We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pastaio - CLOSED

Pastaio
1311 3rd Ave, Spring Lake, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jersey Avenue
Transit: Local Monmouth County bus service runs on 3rd Avenue. Taxi service readily available. NJ Transit train Station for Spring Lake within walking distance.
Description: Pastaio is the Italian word for "pasta maker" which reflects our Chef's experience working as Pastaio for restaurants in New York including Eataly, where she would turn out roughly 3,000 pounds weekly. We now bring fresh handmade pasta daily to the Jersey Shore incorporating the freshest seasonal ingredients to our menu that changes each week. At Pastaio we strive to support our local produce, fish and meat, purveyors on an organic and sustainable basis. Our Menu reflects our kitchen staff experience with classical french training and the bounty of the Garden State. We are proud to utilize Pat LaFrieda Meats of New York for our meat and poultry. Ask about having your next event in our Private Party Room which can accommodate up to 50. Gluten Free Meatballs and fresh Gluten Free Pasta Available.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only had an entree each - pasta - the bill was $52++. But , delicious. I would definitely recommend it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were looking to have a good pasta dish after the fancy meals in Spring Lake. Intrigued by their "home made pasta" sign -we gave it a try. The parpadelle was thick and heavy; the pomodoro sauce was not tasty. My husband had the meatballs with linguini-the meatballs and sauce were tasteless. He didn't care for his pasta either. Members of my family make their own pasta and it is always very light and smooth. The gelato was the best and when we ordered dessert, we were not offered coffee or tea by the server. For a BYOB the cost was out of line.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in New Jersey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had an amazing lunch here. I have never tasted food so delicious. I recommend the zuccini blossoms and the meatballs!! Amazing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed our meal here and the service was great from Milley. The Burratta was excellent and the figs, although not really ripe enough, were good. We also tried the truffle portabello musherooms and hubby kept the sauce nearby and dipped his bread in it :)I had the gnoochi (sp) with marinaria and hubby had the papardelle with sausage. We were pleasantly surprised with both dishes! Will be back for dinner for sure. One thing you MUST try is the gelato. The pistachio and the salted caramel were over the top. You will not make a mistake by trying this place while visiting Spring Lake. Forgot to mention BYOB.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsippany, nj
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We were aprehensive about eating here after all the bad reviews but I am glad we did. The service was efficient. The food was very good. A few points on the service .....when coffee is served, you should also bring cream and sugar. Make sure the guests have the proper utensils for the dessert course. Explain what the fish of the days is and the dessert of the day. I had a blueberry cobbler that was excellent. We will defintely return next time we are in Spring Lake.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastaio also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.