We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the prices” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pastaio

Pastaio
1311 3rd Ave, Spring Lake, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 23 restaurants in Spring Lake
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jersey Avenue
Transit: Local Monmouth County bus service runs on 3rd Avenue. Taxi service readily available. NJ Transit train Station for Spring Lake within walking distance.
Description: Pastaio is the Italian word for "pasta maker" which reflects our Chef's experience working as Pastaio for restaurants in New York including Eataly, where she would turn out roughly 3,000 pounds weekly. We now bring fresh handmade pasta daily to the Jersey Shore incorporating the freshest seasonal ingredients to our menu that changes each week. At Pastaio we strive to support our local produce, fish and meat, purveyors on an organic and sustainable basis. Our Menu reflects our kitchen staff experience with classical french training and the bounty of the Garden State. We are proud to utilize Pat LaFrieda Meats of New York for our meat and poultry. Ask about having your next event in our Private Party Room which can accommodate up to 50. Gluten Free Meatballs and fresh Gluten Free Pasta Available.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the prices”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

On a beautiful summer Saturday night at the shore, this place was only 2/3 full. Restaurants around here are usually full and, if it's good, difficult to get a reservation. We easily got one at the last minute.
Service is extremely slow. Asked for bread twice, and then it came out After the appetizers. Burrata app the best; boring salad for $12/14 was overdressed with pedestrian balsamic.
But the pastas were really the disappointment. $28 for Linguine with "New Zealand Cockles", they were NOT cockles, and there were only about 8 'clams' in there. Very sad. All of the homemade pastas were undercooked. But took so long for entrees to come out, we feared if we sent them back, we were be here all night. The gnocchi was good, but small portion. We were all disappointed, and will not go back. Didn't even stay for dessert. Go to Hoffman's for delicious Ice Cream in Spring Lake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    20
    19
    6
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

During a stay in Spring Lake with my family, we stumbled upon this restaurant while walking on the main street. Upon walking in, we were quickly greeted and seated at the front window for a great view of the outside peddlers walking by. The server, a very friendly and knowledgeable gentlemen, helped us with the menu by describing everything in full detail, specifically the fresh, home-made pasta. For our appetizer, we got the House-Made Mozzarella Tower which was outstanding. For our entrees, we each ordered a variety of the fresh pasta dishes on the menu. The restaurant is BYOB, but don't worry, there's a liquor store right across the street!
I cant say anything negative about this place. it is perfect. the food, the service, the location, everything. I cannot wait to go back for more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best for a light lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We tried Pastaio recently when we wanted only a light lunch, and both the barata and the specialty pasta of the day were fresh, imaginative and excellent. But as others have said, the service is slow, even though the restaurant had very few customers while we were there. And the atmosphere is a little odd with the renovation work going on behind the curtains. Somehow my husband and I both had the feeling it would not be a good place to go for dinner. But the owner(?) was friendly and helpful, and the food delicious enough that I would still recommend it for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“the best food for miles around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you know Spring Lake, you're probably enchanted by the Anglo-American homes and preciously designed lake with its Givernyish bridges in the middle of town. You may have also noted that most of the best restaurants are Irish pubs.
So, great for fans of architecture, not-so-great for fans of gastronomy. But now there's Pastaio, a little store front restaurant specializing in hand-made pasta. The bolognese sauce is superb, a subtle but distinct evocation of the original. Polpettoni (meat balls) are big and delicate, completely unlike the cannon balls of my youth. We also enjoyed and excellent lobster bisque and a luscious little burrata.
Service was slow, but charming and we expect it will improve with practice.
There's a small, but well-stocked wine and beer shop just down the street. Altogether, it's possible that Spring Lake could turn into a restaurant destination town and one day, you'll hear people saying "Park? Bridges? No, we just go there for the food."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Arrived for a late lunch about 2:30; there were several people eating at the outside tables and we chose to go inside. We were the only 'inside' patrons but 4 more people came after us and sat outside. Most of the inside tables had obviously been used for an earlier crowd and were being reset at the time of our arrival. The window table was quickly cleaned up for us. My husband and I had a wonderful lunch - both of our meals were delicious. I had the linguine with cockles and my husband had the fettucine with bolognese. The gelato desserts were also excellent. I've read complaints of service being slow - but remember this is not a fast food place and we enjoyed taking our time, listening to their great music and enjoying our food. That is part of the charm of this restaurant. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastaio also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Pastaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pastaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.