We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Hewitt Wellington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, large, warm, friendly room. If it hadn't been in the winter we would have really enjoyed to balcony. This place would be a great place for a summer weekend. Didn't get to try the restaurant but we heard it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad you had the chance to experience us and come to love us. I will be looking for you to come again when the weather is a bit warmer so you can truly enjoy yourself in the town and at the beach.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    101
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
209
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

A group of us stayed to attend the Christmas inns tours. We had a lovely stay in a beautiful hotel , great location, comfortable , clean and spacious rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, plan to return here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Christmas Tour and I hope you enjoyed touring all the beautiful historic inns that were part of it. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

For a special anniversary we chose your hotel and we did not make a mistake. From the moment we arrived and met Kathy she made sure our day was perfect. Our room was perfect and so comfortable and very clean. Kathy gave us walking suggestions and we spent time seeing the town, park and your beautiful church. Again on Kathy's recommendation we had our dinner at Whisper's and I can't begin to tell you how great the meal was, oh the crab cakes. From the moment we arrived to the time we left I have never experienced such wonderful people who tried to make your stay perfect and succeeded. Thanks you all for making our 49th Anniversary so very special.

Room Tip: Check on the internet to find the perfect bed size, I did needed a king and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and have shared your experience with others. It is a wonderful thing to see such a nice couple celebrating an anniversary and to feel that after all this time they still cherish each other. Thank you for allowing us to share in that experience with you.
I look forward to seeing you both again for many years to come.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

A classic boutique hotel in an excellent location, private yet not impersonal. The room I booked had a malfunction so I was upgraded to a suite. Great service and the front desk staff was warm and helpful. The continental breakfast is unexciting but adequate, although I was glad to see the option of plain Greek yogurt with dried fruit and nuts as possible toppings. No elevator, which didn't bother me but might bother some.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
I'm glad that you had a good time staying with us and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. I will make sure that the desk staff knows you were happy with their service. We are always looking for new ideas for breakfast and I'm pleased that you liked the option of the plain yogurt and toppings.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had an exceptional overnight stay at the HW Hotel - even though the weather was not fully cooperative. Adorable hotel in just a lovely little seaside town! Everything was almost perfect! Just one little detail; the refrigerator in our room did not work, and had a bit of an odor. We did not need it; as we were only there overnight, we did not even call management's attention to it. Everything else was great - we look forward to returning someday soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay. I'm so glad that you had a nice time with us. I do wish you had let us know about the refrigerator as we would have taken care of that immediately for you. As for the weather, if we could make it beautiful in Spring Lake all the time we would certainly be trying.
I hope that we will get to see you again soon!
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel for a weekend to celebrate his birthday and it was amazing! It was a beautiful fall weekend and the weather was quite warm. We enjoyed the beach which was walking distance from the hotel, biked along the boardwalk all the way to Bradley Beach, and walked around town. The location of the hotel was superb and we liked our lakeview balcony very much. Highly recommended for people who would like to explore the real Jersey!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed staying with us and celebrating your boyfriends birthday. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardonia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a recent fall weekend at the Hotel, booked in the first floor suite. The decor was charming, as were the hallways and sitting areas. The porch looked like a wonderful place to hang out in warmer weather. The beach is a few minutes walk, though the lake is just across the street. We had a delicious, but somewhat pricey meal at Whispers, an attached property, and modest breakfasts in the breezeway. The pool looked inviting, but was covered. Staff was courteous and efficient from the reservation to the end of the stay. The individual rooms are owned privately, but rented on behalf of the owners. A walk or ride through the nearby streets shows off many fine, old homes -- and no apparent commercial development.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are premium. Rooms backing onto the pool area might be noisy in season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you had a nice time with us and we look forward to having you as a guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.