We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Hewitt Wellington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and quiet, a perfect little getaway for our anniversary. We loved having a room with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view and the cool ocean breeze late into the evening. The only disappointing thing about the Hewitt Wellington was the "continental breakfast". Dropping this from the amenities would put this hotel in much more favorable light. As the last impression we had of the hotel in the morning, it left us with a less than perfect impression of the place. For a hotel with a restaurant of its own, we expected at least basic breakfast food. Don't skip this stay because of the lousy breakfast, just plan to go out to eat!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I'm glad that overall you had a great time with us. Unfortunately, the amazing restaurant we have attached to us is not ours and therefore we are unable to offer a full breakfast to our guests. Without a kitchen, we try to do the best we can to offer a variety of light continental breakfast items to our guests. We are lucky that should guests want more of a bacon and eggs breakfast that we have great places for that just a short walk from us.
I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    101
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
208
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I love Spring Lake, I have been coming here since I was in High School, but this was the first time I stayed at the Hewitt-Wellington. I have to say I was very happy with the suite, the breakfast was very good, and the pool relaxing. This is the place to go to for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. My husband and I also enjoyed the restaurant; Whispers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you felt relaxed and refreshed after your stay. I hope we get to see you again soon for another getaway weekend.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I recently attended a family wedding in Spring Lake. We were looking for a hotel on the lake and also close to where the church service was to be held.
We settled on the Hewitt Wellington Hotel along with many of the wedding guests. We were not disappointed, Kathy the hotel manager warmly welcomed us; she was so helpful during our stay including taking our luggage to our room. The hotel is situated right on the lake, within walking distance of the town and the beach. The rooms are bright, clean and well maintained. There is a wonderful front poach where the guest can chat and enjoy a glass of wine while keeping in mind the needs and wishes of the other hotel guests. There is an upscale restaurant in the hotel and best of all it’s a BYOB. To keep things short, I would highly recommend this hotel. Can’t wait to return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We LOVED having you here with us for the wedding and you made us feel as much a part of your family as we hope you felt about us. Can't wait to see you again!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have now stayed at the Hewitt Wellington, once again, to find to our delight that KATHY is still there to do everything possible to make our stay great. Her professionalism and always sunny personality make all the difference.
This is a place to come for peace and quiet and short walk to the beach. Don't expect any "action", because thankfully, there isn't any nearby.
From Francie and Joe

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had a great time and look forward to your return.
We do love it when our guests have the chance to get away, relax and enjoy all that Spring Lake has to offer.
Hopefully we will see you soon!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came without prebooking and knowing the place, but found that the place looked good and luckily for us there was a free room. We were certainly not dissapointed. Relaxed atmosphere, close to the Beach, and actually an extremely good restaurant at the place that we can recommend. Spring Lake is nice, good Beach and beautiful homes and gardens.
Klaus and Trine Thomsen

Room Tip: We had one of the Suites - surely enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm so glad that you happened upon us and had the chance to enjoy some time in the area. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us. Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Love this place and staff - Kathy the Manager is fabulous, rooms clean and short walk to the beach, short walk to 3rd ave with great food and shops! This was our 5th year there and already planned next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We had a great time with all of you as well. Can't wait to see you and your family again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We like the beach. We like the town. We enjoy the restaurants. We appreciate the beauty of the neighborhoods. Spring Lake has been our July retreat for many years and we always come away relaxed and ready to face August in NY.
This was our first time at this inn. It is an old building and in pretty good shape. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and clean. Ours had a balcony facing the lake which gave us extra room to relax, especially on a cloudy day. Breakfast was available in the form of hot drinks, cereal, bagels, bread, canned fruit and yogurt. Not especially great, not awful.
The staff is friendly.
Overall, this is not a luxury property, but perfectly adequate for a weeks stay. It's location is excellent for the beach experience without being on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm so glad that you had a chance to visit and enjoyed our town, hotel and everything offered in the area. We do hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.