say, make the dvd player and tv work together properly.So this was my first B+B experience,so I didn't know what to expect but it was a VERY POSITIVE first experience.Kudos to Mari and her staff.

Room Tip: Your GPS may lead you down the wrong end of this discontinuous street-it dead-ends into the railroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Inn is beautiful,clean,and welcoming !!!!! The owner,and her staff are lovely and always very willing to help with anything !!!!! Breakfast and homemade Goodies in the afternoon are delicious.!!!! A truely wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill, new jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in many beds & breakfasts and the White Lilac Inn is one of the nicest ones we've ever stayed in. The inn was charming with a beautfiul room that all our friends could sit in together. The owner was very friendly and very accomodating. The breakfasts were very good. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed at a number of bed & breakfast places and this one is a great place to stay in Spring Lake, NJ.

The location is great too!! It's not far from the town of Spring Lake with its shops and restaurants or the beach. The town and the beach are actually within walking distance from the Inn, if you care to walk. Or, use a bike that Mari provides for transportation and exercise.

Mari and her staff were terrific! Professional, friendly and very accommodating.
Mari will provide you with a list of activities for in and around the area. The Spring Lake area is very beautiful, quiet and peaceful!!

All of the rooms are decorated nicely, very clean and comfortable. Just looking around the Inn or sitting out on the porch is an enjoyable experience of its own.

Special accommodations don't seem to be an issue either, just let Mari know and she will do whatever she can to help make your stay / visit an enjoyable one.

She always has snacks out and the kitchenette is nice and handy if you want to chill some wine or beer.
Breakfasts were delicious and presented nicely!

This was our first visit to the White Lilac Inn and we plan to return as soon as possible.
Jessica T.

Room Tip: Loved the Room at the Top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the White Lilac Inn many times over the years and the experience is always one that keeps us coming back. From the friendly innkeeper, always willing to make suggestions for things to do and see, to the courteous staff, we have always felt welcomed. The inn is charming with great common areas, and the rooms -- we have stayed in a different room each time--are lovely and comfortable. The location is terrific in one of the most beautiful towns on the Jersey shore. We enjoy staying at B&Bs wherever we travel, and the White Lilac is tops on the list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The White Lilac Inn is a terrific choice for a stay at the Jersey Shore. It's a respite from a busy, hectic life...quiet, eminently comfortable, charming, impecably clean and convenient to the beach or "downtown" Spring Lake. Not in the heart of town, but that's what makes it inviting. Mari, the innkeeper, has created a variety of guest rooms, each with a theme and reflecting her attention to detail, which is evident throughout the Inn. She and her staff are welcoming and always helpful, but not overly so...there when you need them but not imposing, with plenty of information for exploring the area. Don't miss this one...you won't be disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Address: 414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lilac Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.