We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be much higher on list of Spring Lake restaurants.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Trumpet

Black Trumpet
1505 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
732-449-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 restaurants in Spring Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Howell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Should be much higher on list of Spring Lake restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have lived at the shore most of my adult life and actually had enjoyed lunch at the Black Trumpet this summer. After the hurricane I wanted to try to support the places that made it through so three of us went for an early Sunday night dinner. When making the reservation the young lady reminded me that it was back to being a BYOB, so that was helpful. When we had trouble getting there due to the closed areas as a result of Sandy, the staff was understanding of our lateness and gave us good directions. What surprised me when we arrived was that the place was empty except for another couple. I really hope we missed an earlier crowd as the food and service was top notch. They have a Sunday Dinner that I think was $24 that was a real bargain as it included a pasta, a salad, excellent crab cakes and dessert! I had filet mignon on the bone which was outstanding and the mashed potatoes were great! The mussel appetizer was wonderful and another dinner's salmon was cooked to perfection as ordered. The two waiters are very professional and helpful. They provided an ice bucket for our white wine, lovely linens and silver and were generally just plain accommodating. One thing that the restaurant probably has no control over is the condition of the hotel. It is a beautiful building in need of some TLC but anyway -- People, go to this restaurant and enjoy the Jersey Shore again! Where else can you get this kind of food and a view of the ocean?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    61
    36
    24
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Black Trumpet in Spring Lake is a great little place. I've only been there for lunch and it is a great deal. The special is $15. It includes salad, pasta, a nice sized portion for an entree (from a list) and dessert. The food is always tasty and the service is attentive. All this plus you can sit across from the beach in a room with a view. During the nice weather there is outdoor seating on the large, covered front porch. In the front room, they can accommodate parties of four or less but in the back they have plenty of room for larger rooms. In the off-season it is BYOB. A great spot for a nice lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Three course lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place should be featured in Ripleys. Three courses plus desert for $15. We had the salmon which came with a pasta appetizer and salad finished with a crisp and delicious cannoli. Can't beat the value or the quality.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sound of Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Black trumpet is a mamorable dining experience. The staff on all levels from the moment you enter treat you in a friendly and professional manner. The service is outstanding. the restaurant allows YOU to set the pace of your meal. The food is carefully and excellently propared and served. We had for our first course the Panache Appetizer, followed by the Halibut Special and the Scallops. For dessert we shared the Chocolate Pie. The portions are extremely satisfying. The wine list is adequate, however some expansion would be welcome. When in Spring Lake, you owe it to yourself to dine here. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“try this one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

food is very good here. I did return my lobster bisque because it was too salty, but they took it off the check and gave us two free canollis for dessert. The food is excellent and it is right across from the beach. It is a Victorian house that has been converted into a restaurant with a nice porch right across from the ocean. You can't see it, but you can hear it. I would go back here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Black Trumpet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Trumpet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.