We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this one” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Lilac Inn

Save Saved
You added White Lilac Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lilac Inn
414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

OK- first of all this is B&B is hard to find if you are not familiar with the area- and it is a little misleading about its location- ( almost Spring Lake Heights to a native)....a good healthy bike ride to the beach. Mari was very nice as were the girls that seved breakfast. Yes this is an old house and we stayed in the room on the top floor- not what I expected for almost $300 a night!@#$%%....the shower was tiny in fact my husband opened the shower door to get out and it hit the mirror behind it on the wall and broke it- cheap-o mirror and not a smart placement at all! The sink was in the main room and there was no place at all to put our travel case, make-up, etc. The use of space could have been better served- the sloped ceiling over the bed was funky and the matteras and sheets were not over the edge Ritz comfy- again this price in my experience dictates quality- if the Hampton Inn can do it- get with it guys. Do not expect a beach view from the balcony off this room- just an average residential "hood" nothing exciting.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs- stay away from the top floor room. Balcony a bit odd to get out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    15
    3
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
70
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the White Lilac Inn the weekend of my wedding and enjoyed it very much! Mari was warm, welcoming and super accommodating and made sure that we had all that we needed. The Inn is beautiful and very well-maintained. The rooms have such character and are so unique. Mari allowed us to take some nice photos as well in some of the common areas. We stayed at the Room at the Top, which had a sweet little balcony and nice little view. It was quiet, peaceful and perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the White Lilac Inn for a short visit to the Spring Lake area. The inn was really nice - clean, comfortable rooms with all of the necessities. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had beautiful weather which afforded us the opportunity to venture out on the bicycles available at the inn, and really explore the area. Breakfast was terrific and the dining area/breakfast room was lovely. A return visit is on our agenda.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful old B&B/Inn decorated with antiques. Mari and her staff were very charming and made you feel at home. We were allowed to use the large breakfast room for a pizza party in the evening for our Corvette club. An added plus was the excellent wifi access throughout the inn. We will be back for another visit. Dick & Del Barton

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of visiting the White Lilac Inn for a wedding in Septemer. It is a lovely bed and breakfast and we had a very enjoyable tiime. The dining area for breakfast was delightful and charming. Very light and aiy with lots of natural light and very typical of what you would imagine a B&B to be. Lots of tea cups, china, dishes, etc. which I always and most women would enjoy looking at. There is a kitchen area available with bottled water, snacks, wine glasses. While there are no mini fridges in the room you can put your wine, etc in the fridge and just need to label it. A mini fridge in the room would be a better arrangement. If I have to say a negative I would say that there were very few accessible outlets, perhaps more shelving in the bathroom for toiletries, etc.and not enought lighting in the room. Also it is several blocks from the ocean which may or may not be a concern for guests. For this trip we did not need to be near the ocean as the weekend was jam packed with wedding activities.

Mari, the innkeeper was very hospitable and friendly offering suggestions for dinner, offering to call and make reservations, directions, etc. After we had checked out we still had some time before we had to leave so Mari let us store our luggage and let us ride the bicycles to the wedding breakfast we had to go to. Mari even drove us to the train station which was very kind of her.

All in all it was a pleasant stay. We were there with other family members for this wedding and had an enjoyable visit. I would highly recommend this B&B if your in the Spring Lake area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at the WLI. Spring Lake is beautiful and the weather was still warm enough to swim in the ocean. The Inn is charming, with collectibles all over the place. Breakfast was DELICIOUS every morning
We would highly recommend staying there.
Mr. and Mrs. Mangan

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our Solid Axle Corvette Club built their fall social event around a Doo Wop concert being held at the Great Auditorium in Ocean Grove, NJ. With the concert as the starting point, the club then needed a place to stay. One of our members lives in the Spring Lake, NJ area and is friends with the owner of The White Lilac Inn. We were fortunate enough to be able to reserve the entire B&B just for club members for the weekend . Each room has it's own assigned parking space which is important when traveling in classic cars. As we pulled into our space, we were greeted personally by Mari the owner. She took us inside the beautiful inn and showed us around. Our room was named Jessica's Garden and it was just beautiful and very comfortable. The entire Inn is beautifully decorated and full of antiques and history. Mari and her staff were so friendly and helpful. We were within walking distance of the beach, the lake and the town. We loved our weekend at the beautiful White Lilac Inn and would certainly recommend it. Thank you Mari for a great weekend experience. Marsha

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Address: 414 Central Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Lilac Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.