We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fall Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean House
Save
You added The Ocean House to your Saves list
102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent Fall Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had a lovely stay here this past weekend for a wedding in Spring Lake! The innkeepers couldn't be nicer or more accommodating! We loved the breakfast in the morning and lingered over coffee on the expansive porch. We used the bikes and beach chairs, and were thrilled to be a short one block walk from the beach. The location is close to town as well, so you can walk around the lake or into town easily. Highly recommend this B&B and all the charm its owners bring to it!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    31
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
129
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Spent a mid October night there. Here's the skinny:

Location: Very good, one block off beach. Not far from town and lake and walking around is fantastic there.

Lobby and porch: Really nice wrap-around porch. Large and comfortable. Inn is large, very pretty and visually what you would hope to expect. Staff was nice. Coffee, tea, soda and use of fridge.

Bedroom: I had corner room 29. Third floor. Window air unit was broken but by nightfall was not needed. Bed was too hard for us. Inn should invest in new fluffy pillows. Nice simple decor, clean. Flat TV, cable and wi-fi. Weak shower, no hose, simple bath and shower.

Breakfast: Disappointing. Only hot food was sausage links and sliced burrito already made. You can fill your belly, with toast or cereal and fruit but amazing or special it was not.

Noise: With window open more noisy that you would think throughout the night.

Parking: Inn only has 10 or 12 spots and you have to park one or more blocks away at beach. We managed to get spots at inn.

Smoking: No smoking on porch which was a downer for me as I look forward to a nice stogie at an inn.

Price: $155 including tax. Best price I can find. Overall, for the price, well worth a visit.

Note: We dined at Shipwreck Grill which is overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a weekend stay at The Ocean House. We stayed in room 20 which was very big and decorated lovely. The inn keepers were very attentive to their guests needs and kept up on the property. Everything was perfect and we will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This B&B was recommended by friends who live in the area. The location is excellent - within walking distance of many parts of Spring Lake and surrounding area - and just one block from the beach. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean with excellent mattress, but a bit worse for wear (time for an update with the bathroom). Parking is somewhat limited and you need to get there early to gain one of the limited spots- however you can park near the beach and walk a block or so back to the inn. I think the highlight of the B&B is the porch - cozy for an evening drink or to sit back with a good book and just read. The interior rooms have a bit too much tchotchkes for me - it is like extreme grandmothers house and not as welcoming as the porch. Breakfast was good. Free bikes and chairs for the beach.

Room Tip: Go for the larger king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This is an interesting old inn in Spring Lake. The staff was friendly, friendly and informative. Our room, while comfortable was an older renovation and could use some updating. The bathroom was average at best. We were on the third floor and with the old narrow stairs it might be a challenge for some folks. The big porch was a nice place to visit with friends. The breakfast room was large and was available all day with coffee and other drinks. The breakfast was average fare. We liked the big old place and had a nice stay. We especially liked the access to the beach and the easy walk to shopping.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We live in Westchester County, NY, an easy 83 mile drive from Spring Lake. We enjoy getting away for a couple of days now and then and the Ocean House is a great choice for our short stay. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms and common areas are well appointed and maintained and the breakfast is great. This combined with the fact that it is a 1 block walk to the ocean (boardwalk) or the lake adds up to a great place for our short getaway! I recommend it highly and will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex or building attached to the main building. The stairway to the 2nd level and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed at the ocean house this past august, and enjoyed our stay very much . Jarrod and staff were friendly and helpful. the wraparound porch is a delight. The beach is beautiful, and only a block away. The towns shopping area is a few blocks away. Good restaurants in nearby towns. We will be back next august.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.