We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed & Breakfast at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashling Cottages

Ashling Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
Save
You added Ashling Cottages to your Saves list
106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Denville, NJ
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Bed & Breakfast at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Ashling Cottage is a great experience in Spring lake. ThPeter and Linda and the rest of the staff go out of their way to mkae your stay with them enjoyable from the moment you enter the door upon arrival.They are wizards at making your stay a most pleasing and pleasurable experience and the thought that has gone into making your stay as relaxing as possible is evident, and is made plain throughout a stay with them. Additionally, the pricing is reasonable as well. What more can you ask? Enjoy your stay as much as my wife and I have (we have been repeat customers).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
somerville, nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved the Ashling Cottage. Linda and Peter were very accommodating and a pleasure to chat with. The Cottage is just a short walk to the beach or town, perfect location.
Use of the chairs, umbrellas and bikes was a great feature and much appreciated.
Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Linda, Peter, Katherine, Steve, and the entire team at Ashling Cottage in Spring Lake, NJ set the stage for a fantastic family reunion that exceeded our expectations! One block from a pristine beach, Ashling Cottage was the perfect location for our 10-person reunion, utilizing all 6 bedrooms/bathrooms in the main house. From our 3 year-old granddaughter to our 86 year-old Mom, and ages 21-61 in-between, the sumptuous breakfasts, afternoon snacks, supplied beach chairs/badges/umbrellas/towels, and bicycles, all received unanimous "thumbs up" reviews. The rooms were all unique and perfect for everyone's needs. All of the website info and pictures are 100% accurate, and we all had a great time that was the highlight of our summer of 2013!
We are already planning next year's vacation. Thank you, Linda, Peter, and everyone for helping us make memories that will last forever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family stayed in the back cottage, which is part of the B&B property, but secluded from the main B&B. It was ideal for our family, and had bikes available to us along with beach chairs & umbrellas. The property is ideally situated one block to the ocean and to the beautiful lake. It was very relaxing and the perfect get-away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Ashling Cottage. The owners and staff were very friendly. The room was very clean, very comfortable and very quiet at night. The beach, the lake and town were all within a couple of blocks away and just lovely to go to. They have bikes available for use and when you want to go to the beach they provide you with beach badges, towels, beach chairs and an umbrella, if you want to use it. The breakfast in the morning is wonderful and coffee or tea is already available at 7:30AM in the morning if you are an early morning person. In the afternoon they were snacks and port wine to relax with. Overall we had a very relaxing few days and could not ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at Ashling Cottage. The Innkeepers . . . Linda and Peter are
lovely and so accommodating . . . they make you feel like you're home. A short walk to the beach . . . they provide beach badges, chairs, bikes, beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas.
They are very helpful in suggesting restaurants and making reservations for you. We look forward each morning to a gourmet breakfast . . . it's such a treat. We had such a nice time and look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I had such a wonderful stay at Ashling Cottage! A short walk to the beach, access to beach badges, chairs, bikes, and beach towels all included in your stay! With a nice big breakfast and a little port wine in the afternoon, we couldn't have asked for more. We stayed in the Sea Breeze Room (#2) and both room and bathroom were pristine, cool, and comfortable. Everyone was so kind and helpful, especially Catherine who was so accommodating even though we had to book the day of for a stay of only 2 nights. We can't wait to go back to sip a little port wine and play trivial pursuit on their beautiful porch!

Room Tip: The Sea Breeze room is one of the smaller rooms, but don't let that deter you! It's incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashling Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.