We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Save Saved
You added Hewitt Wellington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Spring Lake
Glassboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Lovely Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Husband and I escaped from the kids for a weekend getaway. The staff was courteous and friendly. The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and well kept. A true gem in Spring Lake. Would definitely recommend this location and we will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    89
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
176
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My new wife and I booked rooms at the Hewitt Wellington for guests attending our wedding in Spring Lake, and I chose to stay the night before the wedding myself. The hotel is beautiful, well kept and located in beautiful Spring Lake, NJ. All of the wedding guests who stayed enjoyed their stay, found the rooms comfortable and well appointed. The staff was very accommodating leading up to the wedding, and offered great and flexible service to the guests, some of whom arrived late due to travel issues. All in all, if you are looking for a great and romantic hotel I strongly recommend the Hewitt Wellington.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and charming, each with a slightly different layout. Regardless of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hewitt Wellington is in a perfect location and it is a gorgeous hotel. The staff were super friendly and very accommodating. I think this is one of the top places to stay in Spring Lake! Try the restaurant in the hotel.....I think it is one of the best in the area as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank for your sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you believe we are the top hotel to visit in Spring Lake.

The restaurant on property is top-notch! We only have great things to say about it, and our guests are always delighted to know they have such a great place to visit within the property itself.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent New Year's eve at the HW. It was a very easy drive from NYC and well worth the trip. The location is picture postcard worthy- across the street from the lake, and easy walking distance to the beach; and the hotel itself is lovely. It's very well kept, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room (#10) was immaculately clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. There was a mini-refrigerator and coffee machine right in the room, but there's also a full assortment of Starbuck coffees and Tazo teas available in a seating area off the main lobby. I would definitely recommend the HW for a weekend escape any time of the year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William H, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We appreciate you taking the time to create and post a review of the hotel. We are glad that you had a great start to 2013, and were able to celebrate it in the picturesque surroundings of Spring Lake.

Please note, however, that we no longer, unfortunately, serve Starbucks coffee in our breezeway. We have since moved towards Wolfgang Puck coffee products, which is just as good, and have had a great response from our guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing the your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was such a needed, RELAXING getaway. The HW was very clean, very quiet and had such a comfortable and homey feeling. Enjoyed walking by the lake and through the town looking at the beautiful homes. Was not too pleased with the menu at Whispers, and the menu did not appear to be kid friendly.The restaurants we went to (Ray's cafe) excellent service and Who's On Third was great. Talked to a few of the town people and they were very friendly. I would DEFINITELY come back again. After Sandy wasn't sure what to expect after hearing all the devastion from the news, but I am glad I came.

Room Tip: We were in the Victorian room on the 3rd floor, and if this is an example of what the other rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It's very nice to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us, and that you had such a relaxing time. Thank you for also recognizing the cleanliness of the property, as our housekeeping department works very hard, and they do an amazing job.

We're very happy to hear that you really had a chance to enjoy a lot of great places within Spring Lake. There are so many great restaurants, small businesses, and warm and welcoming citizens to make your stay extra special.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is such an affordable bargain in Spring Lake where the average house costs well, well over a million. It is centrally located so you can easily walk to the beach or stroll around the town looking at the gorgeous homes. The HW is well kept and nicely landscaped; the large porch is decorated seasonally. The rooms and suites are immaculate and tastefully decorated.
There are several common areas to sit and relax with a cup of tea or coffee and a newspaper or magazine. Bill, the manager, is a gracious accomodating host who will do his best to make your stay so pleasant that you will surely want to return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very happy to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations, and the hotel's location, as it pertained to your preferences and needs.

We always try to make sure that with each season, we have the property tastefully decorated to really give each guest a truly great experience; an experience that immerses the guest into the actual feel of each season and celebration.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding. The wedding venue was booked and this hotel had some availability. This being two weeks after Hurricane Sandy I was apprehensive. When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. There was no sign of hurricane anywhere to be seen. The hotel is directly accross from the lake and the view was beautiful. (A great place to go for a run if I had time.) Once inside I was again pleased. My room had a decent size fairly modern bathroom. The room was large enough for a king size bed small love seat, desk, and dresser. There was plenty of walking room. A very open and airy feel. Breakfast consisted of make your own waffles, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal/milk, muffins and breads, and choice of drink. Not exactly b&b fare but a good continental selection. They had a great Starbucks coffee dispenser machine. This is probably a perk to some, but I drink tea. I was completely unable to operate the thing but a manager came over and helped. Staff was friendly and helpful. If I should have a reason to go back to Spring Lake I would love to stay at this place again!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that the hotel had availability to accommodate your stay during your friend's wedding. It is unfortunate that you may have not been able to stay in the same surroundings of your friends, but we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Spring Lake is a wonderful place for an assortment of activities, including a jog, or a walk.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave., Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hewitt Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.