We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Victorian Inn of Spring Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Lake Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Lake Inn
104 Salem Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Danville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming Victorian Inn of Spring Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The Spring Lake Inn has become a home away from home for my three sisters and I at the Jersey Shore when we travel there to visit my mother in a care facility in Neptune. This is my third stay in 9 months at the inn and each time we are received like relatives by Andy, Barbara and staff. They have truly made it a welcoming, warm, and inviting place to stay as we go through this difficult time. No request goes unanswered. Every aspect of service is exceptional. The home cooked breakfasts are delicious and thoughtfully prepared ...the dining room is beautifully decorated and was especially festive and seasonal, Christmas trees were beautiful and elegant. Every facet of this inn is classy and inviting, many cozy places to flop and enjoy the ambience from the rocking chairs on the porch, the main parlor, dining room, and the tastefully appointed rooms, COMFORTABLE beds, sitting areas and nicely done bathrooms. I've always felt like I was home! The Spring Lake Inn has become a vacation destination for our family and I believe it will become a gathering place and tradition for many years to come.

Room Tip: Talk to Andy, Barbara and staff about your needs. They will guide you. Check out rooms on line. e...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    33
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
96
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pearl River, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We were looking for a weekend getaway for our Anniversary and had heard about this B&B so we decided to try it. It exceeded out expectations! The room was very nice (we loved the fireplace) and Andy's recommenation for dinner at The Whisper's was terrific, especially liked the fact that it was walking distance from the Inn.
The area was great. We walked the boardwalk and the charming town, then came back to the Inn for some snacks and enjoyed wine while sitting on their nicely decorated and comfortable deck.
While our visit to Spring Lake Inn was during the Fall, and swimming at the beach wasn't an option, we definitely plan to go back during the summer to take advantage of the beach and the Spring Lake Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The outside and the bottom floor of this inn are lovely. The first floor has a huge impressive lobby and a charming dining room. The porch is great for sitting and relaxing. Breakfast was fine- not amazing, but if you factor in the large table with buffet items, it is a generously sized breakfast. They offer beach chairs and beach towels. It really is a very short walk to the beach. Some things do need updating. In the room itself, it could use refreshing. It just shows in the little things- front porch cushions, some of the decor in the room. It was very clean and I wouldn't hesitate to tell someone it was fine to stay there. I just think if I hadn't gotten an off season rate, I may have been let down. One other suggestion- no one really explained the layour, etc of the inn when we checked in. There is a lounge room and other things we didn't find out about until later. Overall, it is a very nice inn- just needs a little $ on some refreshing.

Room Tip: Try getting one of the rooms that were updated on Design Star. I am sure they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springlakeinn, Owner at Spring Lake Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We certainly appreciate all comments from our guests. We always ask at check out how everything was and are given great information for follow up. Most people who stay in a Bed & Breakfast are inquisitive enough to see what the Inn has to offer. Our lovely Parlor has a large plasma HDTV, an enormous DVD collection, books and games with comfortable seating. It just takes some basic exploring. Front porch cushions are brand new this spring so I'm confused as to what had been referenced. Our inspection showed no signs of unacceptable deterioration. We pride ourself at having a lot more for breakfast than others. Our buffet table has sour cream coffee cake, cinnamon crumb cake, bananna bread, smoked salmon, bagels with cream cheese spreads & jellies, croissants or biscuits, yogurts, a vast array of fresh seasonal fruits, whole fruit, rice pudding, baked apples or poached pears, a sweet cake such as cheese cake or pound cake and seasonal daily surprises. Our guest rooms are under a constant upkeep program. Large screen plasma HDTVs with a full line of cable products and refrigerators are in each room. We receive many positive guests comments regarding our overnight rooms including those from the Design Star winners. The beauty of staying at an Inn is that each room has its own distinct personality. Our website has accurate photos and we're told that the pictures do not do justice to our beautiful Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Spring Lake Inn is full of charm and romanticism. Nestled on Salem Ave in Spring Lake, just one block from the beach, it is the perfect location for anyone in need of a peaceful getaway. From enjoying the fall breeze with a cup of coffee on the front porch, or taking a scenic walk on the Spring Lake boardwalk, the possibilities are endless. My mother and I traveled to this quaint B&B this month for a quick weekend getaway and were immensely pleased with every aspect of the Spring Lake Inn. Upon our arrival, the innkeepers we're extremely warm and welcoming, giving us information about the local shops, and helpful restaurant tips. Breakfast in the mornings was excellent to say the least; Donna's Spinach Pie is out of this world. In the afternoon, tea is served with a snack; for us it was warm M&M chocolate chip cookies that were delicious. My Mother and I stayed in The Corner Room, which was recently re-decorated and appeared on HGTV's Design Star. (The first thing I did when I got back home to DC was watch the episode on HGTV's website, it gives a great view of some of the rooms in the Inn.) We loved everything about the room, and Elizabeth and the housekeeping staff were extremely attentive to us. I can honestly say that my Mother and I were thrilled with this B&B. We had a wonderful weekend getaway and will surely be back as soon as possible. The staff is so wonderful: Andy, Barbara, Donna, MaryAnne and Elizabeth made sure that we were always taken care of, and were warm and kind from the moment we stepped in the door and throughout our entire stay. Its not every day that you come across a place like this. If you're traveling to the Shore, then the Spring Lake Inn is the only option for your stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the Inn's website for pictures! They give a great look at all of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband & I were delighted to find this B&B. It had nicely appointed rooms, lots of charm & a delicious breakfast cooked per request. The wide front porch with comfortable rockers was a great place to rock your cares away. It was only a block to the beautiful beach. This was our first time on the Jersey shore and find it rivals the great beaches in CA. The Inn Keepers could not have been more hospitable or helpful. They provided maps and suggested a great driving tour of the area. All in all a wonderful experience. Captain & Mrs. Edward Schweizer

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband & I are already planning our return visit to this warm, friendly inn that welcomes you in so many different ways. Enter through the natural archway created by crepe myrtle trees & step into an inn that gleams. A friendly staff is helpful & informative so your stay in beautiful Spring Lake is the best it could possibly be. Each day we enjoyed a different hot breakfast, fresh fruit, " porch time", our well appointed room, bike rides on the boardwalk ( early birds only), quaint town, beautiful beaches (supplies included) & the many great restaurants in this area. The owner of the inn, Andy Seaman sure does know his restaurants! Our plan is to return to this lovely inn at least once each season. J. Coughlin

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan1elleb
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed in the newly renovated room (Nostalgia) Breakfast was great. Room was very large. Air conditioner was ok for such a large room. Great location for the beach and nearby restaurants. Would go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spring Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Lake Inn

Address: 104 Salem Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Spring Lake Inn, where European-style hospitality, history and contemporary amenities blend together for an unforgettable vacation experience. We’ve been told that our inn is unpretentious, yet elegant, inviting, yet private for those guests who need time and space to unwind. Built in 1888 as the Grand Central Stables of Spring Lake NJ, the inn is only a block from the ocean and the 2-mile boardwalk. We serve sumptuous breakfasts in the grand dining room as well as afternoon tea. Our 80 ft. Victorian porch is irresistible. Each of the 16 spacious guestrooms and suites offers all or a combination of the following luxury features: fireplace, ocean view, Jacuzzi, 4-poster bed, sleigh bed, refrigerator and digital cable TV. Fine dining, boutique shopping and spa pampering are only blocks away. Spring Lake New Jersey is one of America’s most genteel seashore towns where time can stand still at our “European Mansion by the Sea.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spring Lake Inn to your Saves list