We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Hewitt Wellington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Hewitt Wellington is a charming and beautiful place to stay. The complementary breakfast is very nice, and the staff is extremely friendly and makes you feel right at home. I'm sure we will be back again next summer for another great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    101
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
208
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary getaway to Spring Lake. The weather was perfect and the hotel is on the lake, close to the beach. While the property itself is lovely, we were disappointed given the price we paid for the room. Things like plastic plates, cups and tableware for breakfast and the quality of the breakfast (poor at best) made that part of the experience feel more like a Days Inn than a top hotel. While there is a coffee maker in the room, the coffee supply was not replenished for our second morning. The bathroom could definitely use an upgrade and a thorough bleaching of the tiles. On the plus side, the pool is very nice, and I enjoyed a solitary swim after returning from the beach. We might return, but only during the off season when the price would be more commensurate with the level of service.

Room Tip: We booked late, so had a room on the back of the second floor overlooking the pool. As you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your time in Spring Lake. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast area. We would love to offer our guests china plates and real silverware, however with not having a kitchen, we do not have the means to handle the cleaning of those items.
I certainly hope that you will continue to stay with us during your visits to Spring Lake. Please feel free to call or email me directly should you have any other concerns.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

When they serviced our suite one day, they didn't bother to clean the ring around the tub. Bath towels are dingy. Breakfast is terrible and still Entenmann's, bagels very stale, coffee weak, all served in an unattractive gloomy area. One afternoon tea was a pitcher of powdered ice tea mix and a few crackers with cheese. The next day, they didn't even bother putting anything out.
Their food/drink service is a shame since their "upscale" Whispers restaurant is on the premise, so they have the facility to provide better for their guests.
Will not return and I'll spend my $400 per night elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am sorry that you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. The housekeeping situation is not acceptable and will be handled immediately.
With regard to the breakfast and afternoon snack we offer our guests, we do not own Whispers and therefore do not have access to their facilities. In that regard, we offer what we are able to for the light continental breakfast however the freshness of our supplies is important and will also be addressed. We would love to offer our guests a more upscale breakfast and afternoon snack, we just do not have the facilities to do so.
Please feel free to call or email me directly should you have any other concerns or questions you would like to discuss.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last couple of years. It used to be a pretty good place, but the latest visit makes me think it has gone downhill. Perks like the afternoon tea and snacks are gone. Breakfast, which was not fancy to begin with, is now down to the barest of minimum. Nothing has been updated for years. The towels in the rooms are worn and grey, the beach ones are 100% polyester. The tiny shampoo and conditioner bottles were never replenished during our 3-night stay. The reception is attended spottily. I had to call and find someone both times, once at check in, the other at check out. The beach badges they give you need to be turned in when you check out, so if you still want to use the beach on that day, you will pay $10 per person for a daily pass. Overall, the penny pinching and staff indifference are so apparent that I will look for another place to stay next time I visit Spring Lake. The rates are the same as other inns in the area, but the quality and value are simply not there any more.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your stay this time. There were certainly ways that we could have made it more enjoyable for you and I can assure you that not replenishing your shampoo and conditioner if they were empty was not a penny pinching factor but simply an oversight on housekeeping which will be addressed. We have been ordering the same items for breakfast as we did in years past so I am not quite sure what is missing from it. The towels are purchased periodically through the year and old / worn towels are thrown away or cut into cleaning towels. I will certainly go through all of our current towels and make sure that we are discarding any that may have become worn in the past couple of months. There is someone working the front desk from 7am until generally around 9-10pm daily. They do sometimes have to assist other guests or may be in the process of cleaning up breakfast or even assisting housekeeping to get rooms cleaned as quickly as possible for arriving guests.
The beach badges do need to be returned at check out so we can make sure that we have all of them for our newly arriving guests. We try to get our guests checked in as early as possible so they can start enjoying their time with us and part of that check in is beach badges.
Really the only thing that changed from years past is afternoon tea which we didn't run last year. We did do snacks on the weekends like cheese and crackers, chips and salsa, lemonade, etc. To be honest, it was not a cost saving measure this year, it just didn't seem like the times we put it out anyone was interested and food was being wasted. Obviously I was wrong in that assessment and I apologize for that.
I would certainly love for you to call or email me to discuss anything further. I would also hate to lose your business as you have seemingly been a regular customer of ours. I do hope to hear back from you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel is charming and clean. Very relaxing atmosphere. Staff was friendly and attentive. We went down for a last minute getaway and were perfectly happy with the accommodations. The breakfast isn't worth getting up for but the coffee was delicious. Pool area was clean and inviting. 2 thumbs up for the Hewitt Wellington. I will definitely be going back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully you will be able to join us again. We do our best with the breakfast but it is a bit tough to offer more items for us.
I hope we get to visit with you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

The building itself is glamorous but the rooms, amenities and breakfast are about like a 2 star motel. The staff were nice but you can't ask a staff person to fix what was lacking. I'll find a better place to stay next time in spring lake.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and I'm sorry it was not what you had wanted. With regard to breakfast, as we do not have a kitchen, we are limited to a light continental breakfast. I would love to be able to offer more for our guests.
Your room specifically was updated during the off season with a new sofa, chairs, carpeting and paint. Were there other items throughout the hotel that you weren't pleased with? I would love to speak with you in depth regarding this as we are always looking for ways to improve and the best advice we can get is from our guests.
I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at the Hewitt Wellington while attending a wedding reception nearby. The building is lovingly maintained and the staff was wonderful. We stayed in room 28, which has a separate sitting room, perfect for when you wake up earlier than your spouse! The bed was super comfy, just a really lovely room. I can absolutely recommend that you stay at the Hewitt Wellington. A perfect getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to visiting with you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.